We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porterhouse Blues Restaurant & Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Porterhouse Blues Restaurant & Bar
7a King Street, Wellington, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #188 of 648 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
NZ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have been to this restaurant five or six times and have found the meals and service to be consistently good. I like the fact that I can order a smaller meal from the blackboard.
I have always gone on a week night and it is not too busy. I do hear that Friday to Sunday is busier.
This restaurant is well worth a visit especially if you live in Upper Hutt. They now have a Loyalty Card which I will be using.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Early Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Went in early was given a table and had a drink first as they were not quite open for meals yet,
the meals are a good size and were cook well. The staff were great and helpful.
in was a nice evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice meals, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We tried here for the first time, and nearly didn't go in because of it does not have great street appeal - It used to be the RSA, and the lobby smells of cigarette smoke. Once inside however, it is airy and spacious, with a nice wood burner couches to relax on, and a good atmosphere. Despite it being a Friday night, it was not crowded. Steaks are the mainstay of the menu, and they have an extensive specials board. I ordered the 'reef and beef' - a 250 gram porthouse steak, scallops, and prawns, my wife ordered the 'Boston Blues' which was a 250 gram eye fillet wrapped in bacon and mushrooms. Both meals were large portions and nicely prepared, and flavoursome. The only negative was in the steak cooking - I asked for med/rare and my wife for medium, and each of ours were cooked the other way around. Not a biggy, but would have been if we had preferred opposite ends of the raw to burnt spectrum!
The staff were attentive and friendly, and I felt it was a family restaurant being run by a family.
Bottom line, we enjoyed our meals, and we will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have stopped here 3 times now to have dinner on our way back to the Wairarapa. Each time we were not disapointed, there is a huge variety of meals, which are also huge in size! Very friendly staff, great childrens meal also. We used our Entertainment Book voucher so got a main for free which was a bonus. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“"Great addition to local scene...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Went here on a recommendation of my brother-in-law as he knew the owners. Great night out with excellent menu options. Beware of the size of the meal sizes, they are large! I decided having seen the size of them just to opt for a main meal and then decide on dessert later, this proved a good idea as that was all I had or needed! I left very full. My wife and others had an entree plus a main but they all had to get doggie bags to take home for later enjoyment! No one made it to dessert. Well worth going too, and will recommend to others as well. Great night out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porterhouse Blues Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Porterhouse Blues Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porterhouse Blues Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.