We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canceled booking for RWC without explanation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Wellington to your Saves list
Rydges Wellington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Canceled booking for RWC without explanation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Unfortunately I haven't been able to stay at this hotel as they canceled my booking for the RWC without explanation. I understand that they then resold rooms for a higher amount. Disgusting behaviour and leaves a bad impression on NZ - shame on you and I will never stay in any hotels in this chain.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
I would be very interested to discuss your allegation of the hotel not honouring a booking during the world cup period. We have not had a situation since Rydges commenced management of the Hotel in March this year of any scenario where by a reservation has not been honoured. There has been circumstances where a third party has sold rooms that were not available at the Hotel and we have declined to take those reservations. Please contact myself directly at the Hotel as I would be very eager to discuss what has allegedly occurred to you from the Hotel. Regards Simon White General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    425
    134
    37
    12
See reviews for
148
431
48
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I have just returned from one nights stay at Rydges. The room was a good size. I was allocated a room with a disabled bathroom so it was very large but the door to the bathroom was extremely heavy to open. I had a great sleep on the tenth floor and didn't notice any traffic noise. We held our workshop at Rydges and had catered food which was very yummy. Breakfast was ok, typical hotel price. I would suggest finding a local cafe, they are great value in Wellington. I'm coming back to stay in a few weeks time with my daughter who will definately enjoy the pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed two nights in a standard room which is very modern and of ave size. Comfortable bed and good shower (over bath). NIce indoor swimming pool good for lengths, but only a token gym. Downside to the hotel is the road noise and expensive car parking ($30 per night), although it is valet. Hotel is a long way from Courtney place if that is where you are wanting to spend most of your time, although excellent for courtney place and govt buildings. Staff very very nice and the breakfast in the morning was excellent one of the best that we have had all over the world.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Thank you Duty Manager and Housekeeping manager for making sure that your system of locating lost property and tracing is through is thorough. Hence I was able to have my ipod returned safely. Commending your cleaning staff also for their honesty.

Cheers
Pale Sauni
MaP Consultants

Room Tip: room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermaid Waters, Queensland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The Rydges is missing a little something of whatever it was that made the Holiday Inn so friendly...but I think the recent brand change has probably meant a change in staff and many new faces. Understandable.
The hotel itself is still very nice NOT tired at all, if anything the styling is a little too modern if that is possible, black and red tones - velvet finishings, high gloss sheer red curtains. I have found the central location great. I have more often than not been given a room with a nice view ...even when I havent paid for it. This happened last time, even when the staff member didnt know me, as they acknowledges I was a regular visitor. I find it is probably beneficial to pay extra as the higher priced rooms have a balcony and sliding door, which is a bonus when Wellington turns on nice weather.
I have been told by other people that have stayed at the hotel that they are horrified by a frosted glass panel located adjacent to the toilet....but as I travel alone this has never bothered me!
I find the rooms quiet and have never been disturbed by noises of a fellow guest on any trip. This is the best feature of the hotel. Ask for a quiet room and you will get one. When travelling on business that is just magic!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

This was originally the Holiday Inn and when a brand like that bails out you have to ask why. One reason may be that the place needs a spruce up to keep its perceived place in the market.
What you can tell about the place is that it was built to a price. It looks fine but when the shower becomes hot if a tap is turned on over the hand basin then some pressure levelling valves or better pipework is missing. There is something missing between the carpets and the hard concrete floor. The air conditioning unit in each room has a remote that defies logic, or simply does not work and when the unit does fire up it can sound like a Lear jet on start up. The lack of an opening window seals the price deal for me, especially with an air con unit that is so noisy.
The rooms have a hot plate and a microwave oven which suggests they do not mind if you self cater. The trouble is the pot and pan and plates are nowhere to be seen. The stove top vent and lights did not work either. I feel there is a message here.
A high point is the pool and spa on the second floor. The gymnasium is rudimentary and cannot be taken seriously and the hotel does offer access to a real one close by.
Location is good and if you can talk the people on the desk into giving you a room with a harbour view it is much better. There is a god-awful ugly building right next door that has a tenant with lots of money. You can tell that because they leave floors of lights on all night. Try to avoid a room that has empty desks for a view.
The valet parking is a bit rich at $30 (these people may not have heard about the recession) and the after hours parking on the wharf by the police station is a much better deal.
It is a perfectly fine hotel but if you do not have a special deal, which most people who use the place probably have, then it may not represent the best value for money.
Staff are good to deal with and this always helps to paint over any imperfections in a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view that is not of the Post Office next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nz
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Accommodation was nice and location quite central but I will be avoiding this one in future.

The Viaduct is a noisy place at night, full of drunks and rowdy people: not my scene at all and so not for me again.

Nice room, although I disliked the glass wall between the bathroom and the bedroom. It has the WC immediately on the other side of it and frankly, even though the glass was frosted, there are some things which are better left private, rather than as shadow-puppet viewing entertainment for others in the suite.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand’s capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.