We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bad Wolf

Big Bad Wolf
262 Wakefield Street, Wellington, New Zealand
+64 4-382 9111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 656 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Big Bad Wolf is a unique Wellington food experience, right in the heart of the CBD. We are Wellington's first dedicated charcuterie, making all our charcuterie products in an open to view kitchen at 262 Wakefield St. There are many ways to experience the wolf; either take home from our shop, or enjoy our relaxed bistro dining and let our chefs make you something special. Bon Appetit.Open hours: Tue&Wed 9am-3pm, Thu&Fri 9am-late, Sat 10am-late, Sun 10am-3pm, Mon closed.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Late breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Popped for a late breakfast and ordered the big breakfast. I was big enough to share. Everything was tasty including the coffee. Awesome service. Thankyou

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
world trip
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“just shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

a very special shop with expert skilled creative staff who have the added quality of being so nice !!!!!!

A long way from home (Christchurch) but the on-line shopping appeals.

Thanks for such a fantastic food shopping experience

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“WOW Factor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

On Saturday, 19th October, 2013, my husband and I were looking for a Restaurant that had the "WOW" factor, something a little different. As we were walking past the "Big Bad Wolf" we were invited in to see what this lovely place had to offer by two very welcoming people, We were given a copy of the nights menu, (small but good variety) and the character of the Restaurant was explained to us. Because this lovely little restaurant was different we decided to return for our evening meal. We were not disappointed, the staff were very very welcoming and hospitable without being intrusive, the food was extremely good. My husband had the eel entree and I had the snails, (we were also given a free small taster of bruchetta) my husband then had the Rabbit, leak and tarrogan pie and I had a pork cutlet, for dessert we had the Cappuccino Brulee and I was also given a small portion of the chocolate tart (as we had had a lively discussion on what we were going to shre for dessert). If we had not been so far away from home we would have certainly purchased some of the other lovely gourmet meats, etc on sale. We would highly recommend this Rrestaurant to others visiting Wellingon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Seak this out if you like french food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

What can I say. The menu was a bit unusual but you only have to ask your waiter for an explanation and you cannot go wrong. Pork, rabbit and goat, as well as snails were to our liking. A must for a future visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Delishimo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This place is really unique as it sells gourmet meats and serves delicious meals. The menu is not large but it's got great variety and if you like what you eat you can buy some to take away. You can buy anything from a gourmet saussie in beautiful bread or slighter larger meals, so caters for all tastes. There aren't many tables so go early prior to the lunch rush. They are now open Sundays!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bad Wolf also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Big Bad Wolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bad Wolf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.