We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay there every time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Hotel Wellington to your Saves list
Comfort Hotel Wellington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   213 Cuba Street - Dunlop Terrace, Wellington 6141, New Zealand (Formerly The Chancellor)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would stay there every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After reading lots of other reviews about rooms being small and noisy I was a bit apprehensive, but was pleasantly surprised.
The staff were welcoming, accommodating and very friendly. The room was on the smaller side, but perfect size for the two of us. The bed was comfortable, decent sized bathroom. It was very warm while we were there and being higher up meant we could keep our windows wide open for the breeze and we knew it was safe.
The only down side was that the TV was tiny and some other rooms do have much larger flat screen TV's but on the whole it was a very pleasant stay and I would recommend it.
The location is fantastic and I will def stay there whenever I am in Wellington. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Ria
Thank you for your wonderful feedback from your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the services provided by our team.
In regards to your comment about the TV, we are currently finalising the installation project and it should be fully completed within the next couple months.
Thank you again for your positive comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in very soon.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    116
    89
    20
    16
See reviews for
28
118
51
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Not the best hotel I've been and certainly not the worst. We stayed for a week and I was ready to leave by that stage. The beds were really soft and the pillows were mediocre. However sheets and general appearance of the room were clean.

Bathroom was really good with a pretty decent shower. Being situated on Cuba Street there was no real problem with street noise.

We sampled the room service on the first night as we were so tired from the 36 hour trip. The menu was very limited, we only had two choices. However, it was very tasty and pretty good value.

The staff at reception were pretty good. I found the girl at reception a bit surly but I feel that maybe they get a few rowdy guests from time-to-time. However, this is no excuse. The others were okay. One of the guys looked like he was nervous, but I would be if I was working with her...

It is in a great location - Fidel's, Logan Browns etc... are just a hop, skip and a jump away. If you were coming here for a weekend, then I would highly recommend it but not for longer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Itchy_feet_2007,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at CQ Hotels Wellington.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create a more enjoyable experience for each of our guests. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

A quick 4 night stay in Wellington - I found a beauty.
The Comfort Hotel in Cuba St was a great find. It catered to what I wanted just great.
The room was small with just the essentials but really clean. The first night I was in a room that was on the Cuba St side and it was a bit noisy so next morning asked to change to a quieter room. The clerk at the desk was fantastic and I was moved to another room (so quiet) for the remaining 3 nights. No problems for them to do this. There is a restaurant that you can have breakfast or dinner, but I just took food and ate takeaway in the room.
The hotel is in the heart of Wellington City. 5 minutes walk down Cuba st and you are at TePapa on the Waterfront.
For the price to stay at the Comfort Hotel, I would stay there on my next visit to the Capital.
4 Stars

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Cheryl,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again in the near future.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel. The location is very convenient and a lot of cafes and Lambton Quay is well within walking distance. The bathroom is spacious enough. The room however was rather small and there is no bar fridge or complimentary milk provided. One of the single bed provided looked directly into the bathroom and that was not a nice experience! As it is located on Cuba Street, it is rather noisy at night and it was hard to get a good night's sleep. There was no air conditioning in our room and we had to open the windows to let air in but as there were no fly screens installed, it wasn't the wisest thing to do!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Cheryl810,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very pleased to read that you found the location of our hotels very convenient.

As you noticed, the CQ Comfort Hotel is a prestigious and Heritage building dating back to the 1800s. The hotel provides all of the basic necessities, comfortable and well appointed rooms in the middle of a very unique and vibrant heart of the Capital; Cuba Street. Our downtown location can mean extra street activity sometimes, as much as we try to contain it. On your next visit, I would be happy to assign one of our quieter, east-facing rooms upon request. You may also consider to reserve a room into the adjoining CQ Quality Hotel Wellington, 4 Star Plus Qualmark, all suites are very spacious with Queen size beds and equipped with modern kitchenettes and part of our suites have Air conditioning.

Thank you again for sending your feedback and I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again in the near future.

Kind regards

Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Have stayed at Comfort Hotel since 2004-convenient location to CBD, but lately with the addition of the Quality annex, prices have increased on all levels. The rooms are still clean, but the $25 per day parking fee is outrageous as is the charge for WiFi (get free WiFi at most motels which do not charge for parking either!)

No air conditioning in the Comfort section during some very hot weather!

This past holiday season stayed in the "Comfort" section prior to Xmas & in the "Quality" section after New Years--clean & the Quality room was "roomy".

The credit card "surcharge" is a joke--work in a business which take credit cards & we do not have such a money making scheme in place--fees charged by credit card processing companies are part of the cost of doing business & the higher a business turnover, the lower the rate the process fee is. Get real!

Room Tip: Avoid room facing Cuba Street in the Comfort section, especially if staying on a weekend--revelers t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear ArthurJ860,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and for your continued loyalty to the hotel.
I have taken careful note of your comment in regards to the rate that you have paid, and appreciate your sentiments. Rates are also based on the demand for business for the date of accommodation and often in line with the Wellington hotel market.

I have also taken careful note of your comment in regards to the hotel car parking fee, WiFi and credit card surcharge; while our actual fees are currently sitting below the average inner city Wellington hotels, your feedback will be highlighted during our next pricing review. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

CQ hotel is just the ticket. You could spend a whole weekend on Cuba Street and this hotel is handy to keep dropping off all your shopping. Good facilities, friendly staff, clean and good value for money. You are not paying for things you do not use.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Good morning Gillian,
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay as well as Cuba Street areas. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again in the near future.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights and would definitely come back. Best thing about it is the location, it's within walking distance of the CBD, Te Papa, the waterfront. And of course never a dull moment on Cuba street. Be warned though they party all night here, so expect a noisy night. We asked for a street facing room as we don't mind that, but some may find they literally lose sleep over it.

The rooms are small. We didn't spend much time in ours so it didn't matter to us. However they are really clean. The bed was big and comfy. The hotel is beautiful, an old building with an interesting history: http://www.hotelwellington.co.nz/Home/history.html

Found the reception staff a bit aloof, but the bar staff were very cool and helpful.

Heaps to do around here, great brunch at the Italian, just south of the hotel. Amazing Wagyu dinner at Charlotte, two doors down. And of course great shopping, movies and pubs on the doorstep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Patsy_nz,

Thank you for your review of CQ Hotels Wellington. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and dining experience around Cuba Street. I am also delighted that you enjoyed the services provided by our Bar team.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I am looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future

Kind regards

Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Wellington

Address: 213 Cuba Street - Dunlop Terrace, Wellington 6141, New Zealand (Formerly The Chancellor)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CQ Comfort Hotel Wellington exudes character and charm and is listed with the NZ Historical Places Trust. Blending timeless and classic architecture with modern essentials to ensure refined comfort, our rooms are cosy, flexible and have various bedding configurations to suit your style of travel. Equipped with modern ensuite bathrooms, LCD TV's and tea and coffee making facilities, these rooms offer a charming stay ideally located in the heart of vibrant Cuba Street. Complimentary Wi-Fi now included in the room rate. With shared onsite facilities, both hotels (Comfort & Quality) have access to the heated indoor swimming pool and spa, roof top sun terrace, fitness room, bar, restaurant, cafe, self-service laundry (charges apply), onsite car parking ($25 per night) and complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Wellington
Wellington Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.