We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wellington” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cambridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Cambridge Hotel to your Saves list
The Cambridge Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wellington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very central clean comfortable. Will stay again a bit old but very clean. Different sorts of prices and rooms. Had a roast very good value for money. Staff are great and very helpful.The service in the rooms is done every day nice warm homely hotel...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MightyCambridge, Front Office Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
HI there,

Thank you for your review

We also feel its a very homely hotel like you said so thank you!
It was established in 1883, so has an older feel but up to date.
Were glad you enjoyed our roast dinner! its served every Sunday, they are very popular for only $13.90!

Hope to see you again in the future
Kindest regards
Josie
Cambridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    104
    47
    26
    8
See reviews for
14
58
79
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The cambridge hotel is a good location for every visitor in Wellington: convenient to go to every attraction and eating or shopping place. If the kitchen could be improved, more tidy and organized, it would be better place to recommend. P.S.: It will be very very very noisy at night.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room is very important
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights whilst visiting friends for a birthday. Hostel is centrally located. We had a 4 bed dorm with a shared bathroom...although given the time of year the hostel was quiet and I never actually saw anyone else!!

The room was relatively clean and tidy, although the mattresses are in need of updating and were quite uncomfortable. The room had basic facilities, including a sink, fridge and TV ...although the signal was not great and you couldn't see the TV from some of the beds!

The hostel is above a pub and Friday/Saturday nights do get quite noisy.

Can well recommend the breakfast in the pub....great value for money and very tasty.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Have stayed here twice over the past week mainly to catch early morning overseas flights and late night returns. Find the place very convenient and not far from the airport, nice and clean and room facilities for the price more than adequate. No reason why we will not continue to use the Cambridge as a stopping off point.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MightyCambridge, Front Office Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your review!

We look forward to seeing you again
Cambridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Hi We had a short stopover in Wellington with our two children. We shared a room with an ensuite. Everything was clean and tidy and relatively quiet. Great location. Breakfast great value for money. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed at the Cambridge hotel recently during a trip over to Wellington. Overall it was a very positive experience, the room was sizeable, clean and very good value. As an added bonus they had Sky TV which was great for watching the FA Cup! The hotel staff were all really friendly and the building is quite grand with a central location just minutes from the town centre. We also had a great fry-up breakfast in the bar before leaving! It was a little noisy at times, but not annoyingly so, and I would recommend the Cambridge wholeheartedly for those on a budget. If noise is an issue for you, then request the top floor away from the bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I have stayed at the Cambridge Hotel a couple of times now.

As far as hotels go, it's definitely on the lower end of the spectrum in terms of facilities, but it's still well-maintained and clean. However, it's cheap for what you get. I use the Cambridge as an affordable way of getting a decent private room to myself when in Wellington. In this regard it's actually cheaper than private rooms at most backpackers in Wellington, and I'd say it's a step above what a backpackers has to offer.

The shared bathrooms are of a high quality.

Breakfast is good, and cheap!

There is a decent shared kitchen facility, however it is poorly stocked for cutlery and plates - I basically had to provide my own.

Major gripe is that the rooms can get noisy at night. It's on a main street and above a bar, so I guess that's to be expected - but the walls seem pretty thin too!

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the street are quieter - request one of these if you want to sleep well witho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your review, its has been very helpful.

I have ensured all staff make it clear to our customers that cutlery & plates are available to hire for $10 deposit at reception, we do however don't take a deposit for persons only using for a night. This keeps our kitchen clean, tidy and we have enough for everyone.

We hope to see you again and ensure your stay is even better next time

Kindest regards,
Cambridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Hotel

Address: 28 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cambridge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful heritage building.Immensely popular for our value accommodation and our central location in the heart of the city. From traditional rooms upstairs, to state of the art backpacker facilities.Come, join us in the bar for a free kiwi BBQ every Wednesday,or our fab menus with breaky starting from only $3 for eggs on toast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your The Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cambridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.