We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite for Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zico Cucina & Bar Wellington

Zico Cucina & Bar Wellington
8 Courtenay Place, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
802-5585
Improve this listing
Ranked #242 of 630 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Favourite for Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have frequently eaten at Zico with my wife and friends. The menu is well founded, and tasty, with Italian and New Zealand options. I have had Italian by choice, and, along with my wife and friends, have yet to be disappointed, either with the offerings, or the quality. I have found the Italian wines suitable, depending on your palate. Not top end, but, after traveling, eating, and drinking wines in Italy, more then acceptable. The wait staff are friendly and knowledgable about wines and the menu. All in all, a good place to be. I will go again, for sure. My only complaint, it can be a little noisy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bland and expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Had their dinner special which was chicken livers. Usually my favorite. 8 plain chicken livers with a bit of pasta for $28. A tastless ripoff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fix your wine list please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I love this place, but the wine list is dull.
I understand you wines from Italy but where is the top end options? None!
I'm happy to buy and spend on top wines. When you have just average wines - I spend much less.
Otherwise great place to eat

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely food, varied menu, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We ate here before going to see Hugh Laurie. When I booked I told them we were going to a show and they made a note to ensure we were out in time.
We started with the bruschetta which was nice.
I had the Duo de Carne - lamb cutlets and beef with vegetables. The meat was perfectly cooked and the beef had a wonderful flavour. The veggies were capsicum, mushroom, tomato and courgette. It was served with a wedge of lemon which I squirted on my lamb - delicious.
My partner had the veal stuffed with cream cheese and spinach which he loved.
We decided to have dessert and were not disappointed. I had the tiramisu from the specials board while my partner had the banana mousse crepes. Both were delicious.
We also had a rather nice bottle of wine.

The service was very good. Friendly but professional with just the right amount of attention - we were not pestered every couple of minutes, nor were we asked if the food was okay after just one bite as happens in some places.

We chose this place because it is in the Entertainment Book (buy one get one free on mains) but will definitely go back even without the offer.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Pasta and sauce was excellent, meatballs and garlic bread were pretty average. Wife loved her main meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zico Cucina & Bar Wellington also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Zico Cucina & Bar Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zico Cucina & Bar Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.