We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice as expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bolton Hotel Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bolton Hotel Wellington to your Saves list
Bolton Hotel Wellington
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice as expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is a good hotel and I had a pleasant stay.

I was greeted by friendly staff at reception. My room was spacious enough, as it had kitchen facilities, so probably a bit more area than a standard room - probably as I was a work traveller on this instance. It had a nice queen or king bed coupled with nice fittings.

If you are wanting close-by evening excitement, then this is not walking distance to Courtenay Place. Nested in the CBD and very close to government buildings and parliament, this area was mainly built up during the early 1970's, so the area can lack some character.

Its a sad indictment of Wellington hotels if this is "one or thee best in the captial". It met all expectations of what a 4 star hotel should provide.

Free wifi was a nice surprise for kiwi hotels.

As most people have raved on before me - Very Good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    256
    70
    18
    6
See reviews for
118
404
47
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I have stayed in Wellington countless times and my husband and I are actually a little disappointed that it has taken us so long to stay here! Bolton is by far the best hotel that we've stayed in in Wellington... maybe even New Zealand! The staff were lovely and attentive and the room had a great view of Wellington. I would recommend that everyone try the new Thai restaurant that has opened on the Terrace. Oh and the hike up the street to the Botanical Gardens was a killer but definitely burnt off my dinner and was SO worth it :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Stayed here twice in the last year on business, most recenty in January. This hotel has very modern rooms with all you could ask for, even some kitchen facilities. Decor is modern but still warm. Comfortable beds and quality TV and other mod cons. Bathrooms are modern and very clean. I had break fast here once but they were renovating and so space and service was limited, but it looked like the renovation will soon be finished if not already. Reception area is small but staff are efficient and helpful. The Lobby has a small coffee shop (also with free wifi) that does very good coffee and some cakes. Wifi is available in the rooms but the signal seemed a bit weak. In terms of location it is in a quieter street but an easy walk to the main shopping and business area and about 10 mins walk to the harbourside. Lots of cafes nearby if you don't want to eat at the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed in a Premier Suite. Apartment style with full kitchen and seperate bedroom. Very clean and well looked after. Kitchen was spotless (although we didn't cook), we used the washer/dryer and this worked well (detergent provided). Nice bath with seperate shower and lots of good quality bath products (replenished daily). Comfortable bed, 2 x TV's. Rooms are nice, but corridors are a bit depressing in brown hues and low lighting. Restaurant was being refurbished during our stay, so breakfast was in an smaller anti-room. Breakfast service was excellent and staff were really polite and helpful. Full breakfast is a bit pricey, but the standard is excellent. Staff were very polite. Taxis are readily available from the hotel and offer an excellent service.
Arrived on a holiday so the CBD was like a ghost-town, but during normal weekdays there are restaurants close by (although they tend to close early as they are geared to office workers).
Finding the lifts down to the main shopping street can be a challenge (the one in the Novotel, at the back of the restaurant, is probably the most convenient although it requires a Novotel key to access after normal shopping hours). Otherwise probably best to walk around in front of the parliament building.
Wellington is a charming city, well worth a visit with a nice shopping centre and some of the most freindly people I have ever encountered.

Room Tip: Premier suite is well worth the small upgrade in cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Very good - fantastic room, very helpful and responsive service. Central location but perhaps more at the 'business' than 'tourist' part of town, many of the other hotels are closer to bars, restaurants etc but I guess thats only an issue if you need something closer to the action.

Only bad thing I can find to say is that I wasn't a big fan of the breakfast - not bad, just not to my taste!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Got the Presidential Suite.

Pros:

- Great location
- Amazing views
- Impeccable service
- Complimentary internet access
- Excellent beds
- The suite was stunning

Contras:

- Quite disappointing breakfast, food choice was very limited and not cheap.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Had a two-bedroom suite for six nights around the Wellington sevens time at the start of February. Really do not think it is a five-star but probably a reasonable four-star property. Reception and consumers staff were really good and the location was ideal for access to shopping, restaurants and the waterfront and the Westpac Stadium (15 min walk). Suite was a little on the smallish side but adequate with two bedrooms with king-size beds (one room has an ensuite and there was a spare bathroom and toilet for use by the other bedroom). Cleaning staff were good and efficient and we really could not complain about anything.
A good nights sleep with no real noise problems except for a size 5 earthquake at six o'clock one morning. At this stage, I don't think the Bolton can guarantee against earthquakes.
good coffee at the little coffee shop near reception. Tried the restaurant on our first night after arriving late from a flight from Australia-reviewed separately. It is only new needs a little bit of time to settle down before we would consider trying it again. Probably the only thing that let the hotel down a little bit

Would stay there again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the only Qualmark five star rated luxury boutique hotel in Wellington, New Zealand. With contemporary-styled guest rooms and suites, a fully equipped gym, heated swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and in-house restaurant, the award winning Bolton Hotel experience is like no other. A refurbishment is currently under way in the hotel lobby. This is an exciting time for the Bolton Hotel as once it is completed the reception area will be totally updated with a new look and feel. The area will be enhanced with the introduction of some great features and have an entirely new fit out. We appreciate that the refurbishment work will at times effect certain areas of the lobby. We apologise for any impact that his may have during your time at the hotel, the project is being carefully managed to ensure any disruption is kept to a minimum. The bulk of the work will be underway from the 12th of January and is scheduled to be completed in very early February 2015. Thank for your understanding during the refurbishment phase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolton Hotel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.