We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in Zealandia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rata

Rata
Waiapu Road | Karori, Wellington, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #262 of 652 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food in Zealandia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Rata café is part of Zealandia, but can also be visited without visiting the Sanctuary (although we recommend doing so - it was a great experience). The café offer indoor or outdoor seating overlooking the sanctuary (including shelter from the elements if required). Great experience to see Kakas performing aerobatics overhead while sipping on a latte!
We found the menu to offer a good selection at a reasonable price, and included vegetarian/vegan and kids options.
The service was friendly and efficient, including making sure the kids were looked after :)
Food portions were good/generous and looked appetising. Most importantly they tasted delicious!
We shared some of each other's plates, and were especially impressed by the salad - yum!
Coffees and shared cakes, then off for walk.
Definitely recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New menu and sofas make all the difference!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This cafe is one of our locals and has always been a scenic and friendly spot for a coffee, as it forms part of the stunning Zealandia Sanctuary complex. Since introducing a new menu and comfortable sofas, it has become a favourite dining destination for us too and a place that we would readily recommend to locals and visitors to Wellington.

The new menu is creative and caters well to all with vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free options that are well worth ordering. Try the vegan creamy mushrooms and leeks with fried bread! We find it great value too.

It is also one of the easiest places to go with children in central Wellington, with toys, activities, high chairs, kids menu, good toilet and nappy change facilities and helpful staff. They also run story time sessions from time-to-time too, which are a hit.

Even if you aren't visiting the Sanctuary, you can still go to the cafe...and there is great parking right at the entrance or take a short bus trip from the middle of the city, then a gentle, 5 minute walk, or a flat 20 minute walk from the top of the Cable Car.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great café food - Great with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The menu offers slightly more upmarket variations on your typical Wellington café offering at reasonable prices. We did find that the portions were on the small side though, especially as we were ravenous after walking through the sanctuary for nearly 3 hours. My husband had the homemade bangers & mash and it was lovely. The sausages were really yummy. I had the warm beetroot salad with haloumi. It was very good but I thought the portion of haloumi was very stingy.

They have 6 or 7 choices on the kids' menu, which is a lot more than your average café. They also have a playpen with a few toys, which again is great. Our kids' meals came first, so that's another plus.

Definitely recommend this café.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A pleasant spot for coffee or a meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We didn't know Rata existed, though we knew of the bird sanctuary complex it is part of. There was plenty of parking at the end of the cul de sac where Rata is located. The cafe is on the first floor - stairs or an elevator - so has views over the native bush from the large deck that accommodates quite a few tables. Plastic curtains are dropped when the weather is inclement. There is a good variety of dishes offered on a menu or under the counter, with fresh salads and breads. The wine list is small but well priced. We were pleased to discover that Rata is environmentally conscious, with free range meats, locally-sourced vegetables, and organic coffee. Vegetarian, vegan and gluten free are catered for. Our burgers were large, and at $18.50 each, was a good meal for the price. A range of desserts under the counter meant we chose two and shared between the four of us. They were fresh and tasty. I would recommend Rata to bring out-of-town guests for a simple lunch, and then a stroll through the sanctuary.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rata also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Rata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.