We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Airport Motel to your Saves list
Airport Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   142 Tirangi Road | Rongatai, Wellington 6022, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Very handy to the airport for flying out early or in late. Rooms are compact, but clean and well appointed. Liked the free airport shuttle service that was provided too. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
24
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

I had a one night stay whilst reconnecting on a flight home. It was awesome having a free shuttle service to and from the motel and the staff were very helpful and pleasant to deal with. Staff had turned the heater on to my room prior to arrival after 9pm which meant the room was lovely and warm. The bed was very comfortable and the room and bathroom very clean. The room was quiet and I was able to get a great nights sleep. I would definitely stay here again if I required a place to stay close to the airport.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning and end of a touring holiday, flying in and out of Wellington, just the one night each time.The room we had chosen was pretty tiny, but no matter - the bed was comfy, the shower hot, the soap fragrant, the towels soft, the staff pleasant, (even carrying a heavy case up a steep staircase with a bend in it), the two complimentary drinks icy cold. The manager drove us to the village for a meal on our first night. Nice! The inhouse frozen meals weren't what I'd want to eat every day, but hey, they were convenient for two exhausted adventurers the night before a very early departure for home.The balcony view is over the courtyard, so don't expect to see any views, unless you like looking at parked carsand a blank wall, of course. Over the road is Lyall Bay, with the darkest brown sand I've ever seen on a beach, intrepid surfers, some hilarious dogs, and the runway of the airport jutting into it. Fascinating if you like to watch planes taxi-ing, taking off and landing a hairsbreadth away. On arrival into Wellington Airport, you need to ring for the shuttle to pick you up, so have their number handy. It arrives in about 7 minutes. All in all, a very convenient place for a short stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water have large openable picture windows. Check the place out on Google Earth. Sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I love flying. Been there with friends and we felt well! The motel is very close to the airport. Great location. "Thanks to flight with Airport Motel"..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wairarapa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed here on our return from our trip to Fiji. We choose this place mainly for the car storage and shuttle service to the airport. Which was reasonably priced and efficent. We were picked up off our midnight flight within about 5 mins of phoning which was good with 2 tired little children. There was a little wait while we checked in. Once we were in the room it turned out to be the smallest room I have ever stayed in and the bathroom was tiny but at 1am you just want a bed. The beds were comfortable and it was clean, we would have slept in but for the skylight that let the light stream in as soon as it was dawn had not the best thing after getting in so early in the morning. We went to watch the breakfast news on TV as we were up so early. Having been on Fiji time for a week and we had not watch, listened or read any news for about a week but it turned out the TV only had a couple of chanels the movie one and discovery apparantly they were upgrading the aerials. Overall I guess we were only there for 8 hours probably not long enough to really form an opinion either way.

Room Tip: If you have an early morning flight ask if they have a room without a skylight so you can sleep in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

I'm always wary when someone suggests staying in a motel because I've been in a few that are very dated and have questionable hygiene but I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were modern looking, clean and our family room was spacious. Despite being close to the airport we didn't hear a thing. I was disappointed to get tinned fruit with my breakfast but it was such a minor issue. Staff were very friendly and helpful. It was cheaper & easier to leave the car here and get the 11 bus into the city centre. The stop is directly outside the motel and parking was well priced for the location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night in January while we were in Wellington. Rooms were quite modernwith most of the amenities you would need. The motel is very close to the airport which is great for those with early flights the next day like us, however there was no noise problems.
Exterior is a bland yellow colour which isnt very attractive, this is something the motel could improve on. Overall we had a good stay at the Airport Motel

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Motel

Address: 142 Tirangi Road | Rongatai, Wellington 6022, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conference Space and Long term Car Storage Available description = Wellingtons BEST VALUE and NEWEST Airport Motel Closest Motel to Wellington Airport "The Airport Motel" offers a Top Beach front Location with stunning views across Cook Strait. Spend some time exploring Wellingtons Newest Mega Shopping Center and Cafe's located just across the road or Just take some time to Relax and Enjoy the Magnificent Views from one of our Luxurious Double Spa Bath Units. *** FREE AIRPORT SHUTTLE SERVICE (7:30am till 2:00am) *** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Airport Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Hotel Kilbirnie
Airport Motel Wellington
Airport Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.