We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place for a business breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ti Kouka

Ti Kouka
76 Willis Street, Wellington, New Zealand
(04) 4727682
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 656 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Ti Kouka cafe was started by brothers Jesse Simpson and Shepherd Elliott in November 2010. Jesse runs the front of house and makes the beautiful coffees and Shepherd runs the kitchen and makes the delicious food. We use local, sustainable and organic produce when ever possible. We use Flight's beautiful direct trade and organic coffee and Zorganic's milk and other dairy products. We also offer free range and organic eggs, chicken and juices. We believe that using the best ingredients gives our food and drinks an edge that you can taste. We also believe we have a responsibility to do what we can to make sure we can continue to have the standard of produce we enjoy now. We compost all our scraps, recycle everything we can and will continue to improve as we go. In November of 2013 we opened Leeds St Bakery to supply TK and many others around wellington with Beautiful organic artisan breads.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous place for a business breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I had been meaning to visit for a while and am annoyed that I had waited so long to visit.

This place is great the food is fabulous, staff charming and more morning breakfast menu is fabulous. My colleague had the pumpkin on toast and I enjoyed the polenta rhubarb porridge.

The decor hasn't necessarily changed in a long while but it is comfy, warm and the food is fabulous!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best hand cut chips in the world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The food here is divine. The hand cut chips are to die for. Service is fantastic and very friendly. Great menu with lunch items such as pulled pork roll, steak and caramelised onion rolls plus lots of more sophisticated food.
The secret to being a great eating place is consistency and Ti Kouka offers this great food every time .

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, central city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I love this place! Go upstairs, into the central area, greeted warmly, off to a great spot by the window. Then they give you the menu with a tantalising list of dishes. I chose the pork salad with pickled veges. It was just delicious and a generous serving. Don't, whatever you do, miss out on their chips. Great coffee and efficient friendly service. Magic!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Hard to find, easy to like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We popped upstairs for a coffee and something to eat whilst waiting for the shops to open - what a nice surprise. We were warmly welcomed, shown to a nice table by the window, and served an excellent flat white (so good I immediately ordered another). The toast and jam was really good too (they make their own jams). Top stuff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Never fails to impress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This place is a hidden gem. The food is tasty and the menu suits all from vegetarian to gluten free to hearty meat eaters. The portion sizes are generous and the prices are reasonable. The service is fast, friendly and polite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ti Kouka also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Ti Kouka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ti Kouka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.