We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great margaritas, food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tequila Joe's

Tequila Joe's
43 Vivian Street, Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
+64 4-802 5637
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #173 of 656 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Tequila Joe's Mexican Food and Cocktail Bar. A Great place to see and be seen in Te Aro, the Capital City's Entertainment District. Tequila Joe's is all about fun - not your average dining experience. A great place to gather with friends for hours over cocktail jugs, platters, and mains. Hit the Town for a Dance just 1 block away afterwards. Our food is Mexican-American Classics, modernly presented using fresh ingredients - and full of flavour. No need for salt, pepper, or dozens of hot sauces. It's ready to go! The food is authentic, with no substitute ingredients used. If you miss the Mexican that you had in America, look no further. We also over BYO Wine on Sat/Sun for dinner guests only. Probably the best deal in town for throwing a Function! Whether it's a Birthday, 21st, Stag Do, Hen's Party, Engagement Party, Corporate Cocktail Function, or Leaving Party. Our Sound System Cranks, our lights can go way down, and the smoking area out front is very convenient. Keep on Rockin' in the Free World.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great margaritas, food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Felt like mexican so searched mexican restaurants in Wellington. This one rated best so got phone out to show directions and walked there from Lambton Quay. Got there about 6.30 pm - place was humming. Amazing margaritas on the rocks in jars - had two each. Strawberry margarita not as good as the other ones, not as stron. We were all pleased with our burritos. Didn't have starters so not a big meal, but more than enough. Enjoyed the drinks, food, atmosphere and the interaction you get from the owner/staff. Will definitely go again when next in Wellington. Looking forward to another margarita, may try them myself!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wairarapa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and drink...fantastic value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I went to Tequila Joe's last Friday (July 12 2013). The restaurant was busy but we were seated at the bar immediately, the bar tender was really friendly and funny and the drinks were fantastic. One of the best margarita's I have had anywhere, including the US. The service was quick and really pleasant, the music is spot on, Bowie, the Eagles, and the were playing the oldie but goodie movie Cocktail with Mr Tom Cruise.

When we were seated (took about 25 minutes but with such good drinks on offer who cares how long it takes?? LOL) and the food came out quickly. OMG! The food was fabulous. We had the con queso with corn chips, buffalo wings medium hot, and Cowboy fries. The Cowboy fries were a revelation. The servings are generous, we couldn't finish all the fries. Just a fantastic night all around...we will be back very shortly. Very very good value as well, about $80 all up for 4 drinks and food.

Well done Tequila Joe's!! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic casual dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Last night my partner and I enjoyed a lovely meal at Tequila Joes. This restaurant is in Vivian Street so is off the main strip. The place is quite small and only has one toliet. While there is a reasonable amount of seating, I suspect that if you came with a large group at peak times then you may find it hard to find a table.

The food is amazing. We shared chilli con ?? fries to start with. These were lightly spiced fries with an amazing cheese and chilli sauce. We then had buffalo wings with a "medium" chilli sauce. For our mains we had chicken tacos. The food is not too spicy but is very flavoursome.

I was impressed with how affordable this place is. Our bill came to $78 which included two cockails and two soft drinks. My partner really enjoyed the $10 cocktails, very good value.

The service is very friendly and it is cool to be able to see the kitchen while you are dining.

I would recommend trying this place out for a guaranteed awesome affordable food experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“laid back lunch at tj's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very relaxed atmosphere with a great menu and music that you want to sing along to. Taco's and burritos amongst the offerings and some awesome entrees like the 'poppers' - stuffed jalapenos, crumbed, deep fried with a delicious cheesy centre. Next time I'm going to try the margarita's and buffalo wings maybe with a side of chili con queso!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food and drink- awesome vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Decided to give this a grow with a group of mates.
Great food, excellent service and a really great casual vibe.

Also had Pulp Fiction and Scarface playing- how good is that!

Music was great too!

Recommend the nachos :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tequila Joe's also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Tequila Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tequila Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.