We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trinity Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Trinity Hotel to your Saves list
Trinity Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
“Would return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Central city location.
Excellent hotel staff from restaurant, front desk through to room staff. Great to see young Kiwis in hospitality doing a fantastic job. Well done!
Small housekeeping jobs in room needing attention. (Toilet roll falls off holder, shower door not sealing allowing water onto fall, windows mildew)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate your comments regarding our team. We work very hard to ensure our staff are trained well and have all the tools they need to ensure our customers are well looked after. I have passed your comments onto our Head Housekeeper to address the maintenance issues in the room you stayed in. Thank you again for taking the time to send your comments & we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    98
    84
    34
    13
See reviews for
30
101
37
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed overnight here on a Saturday. Located a 5 min walk from Courtney Place, the room was well appointed (even if a little scratched around the edges). The bathroom was awesome, just be careful not to put the hot tap on too far - scalding hot!! Got the continental breakfast as part of our package - cereals, toast, fruit, juice and hot drinks in the restaurant downstairs. Free Sunday paper topped it all off....

Room Tip: If you get given a room ending in 01 ask for another one as it is right on the corner of the traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure we provide value for money for our customers. We place a great deal of emphasis on staff training and I am heartened that our staff were cheerful! I am pleased you enjoyed our continental breakfast and the Sunday newspaper as well. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The rooms are small and in my room there was no thermostat. They have an electric blanket type of thing but that does not help if you are not sleeping. No chair. They have that card control where you have to put it in a spot by the door or there is no electricity in the room. Request two cards for that reason. Wellington is a fairly compact city, so location is fine. Cuba Street is about two blocks away, the great Te Papa Museum about a kilometer or so. The only window has so screen and you have to rotate the mechanism. Its also frosted, so I had no view. Adequate eateries nearby. Since I spent only one day in Wellington (it more or less can be done in a day, but watch those hills!), this hotel fit my needs but more than one night and I would have gone elsewhere.

Room Tip: I was on the second floor and heard no street noise, since I had the window shut (lest something fli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. Our 3 star plus centrally located Hotel is small & compact. Our beds all have electric blankets & some heaters have thermostats whereas some do not. The room cards also control the electricity. The bathroom and bedrooms have separate light switches as long as the card is in the main slot by the door, you can control the bathroom or bedroom lighting by separate light switches. Our windows are regularly maintained and do have mechanisms which enable you to either open or remain close. Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to our friendly Hotel again soon.




The rooms are small and in my room there was no thermostat. They have an electric blanket type of thing but that does not help if you are not sleeping. No chair. They have that card control where you have to put it in a spot by the door or there is no electricity in the room. Request two cards for that reason. Wellington is a fairly compact city, so location is fine. Cuba Street is about two blocks away, the great Te Papa Museum about a kilometer or so. The only window has so screen and you have to rotate the mechanism. Its also frosted, so I had no view. Adequate eateries nearby. Since I spent only one day in Wellington (it more or less can be done in a day, but watch those hills!), this hotel fit my needs but more than one night and I would have gone elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

great, friendly and very helpful staff at reception, more then happy to store my luggage until my rooom was ready. Room was clean and tidy, suited my needs. great location, handy to restaurants and taxi stand outside main door if needed.

Room Tip: was a good size for me. aircon unit outside window, but when window shut was not a bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay at the Trinity Hotel. We work very hard to ensure our staff give our customers a great experience. Our CBD location is very popular with our customers. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This hotel has only two major faults. Firstly, the rooms are tiny, while they had a small wardrobe for hanging a few items, there were no drawers of shelves for clothes, so they had to stay in the suitcaseand they were very few horizontal places where you could set things down. The one memorable factor was that the hotel was on a corner with steep hills adjoining the rooms and traffic noise struggling to get up the slopes was loud and constant. The bar across the road stays open till 2 or 3 am and noisy patrons prevent you from sleeping. There is a compromise to be made for having a hotel centrally located but double glazing and noise insulation would be great start. If we stayed in Wellington again, we would look for something else.

Room Tip: If you have to stay at this hotel, try getting rooms 7-10 which don't have windows opening to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. Our very friendly 3.5 star centrally located Hotel does have a few city noise challenges. We do have an investment programme in place and will continue to find noise suppressant solutions for our rooms that do face out onto the busy streets. We do hope we are given the opportunity to redeem ourselves. As with all central city hotels, we want to offer a perfect balance of location, great service, quality room and good value for money at the Trinity Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I had a room which didn't face the street. It had a thick window glass but was more or less quiet, anyway.
The room quality was very good for the price paid. The room was big enough, inviting, clean, the bed was good, free coffee&tea was provided. I could use a fridge. The breakfast was okay (not a buffet).
Situation: not far from New World Supermarket (5 minutes walk) and from Cuba Steet (main restaurant area) and Civic Square/seafront (7 minutes walk).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our new housekeeping team are working very hard to ensure our cleaning standards are of a first class standard. Our central city location is one of the reasons our regular customers stay with us. We hope we can impress you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Trinity is in an excellent location but can be noisy which is to be expected in Wellington CBD. Rooms are basic but comfortable. I got a very good deal and it was worth it. Staff at front desk were very friendly and excellent coffee shop adjoins the hotel. If you want cheap and cheerful in a great location then the Trinity is for you.

Room Tip: If there are rooms at the back then ask for one. Main Street is busy and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. With a new management team in place, we are making big changes to our Eclipse Bar & Restaurant so we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time there. When you return, we have a brand new Tapas menu in place which is sure to impress! We work very hard to ensure our staff give our customers that "home away from home" experience so again, thank you for your comments around this. We do hope you give us the opportunity to exceed your standards again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trinity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Hotel

Address: 166 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trinity Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Accommodation, affordable price, central location. A popular CBD hotel in Wellington ideally suited for the Business or Leisure traveler and only 10mins from the Airport. Perfectly situated for your convenience in the heart of Wellington’s entertainment, shopping, arts and business districts and only a short stroll to the Harbour and TePapa. Each of our 60 guest rooms having recently undergone a stylish, soft refurbishment, offer all you would expect and more including; modern tiled bathrooms, wireless high speed broadband, coffee/tea making facilities. SKYTV, radio/alarm clock. same day laundry and dry cleaning, telephone, hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Trinity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trinity Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.