We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice meal.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matador

Matador
196 Cuba St | Te Aro, Wellington 6011,, New Zealand
+64 4-381 2999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #149 of 697 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Spanish, Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: El Matador, a vibrant and rustic Buenos Aires style eatery and bar, offers quality cuisine and beverages with a Latin twist. Featuring NZ's first traditional Argentine wood-fired asador and parrilla, an open kitchen, boutique bar, sunny sheltered courtyard, superb service and a great vibe, El Matador is the perfect place for a relaxed dinner. Also enjoy weekend brunch, lunch, tapas and delicious desserts made by the award winning pastry chef. El Matador is rated a BEST RESTAURANT and LOCAL FAVOURITE by NZ's Cuisine Good Food Guide Awards 2014!
Nelson
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A very nice meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Loved the food and atmosphere at El Matador. We enjoyed the bbq'ed pork belly and a nice bottle of Spanish red. Try the warm olives for a starter or as a tapas dish, they were really good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    42
    4
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“meat orgy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were a group of old friends, who have spread out around the world, finally coming together for a dinner for the first time in many years. This was a great place for it, super friendly staff who obviously enojoyed their jobs and made us feel right at home. We arived at 8 on a Saturday evening, so we werent really expecting to be seated straight away, so we had a drink in the bar until we were seated about 30 minutes later.
I am a huge fan of Argentinian reds, particularily the malbec grape, so I was very happy to see that this was a stand out feature of their wine card, the Trivento malbec reserve from 98 was excellent and we stayed on that all night. We ordered a couple of sharing platters, the steak plate and the parillada plate. The steak plate was served medium-rare as requested with 4 different cuts of beef of good quality, and nice to get some sea salt to season the meat too The parillada plate had a variety of chicken, lamb and offal. Both plates were tasty, but were served on cold plates, so the meat lost temperature pretty quickly and we were also struggling to taste the aromas of the wood fire grill through the various cuts. We also ordered a couple of tapas to go with it,...or rather garnish it.

Some more friends joined us later for dessert and although they were of the traditional spanish variety, were well prepared never the less. Churros with chocolate and some pancakes with caramel and ice cream.

I really like El Matador, the vibe is honest, the interior is rustic and authentic, the staff are enthusiastic and competent, the food relaxed, well prepared and tasty, and a wine card with a solid list of spanish and argentinian wines.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Gorgeous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Came here for dinner with friends on a busy WOW Friday night. Had fantastic cocktails at the bar while we waited for a table. Once seated, our orders were taken quickly and we couldn't believe how fast the food was delivered. We shared the flank steak & BBQ platters. Everything was beautifully cooked and as all of us have actually been to South America, it was a testament to authenticity. The two platters & one portion of patatas bravas was more than enough to fill the four of us and excellent value at that. Despite being one of the last tables of the night, the staff were still very friendly and upbeat. Can't wait for our next visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Coffee to date!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hidden Wellington Gem!

Took parents out for breakfast to El Matador, received friendly service and the best coffee we have all ever had... dad even agreed.

Amazing carrot and fennel toast... and the Churros are essential! (comes with warm chilli chocolate dipping sauce)

Right down to the decor this place is perfect.....a must try when visiting Wellington!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Bohemian eatery with great tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

we ate here a few times back in April. We were staying in Wellington for nearly a week, just off Cuba St. Spoiled for choice, we walked past El Matador and were drawn in by the fabulous decor. Luckily, the food was equally as appealing as the decor. We tried many of the tapas over a couple of days. We took our friendly waiter's advice and matched beers to food - very successfully. If you love meat, this is the place to come!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matador also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Matador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.