We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful modern hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bolton Hotel Wellington

Save Saved
You added Bolton Hotel Wellington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Special
Ranked #2 of 50 hotels in Wellington
Nova Scotia, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful modern hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here for a short layover heading from the North island to the South the next morning. It was priced competitively for the area, although we did find the price slightly higher here. The valet parking was a nice touch.
We were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite, beautiful room. Comfy bed. Very clean. All wine and food was clearly labeled with prices.
The bathtub "door"-the glass piece along 1/4 of the tub-was useless and with a shower did nothing to stop the water from making a huge mess in the bathroom-logic?
Front reception were very helpful with giving us eating suggestions (try Chow.....Best meal in a long time!) and places to visit for our few hours in the evening.
Free unlimited wifi.
Nice place, not much to look at out your window, but really who cares?
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    446
    234
    64
    16
    6
See reviews for
108
381
46
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in February in a Classic suite and were delighted with our accommodation. We had a very large lounge/diner with a fully fitted kitchen with coffee, tea and milk provided. The kitchen equipment included a small dishwasher and full laundry facilities with soap powder provided. The bedroom was of a good size and very comfortable and the bathroom was also very spacious. Even better full breakfast was included. The hotel is modern and the general decor very pleasing.

The hotel is very centrally located and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. My only criticism would be that the car parking is rather expensive, but does include valet parking. All in all an ideal place to stay when in Wellington.

Room Tip: The classic suites are excellent and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. In particular I appreciated your comments on our staff, which are our best asset.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit to Wellington and my second stay here. Whilst the rooms are great what made the Bolton stand out is that the service was impeccable. If I have one fault it is that the café struggles to meet the morning demand for a take away coffee.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a pleasant, upscale boutique hotel located in the hear of Wellington. We stayed overnight here on our way to the Marlborough Sounds area / Picton.

Pros:
- Excellent location.
- Clean and modern facilities / rooms.
- Friendly, helpful staff.
- Good recommendations for local restaurants.

Cons:
- The queen bed room we stayed in was tiny / cramped.
- Like too many other hotels, they need to clean the exhaust fan cover in the bathroom ;-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very good hotel - got the tip from trip advisor
Realitively new building,
Car access a bit trickly and needs some patience
Otherwise, everything about the hotel was ideal.
Restaurant was good - menu OK, service good
I used the pool for a short time - facilities good.
We used two different types of rooms - a one bedroom at the beginning of the trip and a sudio at the end - both ideal
We used the hotel for our rest days during our holiday tour between islands

Room Tip: Choose a room at the end of the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is really in a great location to the City Centre, you can walk anywhere you want to go in a few minutes.
We had a premier suite, which gave us a huge bedroom, bath room with separate bath and walk in shower. A separate lounge with a well equipped kitchen area that included a washing machine.oven , microwave and dishwasher.
Little touches like fresh milk daily are welcome.
Staff are great and are more than willing to give you advice on where to go.
Like most hotels the mini bar is a little expensive, we stocked our fridge with wine from the local supermarket and used the kitchen for breakfast.
We liked it so much we stayed a extra night .

Room Tip: We upgraded to a premier room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and many favourable comments, very much appreciated. In particular appreciated your comments on our staff and the little touches which make a difference.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had an extremely happy stay at this centrally located hotel. The staff were truly excellent and were very helpful and quick. The rooms are great and all the facilities worked well without any of the dramas one sometimes gets. All in all a very happy stay.

Room Tip: Higher rooms probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. In particular I appreciated your comments on our staff.
Warwick Angus - managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the only Qualmark five star rated luxury boutique hotel in Wellington, New Zealand. With contemporary-styled guest rooms and suites, a fully equipped gym, heated swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and in-house restaurant, the award winning Bolton Hotel experience is like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolton Hotel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.