We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good chinese food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dragons Chinese Restaurant

Dragons Chinese Restaurant
25 Tory Street, Wellington, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 652 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had heard mixed reviews about Dragons before we ventured in, some good and some not so good. We decided to try it one night after work, for early dinner. The restaurant was moderately quiet with only a handful of tables present at the time. The manager/owner was very friendly and helpful, and there was no problem ordering 'off the menu'. The green was kept topped up by helpful waiters, and the empty plates quickly removed. The food portions were pretty generous and we found the quality to be very good. We had a dish of lemon chicken which had the correct level of tartness in it, and a dish of orange beef, which was wonderful, sticky and sweet.
We will certainly go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not a friendly place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Last time we had yum cha there was a while ago. The waiting time was long and my 2year old daughter started making noise. When I was holding my daughter in my arms trying to calm her down, an older female stuff walked pass and “shush” her. My daughter then was scared and started crying. Not a pleasant experience and never gone back there since. I won’t go back to a place if their stuff made my daughter cry. Food was so so anyway. Maybe the management has been changed I don't know.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

One of our missions on holiday is to find a good Chinese restaurant when we go abroad. This place has had mixed reviews and it is sometimes hard to tell whether the reviews are from an authentic Chinese perspective. With much interpidation we went and order steamed whole blue cod, lamb with cumin, steamed beancurd and seafood, hakka style tofu and choi sum with garlic. The portions were huge, there was very little MSG and the the food not overly salty. The fish was fresh, succulent and tasty. The food was of a very high standard and would rival some of the better Chinese restaurants in London's Chinatown. We were very impressed and are going again. We haven't tried their Dim Sum so can't comment but there evening food is excellent and highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Noisy on weekends but great dim sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very popular place on weekends and great for families. Food was excellent and you never leave hungry. Great value too! You do have to be assertive to get your drink order in!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“had yum cha”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

awful stuff.

chinese in wellington is particularly bad and this place has it all.

deep fried trash yet again, yet its rammed on sundays? why?

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragons Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Dragons Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragons Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.