We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Atrium Wellington

Save Saved
You added Quest Atrium Wellington to your Saves list
Quest Atrium Wellington
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quest Atrium Wellington
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   154 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Carterton, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed two nights. Location good, room was fine and clean, but room service left our dishes in the dish washer.
The room was subject to very load noise from other guest in the Atrium; this acted like a sound shell. It was then that we realised what the ear plugs were for.
The ad said free Wifi. It was but had a limit of 500 mb. Had to go down to reception to get pass word etc. 2nd night had to go down to reception to get a second pass word. Next morning Wifi would not work and and I was expected to go down to reception to get a 3rd password.
Parking problems. The parking is round the back under the hotel. It is a mission to get there. Reception drew a map for me which involved a u turn in to oncoming traffic on the busy Terrace road. I felt most uncomfortable doing this and it is probably illegal.
What really hurt is that when I got to the hotel's parking area, I realised it was right next to the Wilson car park which had a cheaper weekend rate and was much more accessible; did not involve dangerous manoeuvres to get there. The hotel parking was very poor value.
Checking out 8:30 Sunday morning, reception was closed. Ambiguous instructions on the procedure. Left keys in key drop box. Unsatisfactory as we had no way of confirming our check out.
Will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hi, thanks for your feedback. I'll go through each point.... The dishwasher is not part of our daily room service - it's not always easy to tell if the dishes are clean or dirty. We are aware that the Atrium does cause acoustic problems in our Studio apartments, we are working with the building Body Corporate to see what remediation is possible. The Atrium is a very aesthetically pleasing aspect but it does have it's downside. There is always a staff member available / on call, so we do ask that if guests have problems with noisy neighbours they advise us so that we can deal with the problem at the time.
Wifi - we obviously have to limit the amount of wifi that we can give for free. You should have been given a voucher on checkin with your password info, I apologise if that did not happen. After your feedback we have refined things with our ISP so that in future we are able to give guests staying multiple nights all their vouchers on arrival, if that is part of their room deal. Guests are also welcome to phone reception to buy more internet, (our charges are about the cheapest you will find in a hotel), it's not always necessary to come to reception in person.
Parking is underneath our building, and our access is around the back. The U-turn you mention is not illegal other than between 7.30 - 9am, which is not a time that we are checking in guests. We offer secure underground parking with lift access direct to the apartments. We cannot compete on price with the parking multi-nationals, but the nearest Wilson parks are about 150m meters away across a busy road, or further away in a different block.
Guests who wish to check out early are welcome to leave their keys in their rooms or in the dropbox provided, we will check our in room literature to see if the advice can be made more clear. Keys are not necessary to depart the car park.

I hope this addresses some of your concerns, thank you for your positive comments on our handy location and the cleanliness of our rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    29
    17
    10
See reviews for
24
20
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a two bedroom apartment - two couples. The apartment was really small with only one bathroom. Second bedroom had no wardrobe and no mirror and was really tiny. Bedrooms didn't have walls that went right to the ceiling so was really noisy if TV was on in living room. Overall we weren't impressed and wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi, thanks for the feedback. Our 2 bedroom apartments do vary slightly in size, and in the smaller apartments some of the second bedrooms can be compact, but they do all have wardrobes! However, the living area in all our apartments is very spacious, and most of our guests enjoy having a large area in which to socialise with their families or companions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Location: not bad as it is only walking distance to the city shopping centers, bars and restaurants, close to bus stops as well.
Value for Money: Affordable

We went to Wellington for a short stay and booked a studio at Quest on Atrium. Everything was acceptable except for the garden. I was disappointed that the garden shown in the picture is not an open area, but it is covered one. Tricky eh? Also Quest on Atrium is a non-smoking building, so for smokers this is not the place to stay.

For affordable accomodation stay at Quest on Atrium in Wellington but I don't recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi, thanks for the feedback. I think probably most hotel rooms in NZ wouldn't allow smoking these days, and our studio apartments are classed as internal rooms, so we can't allow smoking on the balconies. However, all our 1 and 2 bedroom apartments have large external decks, and smokers are welcome to smoke outside on their own decks, where we also provide ashtrays for convenience. We do enable guests to upgrade their bookings on arrival if they wish to, if we have availability, for those to whom easy smoking access is important.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a disappointment pics on the Internet looked good but don't be fooled. We have stayed at the quest in Brisbane which was fantastic,this was far from that. The room had stained furniture ,torn dirty curtains. The bathroom roof and shower recess was covered in mould yuk! The only plus is it is in easy walking distance of the city centre. We would not stay here again and could not recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi,

I'm sorry you had a disappointing stay. Following your comments we have given the room a spring clean, but it should not have passed our room inspections as it was, and I have taken this up with our housekeeping team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed at Quest Atrium on a visit to Wellington with friends to watch the All Blacks.
We booked a 2 bedroom apartments and I found the rooms to be well appointed and clean.
Bedding was clean and comfortable, kitchen had everything you needed and it was a great bonus to have a little balcony. Though we were facing the highway, noise wasn't an issue for our group.
Only issue was there was 4 people booked to stay, but only 2 towels in the room on arrival, however reception was quick to resolve this once we called them.
Location is great as you are right in the heart of Wellington and are a close walk to restaurants, shopping, clubs and even Westpac Stadium was only a walk away.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi, thanks for your feedback. I'm glad you had a great time and enjoyed your stay in Wellington and the game. From your feedback we have reviewed where place our towels, so that they are easier and more obvious for our guests to find! We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokitika, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had the 3 bedroom penthouse for the weekend and loved the space and layout. Furniture and décor was nice with plenty of options for heating.
Motorway is a bit noisy for the back facing bedroom but I guess that's what you get in the city.
Nice and easy to get to the centre of the city for shopping and eating.
I would stay here again although may wait for the ground to settle a bit first!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi AuntyChezza, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with Quest Atrium, and thank you for your feedback. The ground was certainly lively whilst you were here, but the building has now been through the 2 recent earthquakes and passed with flying colours, having suffered no damage other than a couple of cracked lobby tiles first time around. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I only stayed in the one bedroom apartment, but in my time there I found the living arrangements to be very spacious. However, there are a few quirks that did bug me. On my very first day, a cabinet door came off its hinges and a living room light had gone out. The bedroom door slides into place, and I found that the stopper comes off very easily. Also the shower door constantly comes off its hinges and the mould had gathered quite significantly.
Maintenance fixed the cabinet door quickly but took four days to change a light bulb. And in doing so, they had moved quite a few of my books and left them on the floor.
While the living conditions are generally agreeable, and the receptionists are lovely and helpful, the maintenance service is very poor.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit ABOVE the first floor. The street noise is ridiculous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi, Thanks for posting your review. I have raised your comments with the housekeeping team, and asked that they always replace guest items if they move anything for cleaning. I have also asked them to be more aware of any lightbulbs that need replacing and let maintenance know. We are in an ongoing process of replacement and refurbishment, and the showers are next in line for some remedial work. Guests are always welcome to ask in advance of arrival for rooms on higher floors if they are concerned about street noise, and we always do our best to accommodate all requests subject to availability. Thanks for the feedback and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest Atrium Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Atrium Wellington

Address: 154 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 Specialty lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Atrium Wellington 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Atrium serviced apartments are situated at 154 The Terrace, one of Wellington's best Central City locations. The apartments are within easy access of Lambton Quay, Parliament, boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants, and theatres. Wellington's waterfront is within walking distance, as is Te Papa Museum, Victoria University, Westpac Stadium and the Botanical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quest Atrium Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Atrium Wellington Hotel Wellington
Quest Atrium Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Atrium Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.