We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful with amazing food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hummingbird Eatery and Bar

The Hummingbird Eatery and Bar
22 Courtney Place, Wellington, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 636 restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful with amazing food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hummingbird definitely left a good impression on me. The food was superb, so beautiful and high quality, i have been raving about it ever since i had it almost a year ago. The wait staff were lovely and provided me and my family with everything we requested and needed. I am planning to go back very soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    15
    6
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Picton
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“cafe with buzz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Cool place for a pre-theatre meal, with early options served quickly to prevent nervous clock-watching. Attentive and welcoming service, food excellent and interesting. Clearly a great place to stop for a drink at the bar as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renwick, Marlborough, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good spot for a drink”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have never eaten at Hummingbird so can't comment on the food. We were very keen for a glass of bubbles but weren't thrilled with the 'by the glass' selection and ending up settling for one we didn't really enjoy. Love the lighting and atmosphere in here though - a cool place with a huge mix of people. Downside? Jeez though barstools are high!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Chocolate Divinity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, cocktails, entrees and then the chocolate dessert....truly a heavenly moment! The unexpected surprise of the soft centre spilling out of the crust and the captivating taste. The benchmark for all desserts to follow.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Prefect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

What an outstanding experience - the staff, ambience, food and drinks - all brilliant. The highlight of my weekend in Wellington.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hummingbird Eatery and Bar also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The Hummingbird Eatery and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hummingbird Eatery and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.