We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price, fab location and modern room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of At Home Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added At Home Wellington to your Saves list
At Home Wellington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Level 4, 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, fab location and modern room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed here for three nights on an artsy-weekend in Wellington. We wanted somewhere reasonablely priced but centrally located. Everywhere was expensive cos of WOW festival, but At Home came up trumps. Quiet on the whole (apart from 6am vacuuming??) with friendly hosts (our missing DVD player was sorted within a matter of minutes of our complaint) - whose dog kept popping up on our balcony, much to our amusement (he had crept under the fence :-) ). Superb location for Oriental Bay, Te Papa, Circa Theatre, Cuba Street and Courtenay Place.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    104
    27
    2
    1
See reviews for
66
246
37
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

If you want marble reception areas, bellhops and meals served in your room, go somewhere else. But At Home does offer an unbeatable combination of a comfortable bed, clean rooms with all mod cons and a location in the fun part of central Wellington, all at a very reasonable price. The unpretentious nature of the place is perfectly complemented by the friendliness of hosts Jason & Leanne. Honestly, you can't go past At Home for all-round value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

A beautiful, clean, comfortable and modern facility that is definately my first choice should i ever need accommodation in Wellington.
Not only does it have everything you need, it is central, close to everything and run by two amazing people. Jason & Leanne Bowden you are both so warm, welcoming, amazingly generous people.

It's not always about the materialistic surroundings, the people and the feeling are equally important and if you think so too, this is DEFINATELY the place to go!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We wanted a hotel in Wellington to take advantage of the sites and this place is literally one block from Te Papa museum, three blocks from a major food store and a 10 minute walk to Cuba Street shopping. It is the 4th floor of a office building with a fitness center on the first floor that patrons can use. It is modern and clean and quiet. We had a unit with a separate one bedroom with twin beds and a queen size bed in the living area. It has a full service kitchen with a washer/dryer if you need one. Having stayed at another small boutique hotel a couple of things that I found lacking- no place to put your suitcases, no suitcase stand or dresser so suitcases sat on the floor. It was wet and cold when we visited and it took a really long time for the room to heat up before we felt comfortable. Not enough towels for the family party of three so we had to ask for more. These are not major issues but when you book a place weeks in advance and they don't really get the place prepared for your visit it comes across as - well not like they were expecting you and not really interested in if your stay is special. It just made the stay less than what it could have been.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athomewellington, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
I have just read your review and I am very disappointed with the lack of service that you received. It is most unusual that the room was not warm, it is one of those things I pride myself on, that the room should be cosy when you arrive and that we are very pleased to see you and well prepared. I have taken all that you have commented about on board and will definately address it will the all of the team so that it doesnt happen to others. As far as the bag stands, this is a very good point and one that we will look into fixing. I do hope this hasnt put you off staying with us next time you are in Wellington and look forward to seeing you on your return. Regards Leanne and Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

This was our second visit to AHW, and hosts Leanne and Jason were just as welcoming as our previous stay. Despite booking last minute, our brief stay went to plan, with our hosts accomodating and helpful. Free WiFi and parking are always valuable additions to any short city apartment stay, and all facillities were as tidy and clean as expected - still the place to stay in Wellington.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Although it was a bit difficult to find, with our GPS sending us in circles, once we arrived everything was perfect and we highly recommend this hotel. Leanne and her husband are gracious and accommodating hosts, he even came out in the rain to help us haul our suitcases upstairs. The room had all we needed, even a washer and dryer with free washing powder and a nicely equipped kitchen, even though our one night stay didn't require one. Luxurious bedding, great location near many nice restaurants. We'll stay again if ever in Wellington.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Yet again I have arrived here very early in the morning and my room has been available, which after a long flight is fantastic.
Cannot fault this place at all, very clean, comfortable, well looked after, all mod cons. Close to restaurants and major attractions. Rooms are a great size, kitchen well equiped and the benefit of a washing machine and dryer is fantastic. The right hand side of the building facing Te Papa gets the sun on the balcony almost all day.
Great value for money, excellent free wifi will definitely be staying again.
Thanks Leanne and jason, keep up the great work.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to At Home Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Wellington

Address: Level 4, 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wellington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#2 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — At Home Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a place that makes you feel like you are home, then At Home is the place. All our rooms have balconies, wireless internet, kitchens, TVs/DVD, IPOD dock/charger and en-suite bathroom. Being located right in the heart of Wellington with one side looking out at Te Papa, and the other the night life hub means that whilst you stay with us you can enjoy all that Wellington has to offer easily. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your At Home Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Home Wellington Hotel Wellington
At Home Hotel Wellington
Wellington At Home Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At Home Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.