We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Night Stay in Wellington, NZ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Hotel Wellington to your Saves list
Comfort Hotel Wellington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   213 Cuba Street - Dunlop Terrace, Wellington 6141, New Zealand (Formerly The Chancellor)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Split-Dalmatia County, Croatia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“3 Night Stay in Wellington, NZ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The location on Cuba St. is excellent for being close to the restaurants, bars and sights to see. The hotel has a very lovely, cooperative staff that I used on three separate occasions and they were all friendly, helpful and courteous. The room was clean but small. The bathroom was also small but adequate. The mattress on the bed reached it "sell by date" and was not comfortable! After walking around the city each day for three days; however, you STILL sleep because you're tired! I had a glass of wine in the bar one night for $9.00 which is the going rate. Because of the price, I would stay again.

Room Tip: I arrived by train and it cost me $16.00 for a cab to the hotel and $14.00 to return to the railroad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear love2eat333,
It is always a great pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with the team; I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
I have also taken careful note of your comment in regards to the mattress; your feedback has been forwarded to the Executive Housekeeper for her review and action. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I am looking forward to welcoming you back at CQ Hotels Wellington in a near future.
Kind regards
Olivier
Olivier LACOUA
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    116
    89
    20
    16
See reviews for
28
118
51
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

After seeing the other reviews on this site, I was wondering what I'd let myself in for, but the room was very clean and well presented. All the hotel staff were very helpful and let me keep my car in the hotel parking for several hours after checkout time.

They should provide earplugs (bring your own if staying) on street facing rooms as the vibrant night life is vibrant until past 2:30 am and something big and beeping clears up after the vibrancy at 6 am. If you're partaking in the night-life though, this shouldn't be a problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Good afternoon RichCrewe,
I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the CQ Hotels Wellington. It is always a pleasure to receive our guests’ feedback.
I sincerely regret the disturbance you experienced during your stay with us. Our downtown location can mean extra street activity on weekends, as much as we try to contain it. On your next visit, we would be happy to assign one of our quieter, east-facing rooms upon request.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and it is my hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night. Perfect location for the vintage shops and interesting places to eat. Has a pool which was great. Staff lovely esp nameel. Had great steak in restaurant. Great bed. :)

Downsides: had room at front. No aircon and VERY noisy with window open. Would ask for room on other side (or fan). Rooms are small but that was ok for me. No iPod dock.

All in all a good budget hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Caro8880
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and in particular, the pool and service provided from Nameel at the bar.
I have taken careful note of your comments in regards to the noise level; on your next visit, we would be happy to assign one of our quieter, east-facing rooms upon request.
I look forward to welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again in the near future.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Unlike the other reviews, we really enjoyed our week here. The room was very clean,simple comfy and had everything you would need. Now I cant guarantee if I was just lucky..given the other reviews..only once did we wake up in the middle of the night with strange noise... it was just random loud and disrespectful people walking on the streets.


Other than that, really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Good afternoon AntoniaRebelo,
Thank you so much for your reviews of CQ Hotels Wellington. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The team takes great pride in the service they deliver and I was very pleased to share your comments with them.
I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again soon.
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here as part of a conference and found that staff helpful, the coffee terrible and the rooms good.

Conference facilities were great and the bar and restaurant exceed expectations.

Location on Cuba St it is an easy walk to all main attractions and close to many of the best shops in this wonderful city

Room Tip: Try for a room that doesn't front Cuba St
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Good evening Craig G,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback from your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the services provided by our team.
I have also taken careful note of your comment in regards to the conference coffee quality; this has been forwarded to the Conference Manager for her review. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Thank you again Craig for your positive comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in a near future.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Contrary to the name this was not a comfortable experience. After a real hassle with parking, tired we were lead to a room on first level. I had asked about the noise levels and was re assured it would be quiet. Not so, the night was long and sleepless. As for the room, the first thing I had to do was clean the basin from the black hair in the sink. Gross. I couldn't wait to get out of there. Customer service and front desk was cold and sterile. The only good things I can say about our stay was that the shower pressure was decent and the breakfast was good. We were thankful we only had to endure one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your stay at CQ Hotels Wellington. Please accept my sincerest apologies that your experience did not meet your expectations. I appreciate you sharing your concerns as this allows us an opportunity to improve and rectify our level of services. I would like to assure you that the entire team and particularly the Front Office and Housekeeping team are taking the necessary steps to address the problems that you have raised to prevent any similar future occurrence.
On a more positive note, I am delighted that you enjoyed the shower pressure and your breakfast meal. It is my hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Kind regards

Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

During a two-week stay on New Zealand's North Island, we stayed at seven different accommodations, all within the $120 to $160 a night price range. This hotel was bad. No air conditioning, no sound proofing (could hear people going to the toilet above us and next door, heard a guest throwing up, and the street noise was terrible). Also, no sink plug, hardly any toilet paper and a less than charismatic guy working on reception. Avoid if possible! Btw: we are seasoned travellers.

Room Tip: Check if there is air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Lyndell C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your stay at CQ Hotels Wellington. Please accept my sincerest apologies that your experience did not meet your expectations.
I appreciate you sharing your concerns as this allows us an opportunity to improve and rectify our level of services. I would like to assure you that the entire team and particularly the Front Office and Housekeeping team are taking the necessary steps to address the problems that you have raised to prevent any similar future occurrence.
Our downtown location can mean extra street activity on weekends, as much as we try to contain it. On your next visit, we would be happy to assign one of our quieter, east-facing rooms upon request
Once again please allow me to express my sincerest apologies and it is my hope that he will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Wellington

Address: 213 Cuba Street - Dunlop Terrace, Wellington 6141, New Zealand (Formerly The Chancellor)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CQ Comfort Hotel Wellington exudes character and charm and is listed with the NZ Historical Places Trust. Blending timeless and classic architecture with modern essentials to ensure refined comfort, our rooms are cosy, flexible and have various bedding configurations to suit your style of travel. Equipped with modern ensuite bathrooms, LCD TV's and tea and coffee making facilities, these rooms offer a charming stay ideally located in the heart of vibrant Cuba Street. Complimentary Wi-Fi now included in the room rate. With shared onsite facilities, both hotels (Comfort & Quality) have access to the heated indoor swimming pool and spa, roof top sun terrace, fitness room, bar, restaurant, cafe, self-service laundry (charges apply), onsite car parking ($25 per night) and complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Wellington
Wellington Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.