We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired but did the trick” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Atrium Wellington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Atrium Wellington to your Saves list
Quest Atrium Wellington
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   154 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
auckland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A bit tired but did the trick”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

A little tricky find as there is another quest 100m down the road however once I had the correct one the ladies up front were helpful and efficient. Studio apartment was spacious enough for one or maybe two adults max. Kitchen well stocked for making your own easy meals and room clean and tidy.
Carpets in the room and walls in the hall could do with a clean.

Parking was easy - extra $20 a night
Overall good

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    40
    27
    13
See reviews for
33
23
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I spent four nights here on business, as clearly this is not a choice for holiday accommodation. The rooms are functional, albeit sterile. The storage unit around the bed meant I was forever hitting my arms against it. The compendium contained a code of conduct for quests which was a bit over the top. Mostly however, and despite the clear signage asking otherwise, was the distinctive smell of strong spices cooking. The place smelt ghastly.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Okay, so the room I had was an apartment and a bit poky as it was a studio. It was fairly basic and the ambience of the place not brilliant. But actually for the cost, it was good value for money and not bad at all. Wifi was paid for after a certain (meagre) limit was reached. This seems to be a problem all over New Zealand (where I assume unlimited broadband is an alien concept for hotels). There was access to the gym and pool (saltwater) next door (a real bonus). In terms of location this was in the middle of Wellington on The Terrace. I’d stay here again no problem.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights during the cricket world cup game between England Vs Sri Lanka. Worst place we ever stayed...rooms smell of smoke, cleaners don't vacuum the floor by leaving it mess with papers and most importantly coffee cups and water glasses were left on the table without being washed and cleaned. Even the bed sheets are not changed from overnight and the old towels left behind. its was a horrible experience...the new franchise owners Sean and Lena Chin have no clue how to operate the business and there only concern is $$$$. I would recommend no one to stay there.... please avoid it for your best.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with smoke smell and also ask them do they clean the rooms on a daily basis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
questatrium, Front Office Manager at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us. We have looked into your comments, and have reviewed our housekeeping processes to ensure that all rooms are kept up to Quest Standards of quality and service excellence. As per the industry norms, beddings are not changed on a daily basis. As part of our environmental friendly policy, there are notices in every bathroom to inform our guests that towels left on racks will not be changed. New towels were brought to your room once you had called our after hours service by Sean personally. We sincerely hope that our new revised processes will exceed your expectations in the near future - Nick (Front Desk Team Leader)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

I guess you get what you pay for and this place is cheaper than other corporate hotel.

I stayed her 5 years ago and found it fine. However I have had 2 nights here. The rooms are adequate. Mine is internal so have no idea what is happening outside. The central Atrium makes it all quite noisy. It feels like a cell, but without the stanless steel and the bucket.

It was last decorated in the 60"s and it's all a bit tired.

It is however centrally located and is well equipped with a cooker (you probably should avoid cooking anything smelly)

If you got the place for back packer prices, fair enough. I would not chose to stay here again.

Room Tip: try an outside room on Terrace side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
questatrium, Front Office Manager at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
Thank you for your review, NZMIKE57. We do pride ourselves on our central location and bubbly staff who will be most willing to be of service. As we take our guest feedback seriously, we have already started to undertake a refurbishment of all the rooms, giving them a new life and facelift, since December last year when the new Quest Atrium Management took over. We look forward to welcoming you back to our newly improved Quest Atrium in the near future. - Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

This was the most reasonably priced 2 bedroom apartment that I could find in the city area, without going out in to suburbs, or further afield.

It probably IS a little pricey for what you get - a fairly older-style hotel, with facilities that are starting to show their age.

However, you get everything you need in the apartment. A full kitchen, with dishwasher and waste disposal, as well as full laundry facilities. The 2nd bedroom is quite small, with only a small window facing on to the atrium area, which probably doesn't help with air flow. And the main bedroom has a strange gap above the sliding doors, which effectively means that noise (and light) comes in to the bedroom. Most unusual.

The service at reception was extremely quick and friendly, so I have no gripes about that.

It's very easy to come and go, with a NFC key to access after hours, and to be honest, I heard no noises coming from the atrium area. There was even road construction nearby, but as we were up fairly high, it didn't really disturb us. The location is good, being on The Terrace, with easy access to most CBD buildings, and parliament just a 10 minute stroll down the hill.

The only REAL complaint is the lighting in the bathroom. One light that is strangely placed in the ceiling. They REALLY could do with cheap strip LED lighting above the mirror.

Room Tip: Try to get an outside facing room, on a high floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
questatrium, Front Office Manager at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
Thanks Dominic for your review! We are glad that you found our service staff has met your expectations of being professional and efficient. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to our team. We do aspire to be the premiere affordable accomodation provider in Wellington, and your feedback inspires us to continue to work hard for valued guests like yourself. We have started to refurbish our bathrooms, so we look forward to welcoming you back to the newly refurbished Quest Atrium in the near future. - Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

We stayed here for four nights and were pretty disappointed to be honest. The cost was over the top and the room was stuffy. the best thing aboutn the room was the kitchen facilities but the bathroom was TINY and the shower gel had not been refilled. was great to have a washing machine in the room though. Hotel was farily close to Lambton Quay and the cable car

Room Tip: some free wifi. Ask for a room with air conditioning if they have any as our room was very stuffy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
questatrium, Front Office Manager at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this review, January 26, 2015
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We have received your feedback and are looking into making our rooms more comfortable for our guests. Presently, we are doing a major refurbishment of our rooms since Quest Atrium's new owners took over in October 2014. We are glad that you found our central location ideal. We do hope to welcome you to our re-furbished facilities on your next visit to Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Atrium Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Atrium Wellington

Address: 154 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Atrium Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Atrium serviced apartments are situated at 154 The Terrace, one of Wellington's best Central City locations. The apartments are within easy access of Lambton Quay, Parliament, boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants, and theatres. Wellington's waterfront is within walking distance, as is Te Papa Museum, Victoria University, Westpac Stadium and the Botanical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Quest Atrium Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Atrium Wellington Hotel Wellington
Quest Atrium Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Atrium Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.