We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, warm, basic - does the job” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Setup on Dixon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Setup on Dixon to your Saves list
The Setup on Dixon
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Level 3/15, Dixon Street | Te Aro, Wellington, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quiet, warm, basic - does the job”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I decided to stay here based solely on the price - at $50/night for a private room in the city I didn't think I could go wrong, there was also a conference on so hotel prices were at a premium.

To echo previous reviews, the building is a bit of a rabbit warren, but it is clearly signposted and easy to get around.

My room consisted of a 27" lcd TV with freeview, writing desk, free standing cupboard to store/hang clothes and a remarkably comfortably king single bed.
The bedding was cheap polyester, you get what you pay for here.
There was also small bar fridge (that hummed the night away), kettle and selection of tea, instant coffee and plunger coffee.

I attempted an early check in at 1300, which was declined - but I could store my bag and explore the surrounding area.

Although you can't hear any noise from the road level, depending on your neighbours you can hear knocking and heavy footsteps, ear plugs may be useful - despite this I still managed a 8 hour sleep.

Bathrooms are basic, but clean. With 5 showers on timers (7 minuted) 5 toilets and four sinks.

I did some dishes in the kitchen in the morning, it was as clean as could be expected from after the breakfast rush.

If I stay here again, I think I would go for a room with an ensure (only $20 more!).

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your stay at the Setup Accommodation. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. And I look forward to welcoming you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    53
    32
    15
    9
See reviews for
11
29
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

It has been the first time we have tried a hostel. Therefore it was actually good for what we have paid for. Unlike other rooms in the hostel we had a window to the street, bathroom next door and the hot spots of the city on the doorstep. The room (only for 2, no shared room) was clean and spacious, had a kettle with tea and coffee, a spacious bed and a desk and chair.

Instructions for after hour arrival were clear beforehand, the shared bathroom was clean as well and everything was in good condition. You even had enough power sockets and the TV was working well unlike some good hotels who always seem to struggle with these two things. WiFi login and speed was very good throughout the stay.

On the other hand, the rooms were not sound proof (you need to be lucky to have a quiet neighbour) and on weekends drunk and loud people are on the street as you live directly in the main area to go for a drink. I am actually glad that there are cameras everywhere around, because once the main door is open, everyone could go to the lift and access the hostel level. The lift was not working a few times. If you come with a lot of stuff, you won't be happy to go up and down 3 floors. But there was also construction work on floor 1 and 2. Maybe the elevator problem is linked to that.

We haven't used (but saw) the laundry or other communal areas, but they looked clean.
The reception staff seems not really professional, but at least helpful. And they don't charge you credit card fees or anything like that.

Even though there are currently some issues, the price and value relation is surprisingly good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
I very appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Setup Accommodation. Sorry for the noise around and we are still working on the sound proof issues for all our rooms. As to the security, the main door will shut dowm after 6 pm every day and on one can enter the building unless he has a swipe card. Anyway, Once again thank you and look forward to welcoming you back at the Setup Accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luneburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Cheap clean but modern accomodation all you need for a couple days. Booked it online for 80 dollars for the night. A bit labyrinth way to the reception and room. Reception was unattended and no information for how long so waited 10 minutes! Friendly staff and quick check in. Got the room as booked and we didn't find anything to complaint about.
Will return if If we want a central location in a budget!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your time to give us this great review.We are pleased that you enjoy the staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back at the Setup on Dixon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Interesting hostel for short and long term stay located on the third floor of a building. Great price compared to other accommodation around. I booked a double ensuite room, the room was a great size with nice modern bathroom, fridge, kettle with tea and coffee making facilities, tv, table and chair. Staff were friendly. On the downside was the noise! The elevator was broken for the first couple of days so had to use the shabby stair case. When the elevator got going again it made a horrible high pitched noise, which was disturbing as my room was located near it! The rooms are not sound proof. Luckily I had quiet neighbours but I could hear them put in a plug, watch tv, snore, talk, and even brush their teeth. The noise from the street though was really awful. It started about 10pm and went on all night. It kept me awake for hours, then woke me up during the night several times. One night, music and banging was going on directly above me too. Because of the noise, I could not recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed that you did not find your stay enjoyable because of the noise. The elevators are now functioning well and we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birsfelden, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Nice hostel with new facilities.
Pro
Nice middel sized rooms
Coffee and tea maker in the room
Good for laundry
Many new bathrooms available
Friendly stuff
Good location

Negative
Hard bed
Little sound isolation

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your review and favourable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The building in which this place is situated has been completely revamped over the last year so the rooms are brand new. I booked here at an amazing 50 NZD a night for a single room which shared bathroom, new TV, and free tea and coffee. Given that many hostels in the area will charge you nearly 40NZD for a 4 bed dorm room this place represents great value.

Dixon Street is effectively on the main road so you are close to all the action including Te Papa museum, bars and restaurants and 2 supermarkets within walking distance as well as a couple of cinemas. You are also close enough to the Mount Victoria lookout - which takes about an hour to walk up and Lambton Quay is also walkable for the cable car and botanical gardens access.

Very hard to fault this place for such a cheap rate.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thanks for so much for your review! We are delighted that you found our location to be so convenient and our price to be so reasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
198 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I'm guessing this place is quite new as it doesn't appear on any review site so we took a leap of faith staying here but initial impressions were good as it was super clean. Location is good for bars, restaurants and the Te Papa museum though it is quite a long walk from the train station (which is also where the buses arrive, the Interislander Ferry shuttle bus goes from, and the Bluebridge terminal is next to). That said my impression of Wellington was that there was more going on away from the station anyway so I'm not sure you'd want to stay out there. Outside can get a little boisterous on a weekend as you are one block away from Courtenay Place which is really lively but not a lot of noise gets in the room.
We had a double room with ensuite and it was easily the cheapest we've found for this type of room anywhere in New Zealand so far. It also had a fridge and cable TV.
There is a launderette on site and reception will sell you powder, though if reception is open it will be a miracle as there is only someone there a few hours a day Mon to Fri. This was the only problem we had - our WiFi access stopped working on the second day but as it was a Saturday it meant we couldn't do anything about it. There are details of someone you can contact for an emergency but WiFi is an annoyance rather than emergency so we just left it but it was a hassle.
There is a kitchen on site but note - cooking utensils are not provided so unless you are a long term traveller who is carrying their own saucepans you won't be able to use it. There is a kettle in your room so you can always make noodles...!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Cleanliness is very important for people who is look for in accommodation so we are delighted that we achieved this. As to the service time of our reception, our manager is still working on that. Hopefully, we will have someone in the reception in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Setup on Dixon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setup on Dixon

Address: Level 3/15, Dixon Street | Te Aro, Wellington, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Setup on Dixon 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Wellington, The Setup Accommodation offers guests free Wi-Fi. It is less than 5 minutes' walk from a variety of restaurants, cafes and shops. All heated rooms include comfortable linen, an electric kettle and a private or shared bathroom. Some rooms have a radio, a refrigerator and a desk. Most have a flat-screen TV and lovely city views. The Setup Accommodation Wellington is a 5-minute walk from Te Papa Museum and a 5-minute drive from Massey University. Wellington International Airport is a 15-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your The Setup on Dixon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Setup on Dixon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.