We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zico Cucina & Bar Wellington

Zico Cucina & Bar Wellington
8 Courtenay Place, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
802-5585
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 635 restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great restaurant. Ordered meal for my son (4 year old) and myself, came quickly and was super good! Even my fussy son thought it was magic! Nice glass of wine, quick service, great food...will be back again next time in wellington :-)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    14
    17
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“maybe not a good selection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Friendly male staff member, but same couldnt be said for female wait person , maybe she was having an off night , didnt look happy and showed it
Seated pretty promptly only 6 others present
Menu dirty and tatty held together with sellotape , not a good first impression
Limited menu
Had Bruscetta , which was toasted soggy bread with tomato and basil , have had far better bruschetta,, that needs attention ,
Main course was Veal with spinach and cheese, enveloped inside tasty , not a large portion , and i ordered a side of spinach and lemon
Dessert had the Tiramasu, which was a heap of cream top a very thin sliver of sponge , far too much cream
accompanied with icecream , and chocolate and fruit sauce
Coffee to follow
$72 all up which included 2 glasses of wine

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Zico's restaurant Wellington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Located at the end of Courtney Place near the Embassy Theatre. The staff are always fantastic. I hve been here quite a few times and the service and food are always wonderful. Tonight I had spaghetti bolognaise. It was up to the usual high standard. Great taste.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“At a restaurant like this always order what they specialise in.... PASTA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

With a very large menu it becomes quite hard to decide on just one thing. The pastas we had were very flavoursome with delicious sauces. the pasta itself was slightly over cooked. the meat dishes seemed to be a bit disapointing. you will want to order a vege side and i advise against dessert. service was good, friendly and helpful but not overly knowledgeable when asked simple questions.
Good for a casual dinner but i dont expect il go there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best gnocchi around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I love this restaurant. The service is great, very attentive and friendly. The atmosphere is relaxed and pleasant. The food is reasonably priced and cooked perfectly. I always order the 3 cheeses gnocchi and it never disappoints. It is tender melt in your mouth, just yum. The wine is reasonably priced, I got an Italian sparkling wine for $9 a glass . The menu has something for everyone. It is my favourite place for dinner. They are open until late as well. I have been 4 times and it has been great. They have some very good specials for those on a budget as well. If you have an entertainment book then there is a two for one deal in the gold section. The restaurant has character and a little bit of charm.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zico Cucina & Bar Wellington also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Zico Cucina & Bar Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zico Cucina & Bar Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.