We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice facilities for long-term stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of At Home Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added At Home Wellington to your Saves list
At Home Wellington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Level 4, 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Good location, nice facilities for long-term stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Location of At Home Wellington is excellent -- just across from the waterfront and the Te Papa museum, and a couple of blocks from lots and lots of bars and restaurants on Courtenay Place and nearby streets.

This really is a boutique hotel -- only a dozen or so apartments on one floor. The apartments are very well equipped for long-term travelers: strong free wifi, washing machine, dishwasher, cooktop, oven, microwave, aircon, cable TV.

But we were just in town for a couple days and didn't use most of that stuff. Purely as hotel lodging, it was nice enough but not overwhelming -- especially compared to the many motel rooms we have stayed in around NZ, most of which are equally well equipped, much larger and more reasonably priced. The bathroom was particularly small and felt cramped. There was no space at all for a towel rack, and we ended up hanging the towels from the shower door (they were then not changed and so still slightly damp the second night.)

Those are minor inconveniences, and I would rate this as very good lodging, just not particular value for money (our hotel room in a 5-star hotel in downtown Auckland cost less, though admittedly it didn't have all the long-term stay equipment).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear HK_Observer,
Thanks for taking the time to place a review. Firstly we are delighted that you found our location and in-room facilities to be excellent. We aim to please both the short & long -term traveller with the comforts of home.
Secondly, the bathroom. Admittedly the bathroom in your apartment was smaller than all of the others, and doesn't have a heated towel rack. Instead there are two hooks for hanging towels, or if you prefer you can leave them on the floor and they will be replaced when your room is serviced. We apologise if this was not ideal for you. Overall, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in NZ.
Regards,
Hayley & Dwayne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    104
    27
    2
    1
See reviews for
66
246
37
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perigueux, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Comfortable,spacious and modern apartments, well maintained and very central. Dwayne & Hayley were both very helpful during our three separate visits over the last two months. Would certainly stay again next time we are in Wellington.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear MJA46,
Thank you very much for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stays with us, we thoroughly enjoyed getting to know you, it was a real pleasure! Hope your long journey home went smoothly.
Kind regards,
Hayley & Dwayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at At Home for our golden wedding anniversary in november 2013. We found it to be an ideal location for exploring Wellington. We had a lovely big room which was comfortable and clean, with great facilities for cooking and washing clothes - and a lovely balcony. Close to the harbour and the Te Papa museum, there were also plenty of local restaurants and cafés nearby. The shopping area was with in walking distance as was the cable car up to the botanical gardens. Haley and Dwayne were both very friendly and helpful in booking our ferry and onward hotel. We would highly recommend it for its location and convenience to the Town.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear John R,
Thank you very much for your kind words, it really means a lot! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay "At Home" as a part of your wedding anniversary holiday. All the very best, Hayley & Dwayne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. The place is a nicely converted top floor of an old building in the centre of Wellington .
The room was quite adequate but the parking was not as we had expected. We had been advised that for $6 we would have 24 hour parking. Well when we arrived we were told that the parking was at a car wash site two doors away. It just so happens that this is next to a public car park but it's not clear that it's separate from the car wash building. When we arrived the car wash was in full operation and there were no spaces in front of the building so we assumed the lot next door was the same place. It's actually a pay and display car park and we copped a $65 fine! I mentioned it to the owners who were unsympathetic and still charged us for 3 days at $6 a day!!
I was a bit disappointed as it took the edge off what is a good room close to the city's attractions.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Cillin,
Thanks for your review. We are sorry for the confusion over your parking. When you arrived we advised that the parking arrangement we have at the car wash would be OK after 5pm which is when they close and space becomes available. The car park next door is completely seperate and quite clearly sign-posted. While we do sympathise that you received a parking ticket, I'm afraid that is beyond our control. We would have been happy to provide alternate parking suggestions if we'd have known at the time that the car wash was full. Unfortunately car parking in Wellington has become very limited since the recent earthquakes which closed two multi-storey facilities in our immediate vicinity, one of which we used for our guests. It's for this reason that we encourage guests not to bring a car into the city if it can be avoided. This being said, we are pleased that you enjoyed your room and our location, and hope to see you again!
Regards,
Hayley & Dwayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Great location, right near the wharf and numerous fun restaurants. Owners were very nice and helpful. Great place to stay in Wellington. Very clean, and really nice to have a washer/dryer when you've been on the road a few days.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear pj1290,
We really appreciate the time taken to place a review, thank you! We're glad that you agree our location is great & so close to many restaurants. We are very lucky to have so many wonderful choices on our doorstep!
Kind regards,
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We only stayed 1 night at At Home, but we loved it. very spacious and clean room with a good shower / bathroom! Further it has a nice balcony with plenty of room to sit / lay down and the kitchen is equipped with a private washing machine!
The hotel is very well situated near the river side (restaurants, etc) and Te Papa (museum) and under 15 minutes from the airport.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Duckles,
Thank you very much for such a terrific review! It was a shame you could only stay one night - you will have to come back and stay longer next time! Nevertheless, we are so happy that you enjoyed your short stay with us.
Kind regards,
Hayley & Dwayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is a gem of a place to stay as it is very spacious and clean with laundry facilities and enough kitchen to really make yourself "at home". Everything worked perfectly once I had the
help of Hayley and Dwayne in the washing machine department. Dwayne also helped us with direction in where to go, what to do and when to do it in town. We had a great stay and would absolutely recommend to anyone to stay there. Walk to the museum and the shopping area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear DenverMomasita,
Wow, thank you for your wonderful words! We also feel that "At Home" is a gem of a place, probably one of Wellington's best kept secrets...
We are so happy that you felt "At Home", that is exactly what we aim for!
Best wishes,
Hayley & Dwayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to At Home Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Wellington

Address: Level 4, 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#1 Business Hotel in Wellington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#2 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — At Home Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a place that makes you feel like you are home, then At Home is the place. All our rooms have balconies, wireless internet, kitchens, TVs/DVD, IPOD dock/charger and en-suite bathroom. Being located right in the heart of Wellington with one side looking out at Te Papa, and the other the night life hub means that whilst you stay with us you can enjoy all that Wellington has to offer easily. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your At Home Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Home Wellington Hotel Wellington
At Home Hotel Wellington
Wellington At Home Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At Home Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.