We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Wellington to your Saves list
Rydges Wellington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Lovely Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is located close to wharf are where there are plenty of bars, restaurant's. Shopping centre is only a short walk away with more eateries. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran W, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your experience at our hotel. We appreciate the feedback. It sounds like, overall, you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the hotel and in Wellington. We look forward to accommodating you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    426
    134
    37
    12
See reviews for
148
431
48
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The rooms are very comfortable, clean and quiet. I have been on 15th floor and had suit that come with comfy bedroom, living zone with kitchenette net, bathroom with shower and even laundry and drying facilities. Staff was very nice and helpful.
All in all very recommended.
What I did find disappointing though was breakfast. Tons of meat- becon different type of sausages, bloody sausages, ham, eggs in different form. Baked beans, baked potatoes, baked onion. All super fat and heavy. Also some fruits I have to admit. But I was looking for some vegetables - tomatoes, lettuce, cucumber, cottage cheese, cheddar, fresh pepper, radish...and there was non of these (which is a normal standard in each and every good hotel I stayed in in Europe).Bread...terrible ...but I heard this is NZ standard, and Im just expecting to much thinking I would find bread of same quality as in Poland and Germany all over the world... Plus another negative surprise- I had full breakfast buffet included in room rate and still if I asked for cappuccino during breakfast that was charged aside (which was not stated upfront even).
All in all good location (in business, quite in evening zone of city), amazing room, but food disappointing and overpriced even for NZ standard (Burger and glass of local wine sum up to 54 NZD)!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I travel an awful lot to Wellington for work, and the Rydges is my hotel of choice. Simon and his staff are always friendly and professional. A number of them know me from the frequent stays, but even new staff have delivered to the same high standard. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and quiet, I never fail to get a good nights sleep and wake up fresh for work in the morning. Food has definitely gone up a notch or two since I first started staying there, and I must recommend the Louisiana Chicken (and don't be afraid to splash on a little extra of the spicy sauce that accompanies it). All in all Rydges truly is my home away from home when I am in Wellington

Room Tip: Harbour side is magnificent on a good Wellington day (can't always be assured of one of those da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Really enjoy staying at Rydges as the staff are friendly and the accomodation comfortable. I have never had any concerns, it is quiet at night, the food is good and the staff are always willing to help.

Room Tip: If you want a diffrent room ask for one on the end where they are set out slightly differently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Rydges is located in download Wellington, convenient to the waterfront, the Wellington train station and Lambdon Quay (the main shopping street, with plenty of buses). The area is pretty quiet at night, with a few restaurants towards the waterfront.

As with all Rydges, you can get a better room rate by joining their Priority Guest Rewards club, and it also provides a 50% discount for wifi and a 10% discount for dining.

There is a Bed & Breakfast rate option at the moment, which includes a most satisfying buffet breakfast for $20/day. The buffet is very well presented (see picture), with a large range of fruit juices, bircher museli, made-to-order eggs, a variety of breads, hot dishes, cereals and a rotating set of sweet items (pancakes, crepes).

While the hotel has a small gym, it also provides access to the Thornton CityFitness, which is an 8-minute walk to the North.

The rooms are spacious and include a kitchenette with stove, sink, toaster and hot water jug. Cooking utensils (eg pans) are available on request.

My room had a roomy bathroom with a "shower in the bath". A frosted glass window lets light into the bathroom from the main room, but a blind is provided to block this light if desired (and for full bathroom privacy). The air conditioning unit was rather noisy and confusing to control (a separate manual is provided!), so I kept it off overnight. The rooms were clean the beds were plentifully supplied with pillows. A 'pillow menu' offers additional pillows such a lavender or foam.

There is 20 minutes of free wifi per device per day, or additional wifi can be purchased for about $20/day (or $10/day if you join their Priority club). It was a good quality connection, which seemed to have plenty of bandwidth.

My room (10th floor) was very quiet at night, but the view wasn't any special (facing west rather than towards the water). Rooms with a harbour view are charged at higher rates.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great service from staff especially when I first arrived there was a mix up with the booking (my work's omission - not the hotel). A room was quickly found, although I would have liked to have been asked if I minded a disability room i.e. no bath! Over the two nights stay the bed was comfortable and food great. Excellent service from room service staff. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask at check in what the options are, rather than just accept what allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The rooms have great style and comfort, good size bathroom. The lounge bar area has different seating options and the waiting staff are great and happy to serve my dinner to me in the bar as opposed to the restaurant. I only have one minor issue and that was that I stood at the bar for about 2 mins before anyone served me even though they were busy a simple hello wont be long would have sufficed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand’s capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.