We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not one complaint !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bolton Hotel Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bolton Hotel Wellington to your Saves list
Bolton Hotel Wellington
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
New South Wales
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Not one complaint !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Every thing about this hotel was first rate. They let us check in several hours early since we did not mind not having a view. I was quite happy with the view we did have.
We were even sent up a tray of complimentary nibbles. They responded quickly as well when we had trouble figuring out the washing machine.
I would have no problem recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a 6th floor room and had no noise what so ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and many favourable comments. I was delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and services.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    256
    70
    18
    6
See reviews for
118
404
47
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yallingup, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We just spent two nights in a 2 bedroom apartment and I must say we were delighted with everything from the welcoming staff who assisted us with our baggage on arrival to the attentive wait staff in the restaurant. The rooms were spotless and roomy enough for the four of us. We really appreciated the use of he complimentary ipads and free WiFi. I would highly recommend the Bolton Hotel and if I come back to Wellington it will be my first choice of accommodation. Thankyou to everyone at the Bolton for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and many favourable comments. I was pleased you enjoyed your room, our staff, services and facilities. We have had free Wi-Fi in our hotel for a couple of years, iPads in all rooms, with a custom app, is a recent addition and we believe a first for NZ.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just spent 8 nights at the Bolton and, weather excluded, thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a premier suite, which is so worth the extra cost as you are provided with a kitchenette (adequate for breakfast and coffee, but that's all we wanted), there is a lounge and dining area and views towards the park. We were on the 6th floor and barely noticed the 5.1 rated earthquake our second night - apparently it sways a little more on the top floors, but it is well built and protected in a similar way to the parliament building, so we felt very secure.
The hotel is very well positioned for the business areas and only a short walk to the shopping and tourist areas. The weather was a bit of a let down, but that was not the reason for our trip.
The staff at the hotel were welcoming, friendly and efficient, irrespective of how many times you dropped off the car in a day! I would recommend the Bolton without hesitation and will certainly return on a future visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments. I was pleased you enjoyed your room, facilities, and our staff and services. The Bolton Hotel is a very safe building, it has a Category A+ grade (exceeds 100%) of the New Building Standard for seismic design.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night, and what a wonderful hotel. Excellent staff, service, and a real pleasure to stay here. Everything was clean, good attention to detail and a real bargin. We got a deal which included a antipasti platter, late checkout and breakfast. They even had mini ipads in the rooms which was great. We had also asked for a earlier check in, which was no problem. All in all, a great place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments. I was pleased you enjoyed our rooms, staff and services.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Bolton this weekend. The staff were pleasant and attentive, the hotel room clean, spacious and quiet and the restaurant food was excellent. Great location - one block over from Lambton Quay (off The Terrace). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments. I was delighted you enjoyed our rooms, services and friendly staff. I was pleased to note you also enjoyed our Artisan Restaurant.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just writing this from the iPad mini in my classic suite room. Awesome. Have had such a lovely relaxing overnight stay. Very comfortable and has everything you need. Even a face mask and mineral salts if needed. The food in the Artisan restaurant was superb and cooked to perfection. The service in the restaurant and front desk has been fantastic too. Very friendly. Enjoyed the pool area. Very peaceful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was pleased you enjoyed our facilities and services, in particular our iPads. We added iPads to all our rooms in July, in addition to free internet services our iPads have a custom app for guest services. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Spent 5 lovely nights at the Bolton in luxury!! Although we were out most of the daytimes it was so nice to comeback and disappear in the lovely beds and have a good nights sleep. It was also great to use their facilities like the sauna and spa!! The people behind the desks were so friendly and always greeted you with a smile even at 4.30am! :) (off to the airport) and nothing was a problem, even getting the car out of the stacker 3 times in a day!! Looking forward to going back and visiting again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, I was pleased you enjoyed your stay and our staff. We look forward to having you back to stay with us.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the only Qualmark five star rated luxury boutique hotel in Wellington, New Zealand. With contemporary-styled guest rooms and suites, a fully equipped gym, heated swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and in-house restaurant, the award winning Bolton Hotel experience is like no other. A refurbishment is currently under way in the hotel lobby. This is an exciting time for the Bolton Hotel as once it is completed the reception area will be totally updated with a new look and feel. The area will be enhanced with the introduction of some great features and have an entirely new fit out. We appreciate that the refurbishment work will at times effect certain areas of the lobby. We apologise for any impact that his may have during your time at the hotel, the project is being carefully managed to ensure any disruption is kept to a minimum. The bulk of the work will be underway from the 12th of January and is scheduled to be completed in very early February 2015. Thank for your understanding during the refurbishment phase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolton Hotel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.