We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great eating spot on welly waterfront” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crab Shack, Wellington, New Zealand

The Crab Shack, Wellington, New Zealand
Shed 5, Queens Whark | Queens Wharf, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
9164250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 648 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Napier
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great eating spot on welly waterfront”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Be prepared to wait as very popular. Don't worry though as staff offer u opportunity to have a drink 'next door' in adjacent bar. So have a wine while checking out menu before being seated or try the fine dining attached. Once dinner ordered was very quick to eat and great value. Love the jars!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, Wellington, New Zealand, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time in posting your feedback ‘Vic toria99z’. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. It’s certainly helpful to have a bar next door to pop our guests into for a glass of wine or the option to take advantage of our fine dining side if you prefer. Great to hear you found your meal great value as well. We are big fans of the jars too! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Crab Shack Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    110
    38
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Amazing food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went to the Crab Shack last night and had heard mixed reviews, I have to say that this would be one of the best dining experiences I have had in New Zealand, to start the decor was fabulous, the service was exceptional and then you got to the food which outstanding. We shared a platter and then 4 mains and every dish was to a very high standard and the flavours where fab, Geoff the chef even came to our table to speak to us to see how we were going a perfect finishing touch to a lovely evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, Wellington, New Zealand, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review Jenni G. We so love and appreciate hearing feedback like this it really motivates the team. We strive to deliver the best possible experience and it gives us a real thrill to hear you came in and enjoyed yourself thoroughly. Great to hear you enjoyed your interaction with our Head Chef Geoff Ngan as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Crab Shack Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Far better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We visited the Crab Shack prior to going to the Footy at the Stadium. We arrived around 5.00pm and the place was very quiet. The Chef came out and explained the best options for the night although we never took him up on his suggestions. We were a party of four and shared the a bucket of calamari popcorn for an entrée and we all had the sliders. A couple of hours later and a few jars of beer we headed off to the footy replete and a buzz about the quality of the food.
We are going back again in five days time before the next footy match.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, Wellington, New Zealand, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review ‘Beanb41’. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and that it exceeded your expectations. Our Chef loves a chat with our customers and glad you enjoyed his input, (although I’m with you on the Calamari popcorn, it is delicious). We look forward to seeing you again before the next footy match.

Kind regards,
The Crab Shack Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Bledisloe cup weekend 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Came over with the travelling Wallaby fans and enjoyed every second of Wellington. The last thing we did before racing off to the airport was lunch at the Crab Shack.
I had the grumpy lamb shank which was so tender i didn,t need a knife.Serving was also generous and washed down with a local wheat beer...yum.
My travelling buddy had the Paddle crab which she loved,though she was a little disappointed they had no Crayfish.The staff were friendly and service exceptional.They may have to advertise more though cause we had trouble finding them,as did two taxi drivers we asked.
Overall the perfect end to a great wellington weekend....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, Wellington, New Zealand, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review Steve F. We loved hearing your experience with us topped off your Wellington weekend. We always appreciate receiving feedback and it’s these kinds of comments that make our jobs worthwhile and keep striving to do what we do. The Lamb Shank is one of our favourite dishes also and the Paddle Crabs are immensely popular. We do often serve Crayfish in our sister restaurant next door Shed 5, which is intended as a point of difference.
We hadn’t heard our guests were having trouble finding us so thanks for letting us know we’ll get onto making sure the taxi company’s know where we are. Hope to see you on your next trip across the ditch.
Regards,
Management Team, The Crab Shack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Crap Shack”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We went to the waterfront expecting that all restaurants were going to be busy on a Bledisloe night, so understood that we would have to suffer some delays. We happily sat outside while waiting for our table to become free and have a glass, but this was where our good experience of The Crab Shack ended. We had earlier been informed that they were too busy for table service, so after waiting ten minutes one of our party went to the bar to order drinks and he was thus informed to wait at the table as service would be faster. A further 10 minutes ensued, during which we had not even been offered water, when we had to go up to the nearest staff member and let them know we were still waiting to order a drink. At this point our drink and meal order was taken. Unfortunately it was an age before either the water or the wine came, making us go to the bar to inquire again. Finally the drinks came, along with some starters which weren't bad, but nothing amazing. One point I was entirely disappointed with is that their chicken wings were not free range. I would have thought a place owned by one of NZ's top chefs would want to provide better quality produce, but if that's what they're happy providing their customers with it seems all about the margin.
Some people were happy with their mains (apart from those that couldn't cut their meat with the blunt knives as steak knives were forgotten), it might have been due to starvation, but when my fish burger came out half cooked and raw/cold in the middle it really just topped the whole experience off, particularly when the waitress told me the wait for a replacement was going to be as long as it needed to be as they had taken 500 covers and I just had to live with it. I think my facial expression told her what I thought about that, manage your covers better as taking 500 per night is clearly beyond the capabilities of your staff, kitchen and wait, and venue.
All I can say is if you like hopeless service, bad food and cheap chicken, go to The Crab Shack. If you have better taste, pick any of the hundreds of restaurants in Wellington that are far superior.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, Wellington, New Zealand, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review THE CRAB SHACK Gurusammyb. You have brought up a lot of valid points and we are disappointed to hear your experience with us was so lacking. Yes the Bledisloe night was extremely busy but we are disappointed that our standards fell well below those that we strive for and expect of ourselves. This was our first event of this magnitude since opening, we certainly noted that we were stretched beyond capacity and were not able to deliver the service and food standards that we aim for. Unfortunately we were unable to provide service at the bar as well as dispensing the drinks for the customers already seated at tables. Hence the confusion arose with the staff informing outside guests to order from the bar and then being told service was from the tables. For this we apologise and have streamlined our communication. We have also recently acquired some rather lovely steak knives so apologies these were not delivered with those meals which were appropriate. Going forward every steak order receives one.
We appreciate your thoughts regarding the free range chicken and we do strive to provide and source the best quality and freshest produce, however, as the chicken wings are offered as an inexpensive offering on our snack menu unfortunately it is not possible to use free range chicken for this dish and offer it at this price point to you.
We are humbly apologetic for sending you an undercooked fish burger and that we weren’t able to remedy a new one for you in time before you departed to see the game. We have taken your feedback on board and trust we are able to learn from this experience going forward, and take measures to improve what we do and prepare more thoroughly for this type of event in the future. We are always striving to improve our standards and do not wish our guests to experience any less than the great dining experience we know we are capable of delivering.

Regards,
Management Team, The Crab Shack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack, Wellington, New Zealand also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The Crab Shack, Wellington, New Zealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crab Shack, Wellington, New Zealand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.