We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Wellington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Wellington to your Saves list
InterContinental Wellington
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Grey St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tartu, Estonia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 1 night in the club room. I came to hotel with car and I got a nice surprise. For club members hotel offers free valet parking. Hotel has very good location and it is easy to find. I liked the breakfast especially I enjoyed smoothies. Hotel has also decent fitness centre with indoor swimming pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to provide us with your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us overall; in particular the additional benefits enjoyed by our guests staying on one of our Club InterContinental Floors. I am also pleased to see you had the chance to experience our other hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    255
    104
    37
    12
See reviews for
77
285
67
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I stay here many times a year and the service that I receive is always very friendly and couldn't ask for more. The in hotel restaurant is the best I have ever been too and the in room food is just as good. The location is great being close to the main shopping streets and the waterfront. The only let down is the rooms are starting to show there age. They are very clean though.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. The team and I were thrilled to hear of your lovely comments regarding your dining experience in Chameleon Restaurant. We would also like to thank you for feedback; please rest assured we have taken your comments on board. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to InterContinental Wellington again soon.
Best regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights using Priority Privilege reward vouchers and stayed in a Club level room on the 8th floor with a great view of the harbour. It was our 29th Wedding anniversary and we were thrilled with the nice bottle of bubbles that was in our room on arrival from the hotel management. Thank you!
The check in process was swift, efficient and friendly. In fact all of our dealings with staff were great with staff on hand with a ready "welcome back" or wishing us a great day. Similarly in the bar, restaurant and in the Club Lounge the service from staff was faultless.
The room we stayed in was large but as with recent reviews we agree was a little tired and nothing special apart from the superb view. Soundproofing was sadly lacking and we were woken by our neighbours arriving home on 2 of the nights.....they didn't appear to be being overly loud but their voices were easily heard (as if in our room)
We felt the rates on this room were pretty expensive and compared to the Crowne Plaza in Auckland (where we last used our vouchers and paid the same rate for the same standard of room) and were given a very nice 'giant' suite, we were a little disappointed in our room.....
Having said this, the issues that need addressing are reliant on the hotel chain recognising a need for refurbishment and not a reflection on the staff and management dealing with the day to day running of the hotel.
All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
May I first of all congratulate you both on your 29th Wedding Anniversary! We were pleased to have you stay with us on such a momentous occasion. We are glad you enjoyed our many facilities in particular our Club InterContinental Lounge. I am however disappointed to hear of the lack of sleep you had during your time with us, please accept my sincere apologies for this incident and rest assured we have taken these comments on board. We look forward to welcoming you both back to Intercontinental Wellington again soon.
Best regards,
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent 5 nights here, arriving on Christmas Eve. Our rooms were clean and well-appointed. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and we'd like to single out Amelia (?) the Head Concierge, for her expertise and professionalism throughout our stay. She never seemed to be off duty whenever we were around the hotel! She always had a smile on her face and a welcome whenever we saw her. On Christmas Eve we received a festive goody bag, which was appreciated, and a nice touch at this time of year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your stay with us over Christmas Eve. The team were pleased to hear of your lovely comments regarding our 5-star service; in particular the lovely Amelia from our Concierge team. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington.
Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel although not the newest in town is very well kept, rooms are nice and welcoming. Reception staff is efficient and eager to help. All our requests were satisfied. Breakfast is real good. One strong point is the restaurant called Chamelon, this was one of our best dinners in months. Real gourmet cuisine at decent prices.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us; in particular you’re dining experience in Chameleon Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

For that special stay you cannot really beat the intercontinental in Wellington, Club rooms with the sea view are lovely and it is very nice having the Club lounge. Had a great meal in house which is always very good. Weather was fantastic as well which made the view wonderful.

Room Tip: Stay in the Club room - worth the extra dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a delightful review. The team and I are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our Club InterContinental rooms, in particular the beautiful harbour view. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington in the near future.

Best Regards,
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I fully agree with other reviewers that the décor in this hotel is dated and most definitely in need of an upgrade, but once you get past that, you find yourself staying in a really comfortable, convenient hotel with helpful and friendly staff, and it would be a shame to miss out just based on some out of date furnishings.

We stayed on club level, which I think has coloured my experience, as the amenities available were first class. Our deal included unlimited free wifi, free valet parking and all the facilities in the club lounge. You could choose to either have breakfast in the lounge or go down to the main Chameleon restaurant. We ate in the restaurant, and had a really superb buffet breakfast each day. In the club lounge you can also have afternoon tea - this was a real treat, served while you relax in comfort enjoying the view overlooking the harbour. The sandwiches, cakes and scones were beautifully presented and very fresh. The staff in the club lounge are very attentive, and can't do enough for you. In the early evening you can enjoy drinks and snacks - if you're still hungry after the huge breakfast and afternoon tea!

The hotel has a small pool, hot tub and sauna as well as a fitness centre, which are all fairly standard, and nothing special. One unexpected benefit here is a guest laundry which was absolutely free; even washing powder was provided.

The location is excellent - a two minute walk from the main shopping centre and the cable car in one direction and all the restaurants on Queen's Wharf in the other. It's also very near the park and only a 10-15 minute walk to the Te Papa museum. It's a short drive to the Interislander ferry. I would stay here again if I am ever lucky enough to return to Wellington.

Room Tip: Go club level if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our Club InterContinental facilities and had the chance to experience afternoon tea served in the Club lounge. The team was pleased to hear of your wonderful comments regarding the service provided as this is something they pride themselves on. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington and the Capital City in the near future.

Best regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wellington

Address: 2 Grey St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Wellington, located adjacent to the New Zealand capital's harbour waterfront, is within close walking distance to popular attractions, and five kilometres from the airport. Totally non smoking and recently completed a major refurbishment delivering a new Club InterContinental Lounge, newly defined Deluxe & Club InterContinental guest rooms, a redesigned lobby and dining options. Wireless internet access is available for purchase throughout the hotel. InterContinental Wellington is at the centre of the capital's political, commercial and corporate worlds. Take a short walk to experience the capital's history, culture and shopping. Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, the Museum of Wellington City and Sea, Wellington's iconic Cablecar, Westpac Trust Stadium and a host of art galleries are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wellington Hotel Wellington
Wellington Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.