We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait for entrees but worth it in the end” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charley Noble Eatery & Bar

Charley Noble Eatery & Bar
Grand Floor Huddart Parker Building | 1 Post Office Square, Wellington, New Zealand
+64 508 242 753
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 656 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Charley Noble - a smart, casual eatery & bar, showcasing wood-fired cooking, local ingredients, natural wine and craft beers is open for both lunch and dinner. Situated in the ground floor of the recently refurbished and earthquake strengthened Huddart Parker building in Post Office Square, Charley Noble will feature a Zesti wood fired char grill and rotisserie. Diners can experience this first hand as the eatery has an open to view kitchen where people can see their food being prepared from their dining table. Charley Noble showcases the best in locally sourced, healthy, organic and sustainable food. The menu has something for everyone but of special note is the seafood bar which has a choice of freshly shucked Oysters and Crudo of kingfish, tuna & salmon. And that's just for starters!For the meat lovers the wood fired grill & rotisserie offers up organic cuts of aged, pasture fed and grain fed beef. There's also a full range of other options including chicken, pork ribs, and crayfish all cooked on the wood fired grill & rotisserie.While it is a seafood and meat heaven, there's also plenty for vegetarians as well as a wide selection of salads, pasta and lighter meals. There's also a bar menu where one can watch the food experience while sipping on a craft beer or organic wine and sampling small delicious plates. Charley Noble Eatery and Bar, Post Office Square, Wellington. Walk in for lunch and dinner from 11:30am Monday - Friday and 5:30 Saturday.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Long wait for entrees but worth it in the end”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This restaurant would have received a score of excellent but for the fact that between ordering entrees and receiving them, we waited over an hour. There was another wait of about 45minutes between entree and main but only 15 minutes for dessert. Food was all faultless. One complaint with service was that several times we had to request another drink. At a good establishment I would think that when an empty glass is taken away, you would ask if another drink was wanted. We were a table of 7 on a Tuesday night arriving at 6pm and it was busy then and by 7pm, packed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    44
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

First time to Charley Noble's and loved it. We had a great meal overlooking the kitchen. It was really interesting seeing a working kitchen in action. The food was terrific. My steak cooked exactly to the medium rare that I enjoy, my partner had a perfectly cooked rare steak. Loved the presentation of the sauces in the little jugs - great flavours as well.

Service was also very good attentive and friendly without being over the top.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We dined here on a Friday night. Was a wait for table, but we were happy to wait and the bar staff looked after us well. Was evident it was a pretty popular place!
Lots of choices on the menu, with helpful recommendations from waiter, excellent service. Great to see a separate gluten free menu and when our friends asked about the gluten free bread they loved, the waiter wrote down the name and details of the local bakery it came from. Cheese board at the end of the meal was delicious.
Great place, we'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good meal in lovely old building. Nice atmosphere. Smiley staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is a delightful eatery, only a few steps from business area and the sea front. Mixture of vacationers and business people from around the world.

Staff were friendly and smiley and happy to chat with customers. Food was delicious and reasonably priced given its 'downtown' location. No problem getting a table for two on a busy Monday evening.

Located in a traditional stone building with lots of natural light. Loved it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I have been to Charley Noble twice now and both times we have had great food and outstanding service. Staff have been knowledgeable about both food and wine options. They have a separate gluten free menu which makes my selection so much easier and avoids the fuss of asking staff if dishes are GF. We look forward to returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charley Noble Eatery & Bar also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Charley Noble Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charley Noble Eatery & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.