We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, friendly service. and cider ;-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Breton, Wellington

Cafe Breton, Wellington
Brandon street, Wellington, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 631 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly service. and cider ;-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Been a few times, never a dud. The gallettes (savoury pancakes) are outstanding, but nothing I've tried has disappointed. And Breton cider served in coffee cups is an engaging quirk.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“An enjoyable lunch experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

After spotting a review of this cafe in the local Wellington paper, we decided to try it out for lunch. I had the soup special, which was a roast root vegetable bisque served with small slices of sourdough bread. It was very flavourful and served hot, which was perfect for combating the cold weather outside.

We were lucky enough to get the last available table and some patrons were turned away after us because there wasn't room for them, so I suggest either dining outside of the usual lunch hours or allowing time to leave and come back if they're full. The staff were very friendly and the food was served promptly.

I enquired about les religieuse (nun-shaped profiterole pastries) but they weren't on the menu that day so I'll return another day to try them. There are also a variety of crepes and other menu options which I look forward to trying, washed down with the best French drink - Orangina!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This one of my first choices for breakfast in the CBD. Great food and coffee but the traditional French choices are best. Not to be missed.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, California, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I had an omellete, and it was pretty good. A bit dry for my taste, and I had to pay extra for tomato, but good. She had a croque madame and it was excellent. However, both of our entrees came with salads that were weedy and pitiful with only a bland dressing. I would have rated my whole meal higher if it hadn't been on the plate. It was really terrible and neither of us had more than one bite.

Both also came with a couple slices of baguette, but they were small and chewy and not good either. Which is odd for a French place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“An enjoyable breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Went here for breakfast during the week, quite a small place so seating was limited however the service was great and the food was lovely. My friend and I both had the kiwi breakfast and were impressed with the portion size. Would definately go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Breton, Wellington also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Cafe Breton, Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Breton, Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.