We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun for the whole family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staglands Wildlife Reserve

Staglands Wildlife Reserve
2362 Akatarawa Road | Upper Hutt, Wellington 5372, New Zealand
+64 4-526 7529
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 189 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Staglands Wildlife Reserve & Cafe is less than an hour from Wellington and a 'must see' attraction for anyone either living in or visiting Wellington. Staglands offers a unique experience for people of all ages to feed and freely interact with a wide range of native and exotic birds and animals in an environment that has been created with nature's materials. Open daily 9:30am-5pm. Adults $20, Children $10 (3 and under no charge)
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great fun for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

this is a great place to go with the family on a good day, the access road is a little windy and a slow speed is recommended to avoid a mess in the back seat and green kids but once you get there its heaps of fun, the kids get to get up close to all animals and feed them

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staglands, Manager at Staglands Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your great review. The access road is windy in parts, but very scenic. Good advice on taking it slowly if you have passengers who may get car sick. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    56
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Fun, quirky, wildlife park where you are actively encouraged to interact with the animals. Mix of wild & domestic animals, birds, and fish, some of which can be petted, and you can feed them. Nice cafe, and a wholesome family atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staglands, Manager at Staglands Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We hope to see you again soon at Staglands!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“p[lace is stunning but food is ordinary and commercially catered. A real pitty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The place has got massive potential, very nicely built in the middle of the forest with great views. Unfortunately the cuisine is shocking, very ordinary and commercially catered by some other place very disappointing

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staglands, Manager at Staglands Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to hear you thought Staglands a stunning place with great views, however were sorry to hear that you thought the food ordinary and commericially catered. We would like to reassure you that, with the exception of our gluten free cookies, all food is made on-site. Staglands, as a tourist destination has a very broad appeal, however our cafe menu is designed primarily to cater to the young families market, with simple, affordable dishes on offer. We are sorry the food did not live up to your expectations but hope that your enjoyment of reserve went some way towards making up for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We've been going to Staglands a lot ever since our daughter was a baby. It's a great place to visit. It's much more hands on than a trip to the zoo as you get to pet and feed most of the animals. The café is a lovely place to visit - especially on a cold, rainy day. Keep up the good work!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staglands, Manager at Staglands Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are happy to hear your family enjoy the special hands-on experience you get at Staglands and our cosy cafe! We hope to see you all again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Wonderful wonderland of wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Staglands is a wonderful wildlife sanctuary and park experience. I have been going there with my family 2 or 3 times each year for the last 7 or so years and we never tire of the experience. An experience not to be missed. Getting up close to the Kea, Fallow deer, rabbits, guinea pigs, endangered native Kaka, Blue Duck and Falcon (just to name a few); glimpsing back to living conditions of 150 years ago - Staglands has a diversity seldom seen in other attractions of this ilk. A great experience for all ages that is very accessible and well presented..

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staglands, Manager at Staglands Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review - so glad to hear you continue to enjoy Staglands year after year. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Staglands Wildlife Reserve also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Staglands Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staglands Wildlife Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.