We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice building ... good coffee” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Bay Pavilion

Days Bay Pavilion
611 Marine Dr, Lower Hutt | Days Bay, Wellington 5013, New Zealand
+64 4-562 7775
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #493 of 656 Restaurants in Wellington
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Nice building ... good coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Days Bay Pavillion cafe is large and airy. In the winter, the broad windows and high cathedral ceiling may cause you concern that it won't be warm inside - but don't worry, it is! They have a really great fireplace that warms the room and all the tables are clustered around it. It's quite comfortable to sit for a while. However, don't choose a table near the service counter because the cold breeze coming from the open kitchen door out back is wicked! Also, you could order one of their gourmet pizzas, to keep you warm. The food here is a fairly average offer, but the coffee is very good. The staff and service are great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice but lacks character”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Nice cafe next to a great lawn and beach. It lacks character but is still a nice place if you go to Days Bay with friends or family. Sometimes very busy and the staff could have smile, too :-)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great outlook, good food, good value. Worth the drive ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We enjoyed our recent visit to the Days Bay Pavilion. Relaxing, unpretentious, good food, good value and great outlook. A lovely stop off on a scenic drive around the harbour's edge.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor food, service & cleanliness”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

It was a stunning Wellington day and we wanted to go somewhere where we could sit in the sun for lunch in relaxed surroundings with a view of the sea - this place appeared to be perfect. We walked through the filth covered front door & despite an unpleasant smell in the dining area, took our place in the queue to order as we were hungry. On using the bathroom it became clear that smell in the dining room was coming from the bathroom which was filthy dirty & smelt so awful I wished that I had opted for the public toilets outside instead. Our pizza arrived quickly and we were immediately disappointed by the gristle filled meat toppings & lack of flavour. The rest of the meal didn't arrive until we chased it up with two different wait staff - we needn't have bothered as that too was greasy & poor. This place has such great potential but really needs a boost of professionalism in the way it's run and a dam good clean both inside & out!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gluten free”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Ordered gluten free eggs on toast, came on wheat toast, waitress couldn't understand what the problem was, sent back to correct error, came back with eggs transferred to gluten free toast. Meal was cold by then. Also as having coeliac disease this was quite unsatisfactory .

Coeliacs can have bad reaction to gluten. If restaurants say they serve gluten free meals that is what they should be serving. A little gluten is not ok.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Days Bay Pavilion also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Days Bay Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Bay Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.