We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Creek

Butterfly Creek
| East Harbour Regional Park, Wellington 5373, New Zealand
04 830 4444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 189 things to do in Wellington
Attraction details
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is such a nice walk to do in the summer. It takes a while to get to the creek, but it's a beautiful journey through the forest. At the creek there are picnic tables for sitting and lovely shade. The walk back rewards one with lovely views across the harbour to Welligton.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Butterflies ??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Having been to butterfly creeks in Auckland and Sydney, my little one was keen to check out the local version. Assume we went to the right place, but after a very strenuous uphill hike we didnt see a butterfly anywhere.
Plenty of far fitter than me hikers/Joggers about ; lots of bush, and some nice views over the harbour - but thats about it.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We often bring overseas visitors to Butterfly Creek. It's a lovely little slice of New Zealand bush, varying from windswept Beech trees to quite dense jungle. I'd recommend moderate fitness though, as the walk up to the ridge line is pretty steep, but absolutely worth it for the views.
Take a quick look at the signs to work out which walk (which entrance) best suits the time you wish to spend. Favourites of ours are the Muritai Rd-picnic area-Kowhai St (allow 2-3 hours depending on how long you want to take for lunch) or Kowhai St-Bus barn (40 mins).

The tracks are very nicely maintained, but I'd still recommend decent shoes, particuarly if there's been rain as some sections can be muddy.

There is a composting toilet and some tables at the picnic area, remember that you'll need to carry in any food and drinks, and carry out the rubbish.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lovely walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Nice views of eastbourne, can be trying at times but its worth it when you have a rest at the top

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful harbour views, beautiful bush and a great day walk.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

The shortest way to the picnic area is by the Kowhai St track but we chose a longer and very picturesque route. Once over the hill, the traffic sounds cease and you are left with the wind sighing in the beech trees and a view over a series of bushy ridges. The historic swimming hole is quite small and freezing! Picnic benches on which to eat your sandwiches. Long drop toilet available...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly Creek also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Butterfly Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.