We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate and met our needs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abel Tasman Hotel

Save Saved
You added Abel Tasman Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Abel Tasman Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   169 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand (Formerly Leisure Inns Abel Tasman)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 50 hotels in Wellington
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Adequate and met our needs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed at the property on 13th Oct. We were met with polite and helpful staff, signed in and given a park in the underground area. Wellington turned on a fierce gale and rain, but we were very comfortable with the basic but effective oil radiator provided. Room was clean and had normal facilities, tea making, flat screen TV, king bed, etc.
We found all staff helpful. The bed was very comfortable, the breakfast excellent and well presented, both cooked and continental. The room had a view over roof tops, and was a bit noisy even on the fifth floor. Traffic and people contributed to this. The hotel is very central, and close to all that is going on in the city's centre.
The car park is a bit of a chore to navigate, very close and narrow parks.
Overall we had a nice stay, and if you don't want a scenic outlook, but stay close to town. This place is fine.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelTasman169, Manager at Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest

Firstly, thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback following your stay at the Abel Tasman Hotel as it gives us an opportunity to continually review and improve our room standards and overall hotel procedures.

I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the coolest little capital in the world.



Kind Regards,

Asif Chowdhry

Rooms Divison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    52
    51
    10
    17
See reviews for
23
46
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

The reception staff were curt and rude. I booked this trip 6 weeks prior from Canada and had high expectations. Upon arrival I asked if we could have a quiet room with a view and the guy haughtily told me that we were in the centre of the city and there were no views! We needs a recetionist's refresher course. His attitude made me quite angry. I would have gone elsewhere despite our reservation but we had been driving all day to get to Wellington. Our room was pretty cheap looking,pretty disappointing. Overlooked street with vagrants yelling later on when drunk. Tried to use their 'guest laundry' facilities...located IN the freezing parkade. It was in such bad shape,I wonder if this space use to be their paint room. Tiny,paint splattered,dust bunnies ontop of the broken door rail...door missing big piece of glass. One drier broken but they failed to put a notice on it...so it ate my change. When I mentioned this to different reception staff,this time a woman she said I was 'welcome' to use the other machine...which I already was. I needed 2 driers for my 2 loads of soaking wet clothing!!!!anyway I would never stay at this place again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelTasman169, Manager at Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Thanks for providing us with your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Staff accordingly has been notified about the issues mentioned and actions are being taken to ensure this never happens to any future guest staying at the Abel Tasman Hotel.

We would have been more than happy to room move you had a request been made during your stay. Also, we would have been glad to sort out many of these issues for you had we been notified at the time of your stay as well.

I can assure you our quality and standards are far greater than all of 3 to 4 star hotels you will find in Wellington. It is however very upsetting that your particular stay did not manage to exceed expectations to what we had to offer. We do apologize for this.

I do wish that on your next visit to the Coolest little capital, you will come back to us and let us show you our hospitality.


Kind regards,

Asif Chowdhry
Rooms Divison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very comfortable. Room recently updated. Not noisy on the 4th floor. Everything very clean. The biggest problem was the staff could not make a decent recommendation for restaurants. We found out later that we were within blocks of lots of options but none were recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Willis are very sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelTasman169, Manager at Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Thanks for providing us with your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay. The staff member has been notified about the issues mentioned and we will ensure this never happens to any future guest staying at the Abel Tasman Hotel. Also the staff member was new and in training. We will ensure that the feedback does get actioned.

I do wish that on your next visit to the Coolest little capital, you will come back to us and let us show you our hospitality.


Kind regards,

Asif Chowdhry
Rooms Divison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The reception is nice and the staff are professionally helpful, but the rooms are terrible. It's like staying in a cheap student dorm that hasn't had a refurb in 20 years.

The furniture is cheap, shoddy and doesn't match. The door still uses a key. Their full room rate is hilarious and the 'bargain' rate I got wasn't a great bargain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at this place over the weekend for two nights - young family with a one year old baby. The place was very funny. We got a deal on Grab One for a superior room with cooked breakfast. The room was okay - standard hotel fare in the city really - definitely nothing superior about the room. The location is a little noisy - you are woken up by the yelps of the drunkards who are probably staying at the hostel style accommodation down the road. Portacot was there when we checked in which was nice to see. Whoever designed the hotel car park must have shares in the local panel beater companies - do not even try to reverse into the tiny spots unless you (a) have a tiny car and (b) have a partner who will kindly call you in and out of the walls waiting to scrape your car! The hotel restaurant is served by Basil Fawlty and Manwell. Takes several attempts to order (staff take some time figuring out their own ordering computer (maybe they've got a new system?)) have your table cleaned (maybe stack the left over plates on another table - no wait every spare table is stacked with dirty plates!). But when the cooked food does arrive (in batches - thankfully you can graze on the cold buffet whilst you wait) it's surprisingly quite nice. Location of the hotel is very central. But I'd personally choose another hotel if you are going for this price range - plenty of other better options.

Room Tip: Take some ear plugs - think all the rooms are noisy sorry :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

stayed in a triple for one night around Beervana event. Centrally located close to everything you need downtown. room was a bit dated and only heat was from a mobile column heater (which was fine). beds were comfortable but some street noise was apparent (we were on 3rd floor and faced Willis st). reception staff extremely nice and eager to assist. worked for what we needed - cheap accomodation for 5 hours of sleep after pub crawl. wouldn't stay here if i was travelling with my wife (we've typically stayed at James Cook or Novatel - both good).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The black, white and red colour scheme of rooms is very sophisticated. Good mirrors and storage. Beautifully dressed and comfortable bed. Attentive reception staff.
On the down side, restaurant/bar closing at 9pm is ridiculous. Unfortunately walls are paper thin ... could hear every cough through walls and conversation in corridors.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abel Tasman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abel Tasman Hotel

Address: 169 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand (Formerly Leisure Inns Abel Tasman)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abel Tasman Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abel Tasman Hotel is perfectly positioned in the heart of Wellingtons, cultural, business and entertainment districts. 73 Spacious guest rooms. Newly refurbished conference facilities are on site and offer a balance between style and practicability. All with Natural light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Abel Tasman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abel Tasman Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abel Tasman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.