We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we went twice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drexel's Breakfast Restaurant

Drexel's Breakfast Restaurant
32 Waring Taylor Street, Wellington, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 656 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“So good we went twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Huge portions, endless coffee refills, delicious food, friendly staff, classic rock on the speakers. Great start to the day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very nice and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Came here with my husband for our last breakfast before flying out on our honeymoon and it was fantastic, we both ordered the same thing with a variation of the eggs, there was so much food there neither of us finished but everything was divine. Its a good breakfast when you can go right thru the day with no other meals - we didn't eat again till dinner!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Value and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great place to stop and have a lazy breakfast or brunch at the weekends. Despite it's city location this place was humming at the weekend, fast prompt service and a good selection of breakfast ideas on hte menu. Once again I plumped for the big breakfast, not dissappinoted, good helping of bacon, well cooked effs and delicious corn beef hash. The home made hash brown was good but could have done with some seasoning but it was of little distraction. Waiting staf graced the tables with offeres of free fill ups on filter coffee and hte toast as a free extra was a nice touch. Would recommend it to anyone. Although busy there was not a feeling of being rushed out, in fact as we left there was a queue to get in.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Good breakfast spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I went here for a breakfast with work colleagues, and would go again for a similar occasion. We hadn't reserved, but that was no problem. On a weekday it seems seats are available.

We ordered teas and coffees immediately, and they arrived promptly while we looked at the menu. The staff were ready when we wanted to order our meals, and came back throughout to top up the filter coffee.

There is an extensive breakfast menu, a lot of variations on eggs, but also pancakes, muesli and toast. I had french toast, which was good. I liked that there was a choice of having 1, 2 or 3 pieces, and ordered 2, which was quite substantial enough. I really don't like large plates groaning with food, so I feel this is an innovation other cafes could try.

The decor is bright and modern, the banquette seating is comfy. I thought prices were on a par with other places in the area, and I liked that we were able to have our breakfast within the hour and get to work on time. I think we'll be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Went to Drexels with a large family group while in Wellington to see Phantom, we have been to this restaurant many times and its always delivers. Food was a little slow to come out but they were very busy. The only thing that let our experience down was the home made Hash-browns were at best tasteless. This the second time we have stuck this, but the rest of the food made up for it..In the words of my seven year old "It was yummy as Dad"
Over all good value and a fun place to eat...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drexel's Breakfast Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Drexel's Breakfast Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drexel's Breakfast Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.