We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's for the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KC cafe

KC cafe
39a Courtney Place, Wellington, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #381 of 656 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It's for the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Successful restaurant owners will agree – places thrive or fail on their service. Get service wrong and you’re dead.

KC Café manages to plumb even greater depths. There is no service to speak of, but for staff who, to judge from their demeanour and behaviour, are pretty ambivalent about customers at best and rather dislike them in general.

BUT, none of this matters. KC Café is consistently and always full to the gunwales. Why? It’s the food. An extensive menu of good food. Genuinely nice, interesting, authentic, delivered fast despite the crowds of people and excellent value for money.

It’s interesting to sit by the window onto the street and look at would-be diners walking past. The well-heeled and aristocratic glance in and hurry along, possibly put off by the decor which is some way past its use by date. What they fail to see is that the tables are packed with happy customers, many Asian, obviously relishing their experience. They’re not there to be seen. They’re there to be fed in a way that few other cafes in Wellington can match.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Good and Cheap Cantonese food on Courtney Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

All your basic cafe style chinese food - I have been about 6 times in the past 3 months - really enjoy their 'Wonton Mee Dry" at $11.50 - their BBQ meats are also very good.

In summer get a table on the edge of the footpath and watch the world wonder on by

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Fantastic food, place is very clean, the lady at the counter is NOT customer focused, but the food is amazing!! Would def go back

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best chinese takeaway in wellington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Best chinese takeaway in wellington, been consistency for a long time. very good for after work quick fed, also vey good price too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best chinese food outside of Hong Kong for me.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Its not a Kiwified chinese, its the real thing, that means no sweet and sour (though they probably sell it) and plenty of tripe, stocks and unusual veges. I generally go here with my wife after a few beers in town, we lived in Hong Kong and this is our fix for authentic Chinese food. I cant rate this place highly enough. I normally go for the spicy beef soup or beef brisket clay pot. Both are great. The staff are either friendly or miserable depending on who you get. I dont care either way as i go for the food. Awesome place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KC cafe also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to KC cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KC cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.