We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation with amazing views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Wellington to your Saves list
Rydges Wellington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
1 review
“Excellent accommodation with amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Upon entering the hotel I was greeted by lovely staff and made to feel very welcome. My partner and I thought the projection behind the front desk was fabulous and the decor throughout leading to the bar and restaurant was outstanding. We had a great stay- the room was superb and views of Wellington, lovely! We Will definitely be staying here on our next visit to Wellington and have recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We love our unique welcome for our guests in the lobby with the projection of abstract imagery, great to hear your feedback on it. Thanks for passing on your recommendation to your friends and family, hope to see you back soon.

Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    356
    109
    33
    12
See reviews for
129
361
39
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our recent stay from Dec 30th for 9 days was a fine example of how a hotel should present to clients: Modern, well executed, polite, prompt & with an ability to provide caring & personalised service.

We arrived late at night in somewhat of a panicked state due to another hotel treating me like an idiot (we refused to stay & demanded/got a refund) so I took my business to the highly recommended Rydges (please see my other Wellington reviews for this time frame).

Brendan (front desk Manager) had us comfortably housed in a very spacious 1 bedroom executive suite on the top floor within 10 minutes, much to my absolute respect! The room rate of $280 was inclusive of full buffet/a la carte hot breakfast, half priced internet, valet parking, children's play suite, fitness/pool/spa access. The room had a king & double sofa bed, washer/dryer, bath/shower, balcony & full kitchen.

We opted to dine in-house at Portland, which was most enjoyable & provided good children's menu items (all made fresh). I also enjoyed a welcome glass of NZ Sauvignon Blanc due to joining the priority guest program on arrival. This also gave 20% discount on food/wine & all children's meals were complimentary.

Initially we booked for 7 nights, but extended a further 2 because we found Wellington & the hotel to be wonderful. Brendan really did take fabulous care of us. He seemed to always be on duty (in-fact he only had 1 day off in the 9 days we were there), our thanks was shown with a super bottle of Aussie Shiraz... the least I could do!

I also would like to mention the gorgeous breakfast staff in Portland, especially Phil... a zany, cheerful/colourful character responsible for cooking our breakfast. No matter what challenge we gave him (and boy, did we!) it was served with much aplomb & joy. We had a lot of fun at breakfast. It was a superb buffet, honestly one of the best I have ever had (and I have stayed in many top notch hotels).

I highly recommend Rydges Wellington. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Corner suites are spacious, sunny & quieter (away from lifts). Valet parking is a must - parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Happy New Year to you! Sounds like you brought in the New Year in style at Rydges Wellington in one of our executive suites. Great to hear our fantastic team of staff, particularly Brendon ensured the best for you comfortably suiting your needs…he's a asset to our team. Thanks for joining our PriorityGUEST Rewards program, the benefits are awesome, and good for future bookings when you book on our website. Our breakfast buffet is a lot of fun, Phil is a star and rises to any challenge given to him! Hope the rest of your trip went well, come back again soon, we'll have a glass of Sav Blanc waiting!

Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed during a Wellington weather bomb and spent all day and night in the hotel. The facilities kept us entertained - fancy a run on the treadmill, perhaps a ride on the exercise bike, maybe pump some weights, a few laps in the pool or a relaxing time in the spa or sauna? We were able to accomplish all of the above...whilst howling winds and rain battered the hotel windows (which only made us more grateful to be indoors).

The only thing I would not recommend at the Rydges is the restaurant (the high standard simply doesn't follow through)... Take a walk down to the waterfront and ask for the steak (accompanied with pâté, lentils and jus) at Foxglove http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g255115-d1955638-Reviews-Foxglove-Wellington_North_Island.html ...you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi there,
Great to hear you made the most of our indoor facilities, there is definitely enough going on within the hotel when the weather outside is not playing the game. I see that you stayed with us back in April, and since this time our restaurant has had a major refurbishment transforming to Portlander Bar & Grill. Be sure to try us for food again when you are here, I’m sure you won’t be disappointed.
Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here 29th december 2012, hotel staff great, modern hotel,good location. Went to their restaurant The Portlander and was disappointed with the slack service, waitress seemed to be more busy standing around chatting to other waitress about their personal lives, asked for med rare steak (48.00) and came out well done which I dont expect in a hotel, especially when its not busy, had to call her over as she didnt come and ask how our meals were, she did credit this off our bill though. Also she forgot my drink and I had to ask the waiter to get it, also she didnt take our wine glasses off our table ( as we didnt order wine) until we were nearly done. My daughter ordered desert which was tiramisu and probably the worst I have had srved with cheap icecream.I know service and food as I have been a chef for many years. Disappointing!!

Room Tip: ask for harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and the experience you had in our hotel restaurant. I am disappointed to read of your time with us at Portlander, this is a rarity to see such reviews so please be ensured I have passed on these comments to the Food and Beverage team. However, happy to hear your experience with the hotel staff and what it offered was great!

Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel and had a very comfortable, welcoming stay. The staff (bar one female we dealt with on our second last day of our stay) were friendly, efficient and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The location is perfect - walking distance to the waterfront and about 10 minutes walk to Cuba street. The restaurant was great and the room service pretty quick & efficient. Hard to fault this hotel as it really ticks all the boxes.

Room Tip: Request a waterfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hey there,

Fantastic to hear your stay was comfortable and the staff looked after your needs well. Location is a winner for our hotel, central to all the landmarks and attractions in this compact little capital! See you again.

Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

As one would expect from a Rydges hotel located in a major city centre, this hotel is of an excellent standard. In particular the check-in and check-out service was quick and efficient. We found not a single thing to fault.
The location is especially good in relation to the train station (one block). In addition, if one is taking the Interislander to Picton, there is a complimentary shuttle bus from the station to the wharf.
Whilst the hotel has a restaurant, the main city theatre, cafe and bar area is at the other end of town. On the other hand the waterfront restaurants are only one block away and it is an easy 15 minute stroll to the Te Papa museum.
Two issues that could be attended to. First, the hotel offers only valet parking. An arrangement with a nearby parking facility for those who prefer to park themselves would be helpful.
Second, the hotel does not offer free wi-fi. They are not alone in this; it seems the better the hotel, the more likely to charge an arm and a leg for wi-fi. But if lesser establishments - and in Wellington there is plenty of free wi-fi in the cafes and at the visitor centre - can offer this service why not Rydges?
It's a minor annoyance but if we don't complain they won't change, will they.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks for your feedback on Rydges Wellington, we love to hear what our guests have to say about their experience with us. You are right, we need to know your thoughts / improvements you would like to see from us…please know I have passed these suggestions on to management. We do have a great location, hope you managed to see and do all that this capital has to offer!

Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

this hotel is situated in a perfect location for exploring Wellington. we had 2 rooms here and they were both clean, farely modern and well kept. we had requested a king size bed and it was definitely not a king, but when we called to ask about it, we were told that in New Zealand that was the size of a king bed, although at our previous hotels we had had regular king size beds that we are used to. the bathrooms are also clean and exactly what you would expect of a 4 star hotel. the staff are pretty helpfull. you can walk pretty much anywhere from here and we did. parking is super expensive at 30 dollars a night. upon return to Canada we noticed we were charged for a bottle of wine we did not consume. management took the charges off after 2 weeks of emailing back and forth. to avoid this, I suggest you ask them to check the mini bar before you leave. otherwise, good price for a good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi there,

Fantastic to hear you found us well located to explore the Capital city, hope you got to do all you had planned on doing while you were here. Sorry for the mishap with the bottle of wine, I apologise but great to hear this was resolved quickly. In regards to the king bed, they are NZ standard king bed sizing. Hope you had a safe trip back home to Canada, we have our own Canuck in the restaurant, and he tells us New Zealand is like a pint sized Canada.

Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand’s capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.