We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous exhibition!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Zealand Portrait Gallery

New Zealand Portrait Gallery
Shed 11, Customhouse Quay opposite Johnston St. | Wellington Waterfront, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
+64 (04) 472 2298
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 10 Shopping in Wellington
Type: Art Galleries, Shopping
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a fabulous exhibition!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We were in Welly for the weekend, beautiful day, strolling the harbor area and decided to walk into this gallery. What a terrific surprise - the exhibit was "Woman-A modern portrait of New Zealand women" by Bev Short. We are photography buffs and these portraits are outstanding in every way. They are well exhibited with excellent text accompanying each. Not crowded, we were able to take all the time we wanted. The gallery employee (a volunteer perhaps?) was most interesting and informative about the museum. Going here would depend on what exhibit they have on display, but this one is a big winner.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Exhibition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I went there today for an exhibition about women and it was fantastic. It was great that not all of these women were famous, but made an impact in some way. The galler itself is beautifully set up and the staff were friendly and helpful. A must see if they have a nice exhibition.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The NZ Portrait gallery is now sited on Queens Wharf in downtown Wellington. It is free to enter but has a donation or koha box for monies which go towards the TRust which operates the gallery.
The exhibition on at the moments is of New Zealanders from 1930 onwards and is well worth a visit.
For those interested in recent NZ history all the movers and shakers since 1930 are represented here

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Some interesting exhibitions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Whether you enjoy a visit to this gallery really depends on how interested you are in the topic of the exhibition. Currently it is New Zealand scientists and, as well as the portraits, there are various bits of scientific equipment and literature on display. Each portrait has an informative description beside it, so I felt I learnt something.

The gallery is in Shed 11 on the waterfront (not Bowen Street as listed above) so it would be easy to pop into if you were strolling along the waterfront.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Zealand Portrait Gallery also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to New Zealand Portrait Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Zealand Portrait Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.