We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish and Chips in New Zealand” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mt Vic Chippery

The Mt Vic Chippery
5 Majoribanks Street | Mount Victoria, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
4 3828713
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #178 of 656 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
Restaurant details
eastbourne, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips in New Zealand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We were very lucky to find this place which is frequented by locals who know the area. We went there twice and each time enjoyed a different type of fish. We had never heard of some of the fish on offer but everything we tried was excellent. Their concept is simple, fresh food at a good price. There are various ways of having the fish cooked, including grilling which we chose. There is a choice of about 5 different fish and 5 different chips plus extras such as coleslaw, salad, and various sauces. If you want simple, good, honest food, then we would certainly recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“The best fish and chips..... EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

First off, I am English, and hate English fish and chips...... BUT, this place is AWESOME! You get to choose your fish (fresh caught EVERY day) and your choice of cooking style; grilled, battered, Panko breadcrumbs etc. on our 3 day stay in Wellington, we ate there twice, and also when we got off the ferry from south land, on the way back to our drive up the north island.

We had warehou,(Panko crumbed) gurnard and snapper grilled, also agria chips and slaw. They were all absolutely fantastic. Very, very few places do grilled fish like this place did. Have travelled quite a bit and we can only really think of 1 or 2 places that are similar (Anthony's fish grotto in San Diego is one of them).

They are all a young bunch of guys and gals really trying to provide excellent fresh fish (and other stuff too) with excellent service and they achieve these in spades.

The place is very clean, decor is modern, and exudes hip without the hype.

Please consider eating here, they deserve all the success possible :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Place was packed - need I say more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I ate there at 2030 after an all day drive. We had the snapper. It was some of the best fish & chips we've ever had. The staff was friendly. We had to wait 25 min. for our meal (the staff let us know prior to ordering.) I'm no expert on Fish & Chips. Not generally a fan of fish, but this meal was great - better than the time I tried it in London.

The restaurant is mostly what they call a "Take Away". There is no restaurant style seating but they do have a counter with plastic bar stools.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I had one good experience but the rest have been average. Online ordering system is poor, you order online toake sure you don't have to wait instore. Each time ive waited for at least 15-20mins after they said it would be ready. Food is average, last time it was.cold & we only walked 2mins up the road. When I made comment about the wait they didn't even make an atempt to say sorry. A shame as it is a cool idea. But lots of work to be done.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely disappointing.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Out of four visits, one (the first) was amazing and the next three appalling. I will not give them a fifth chance. They are expensive so I was extremely disappointed to get the tiniest pieces of fish for my money. About a third of the size of fillets elsewhere but at half as much again. The first visit the fillet was delicious but the next three overcooked and very dry. Extremely greasy too. The last visit the crinkle cut chips were undercooked and inedible. I walked out leaving most of my meal there. The guy who cooked the food did comment that he realised the fillet was tiny and could cook me another one if I wanted. Why would you even ask? Surely you should just cook it in the first place if you doubted the size as appropriate to be served as a fillet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mt Vic Chippery also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The Mt Vic Chippery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mt Vic Chippery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.