We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ti Kouka

Ti Kouka
76 Willis Street, Wellington, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 635 restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
wellington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The food at Ti Kouka is refreshingly original and inspired. The atmosphere is friendly and the tables are well spaced. An additional bonus is the homebaked goods cabinet, the salted caramel cookies are particularly good along with their gluten free option.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    21
    17
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stumbled upon this wonderful little gem purely by chance, don't let the small door way and flight of stairs put you off, once upstairs, you are greeted with wonderful prompt service. We had a 10min wait for a table, but enjoyed a wine while we waited. The food was wonderful and varied, and service was very prompt. A lovely atmosphere, and a interesting place to enjoy good food. So very pleased we happened upon this little gem.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My new obsession - best cafe in Wellington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I know something is for real when I can't stop thinking about it, days, weeks later. Ti Kouka is wonderful. I love bringing people who haven't been before, because I am guaranteed that my raves will be echoed, and I'll forever be known for my great taste ;-) The food is so expertly selected, prepared and served...creative, original, mainly organic and local - can't ask for better than that. The main meals are splendid, but it's the 'treat' value that is obsession worthy. Number 1 - the chips. OH the chips - the most transcendent potato ever. Fluffy and light as a feather inside, crispy awesomeness on the outside. Number 2 - Gluten Free Salted Caramel Cookies. End of story.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of my favourite lunch spots”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I love meeting up with friends for lunch here. Its always great service and food.
Just tried the pork burger which won the Wellington on a plate burger. Amazing. They've been so busy since they won. Reservations essential.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I really should try to eat here more often. The food is cafe fare, not fine dining, and you have to make your way up some dark stairs. But once you're there, things are fantastic (try to get a table overlooking the street to watch the passers-by, especially on a Saturday).

The free-range Longbush pork dishes are uniformly tasty and tender, and their pulled pork always tastes wonderful, tasty and succulent. My partner's bacon looked equally nice - it must have been, because I didn't even get a taste. The sides shouldn't be overlooked; we're very pleased we tried the haricot beans and the black pudding. We ignored feelings of fullness to share a caramel macadamia cheesecake from the cabinet display for dessert, and it was just divine.

Ti Kouka caters extremely well for those with dietary restrictions - the staff are very well versed on safety for those who must be gluten free or have allergies (the server was clear not only on which dishes could be made gluten-free, but also those that might be slightly cross-contaminated).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ti Kouka also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Ti Kouka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ti Kouka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.