We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location ! Location! Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Wellington

Save Saved
You added Quest Wellington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest Wellington
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Cnr Hunter Street & Lambton Quay, PO Box 3577, Wellington, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 52 Wellington B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Location ! Location! Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Greatest location you could have stay in Wellington. Close to absolutely everything. Room is dated , old style but practical .130 $ / a night isnt so bad. Cable car is 2 mins walk from the hotel. Shopping street is right next door. Bars & Restaurants are everywhere.

Room Tip: Take the G Room on the 6th or 7th or 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Questwgtn, General Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Wassana,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay here at Quest Wellington.

We look forward to having you back.

Kind Regards,
Scott Bellingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    16
    15
    9
See reviews for
15
24
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, NZ
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed overnight on business. Dated interior - not an issue in itself, but a few things were... cut my finger on the loose shower door handle, couldn't see well in the evening as main light bulb was broken and had the noisiest nights sleep ever due to drunks outside. i realise the hotel can't control that the outside noise, but they could consider installing double glazing.
I could have complained, but was very tired from a busy day, and would expect rooms to be checked before each guests stays.
Wellington is not famous for good quality hotels, but this place needs to lift its game, especially if it wants more business travellers.

Room Tip: There are cheaper and better alternatives nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Questwgtn, General Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear MCTHUK,

Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay here at Quest Wellington. I am disappointed to hear that we were unable to satisfy your expectations on this trip, and can assure you that this is not a regular occurrence at our property. We have a maintenance program in which all breakages are reported and fixed as soon as possible. In this instance it seems that we have failed to do so. For this we sincerely apologise. You will be pleased to know that Quest Wellington is about to start its refurbishment, in which the rooms and lighting will be updated and rooms will be fitted with double glazing.

We hope to have you back when these changes have been completed.

Kind Regards,
Scott Bellingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

On arriving at the Quest Wellington and not having been to Wellington for some twenty or more years,to find the only park outside the Quest was a 5 minute park which was taken up by some other vehicle,when asking the man at the desk I got shrugged shoulders,all this while my husband was curb parked,then I was told the car park for the Quest was 400 or more metres down the road,I was shocked,I think these things should be told when you make your booking or when they email you to see if you are still coming,if it had been raining our luggage and ourselves would of been soaked.
It was very noisy and the windows need to be double glazed to stop this and the rooms are getting very tried looking,the beds were very comfortable and the room was clean.
I think the Quest Wellington customer service needs looking at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Questwgtn, General Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi Sue,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback. Whilst we understand your frustrations with the parking, due to our central city location, parking is at a premium and unfortunately if people do decide to park in the 2 car parks that are available at the front of the property (in your case it was a large truck that took up both parks) we are unable to guarantee availability at all times to drop off luggage and check into the apartment. In regards to our car park at the TSB Arena, this is located approxamitly100m away from our property and we would encourage our guests to drop off their luggage and collect a car parking ticket before parking the car. We are pleased to advise our guests that Quest Wellington is undergoing a refurbishment, we are in the final stages of confirming our design. A part of this process will include double glazing on the windows to reduce the noise from the vibrant city.

We hope you can give Quest Wellington a second chance and would like to see you back here in 2013.

Kind Regards,
Scott Bellingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked this hotel months ago for the Hobbit Premiere. We stayed for 10 days and they gave us a depressing room that never got sunshine at all because it was facing all 4 walls in the back of the hotel. The window couldn't be closed because it was broken therefore the pigeons started to make a nest there and settled in the evening. Early morning like 5 am, you could hear them so loud and annoyingly. Every nite, walking back to our hotel, the room next door was cooking some fish so it really stayed on our clothes while walking the hallway. The Kitchen was clean but carpet was very very very old. We reported the problem as we didnt want our 10 days stay be spoiled and miserable but we had to wait 4 days. The new room looked really newly refurbished and nice but the noise from the busy street in the morning always woke us up early. At least, this time, the room was bright and clean yet without slippers on, the carpet was still sticky due to splashed oil when cooking. For some people who are more into saving money and be in central location, this is not bad at all unless you are like us.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet and peaceful sleep then get the dark and outdated rooms facing the back hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi 5745edelweiss,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us.

My apologies for the less than perfect stay; especially that the carpet felt greasy and the cooking odours. The carpet, in the corridors and guest apartments, is soon to be replaced, and the kitchens do have extractor fans above the cooktops to ensure that cooking odours are kept within the individual apartment.

I am pleased to advsie you that we only have 2 apartments at the rear of the building, they look on to the atrium. As they are quiet rooms they can often be quite popular away from the hussle and bussle of Wellington City.

We are also looking at viable options for the effective sound-proofing of the windows to also enhance the guest experience by allowing a great night sleep whilst still being in the heart of Wellington.

With our location in the CBD, pigeons love the place so much that even regular steam cleaning of the atriums doesn't deter them, however we are now looking at other solutions so as to allow our guests uninterrupted sleep and no more unintended early wake up calls.

I hope that we can host you again in the near future and replace your negative experience with a more positive one.

Kind Regards,
Scott Bellingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Quest Wellington is a well located apartment hotel at a good price. A small but good kitchen with a spacious room and a large comfortable bed. The room has a large bathroom with a very powerful shower.

Free WiFi in the room

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Pounamu-s,

Thanks for your feedback. I have passed your comments on to our staff and we look forward to having you back here in 2013.

Kind Regards,
Scott Bellingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in a 2 bedroom unit on floor 5 flat B. Check-in went smoothly with friendly receptionist confirming our specific bedding request. Other relevant check-in information i.e. included breakfast, parking, off-site gym and internet availability were not mentioned.

There are two drop-off (5 minute) parking spaces outside the hotel. Overnight covered car parking is 5 minutes walk from the hotel at the nearby TSB arena for $29 per 24 hour period. When we first arrived by car there was a utility vehicle parked over the drop off zone area forcing us to circle the one way streets twice before being able to pull in. This is OK for me as a frequent road visitor to Wellington but could be more tricky or stressful for first time visitors. I'm sure this event was just bad timing on our part but definitely something worth taking into consideration if travelling by car.

The corridor leading to our room on level 5 had an unusual fishy smell. The apartment itself was spacious and pleasantly decorated. The furnishings and beds were comfortable and clean. The bathroom was large but lacked a door lock or extractor fan. The water pressure was very powerful but the knob on tap/shower water switch was missing making it difficult to turn the shower on - the glass over bath shower door did not contain the spray from the shower head adequately and the lack of an extractor fan very quickly turned bathroom into a steam room with a rather slippery floor.

There were some brown stains on the living room carpet floor and the painting on some of the walls was crumbling in places. Sky TV was limited to approximately 12 channels. The included continental breakfast packs as part of our deal were well stocked with various preserves, bread and individual drink cartons. The normal price for these breakfast packs is I believe $9.90.

With so many local café's/restaurants serving breakfast at reasonable prices nearby I really don't think I would want to pay for a breakfast pack separately.

The free 4 hour per device wireless internet access would have been a good service had the connection not been so incredibly slow. My devices are new and normally quite grunty but I gave up trying to browse after 20 frustrating minutes.

Check out was quick and unproblematic the next morning.

The general noise from the street below goes on all night. As the windows are not double glazed I don't think much can be done about this. If staying here again I would definitely remember to take some earplugs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear AJ951,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, we encourage both positive and negative feedback to assit us in measuring how well we are operating as a business.

In regards to the noise, upon your next stay I would recommend you requesting an apartment at the top of the building to avoid any distractions from the street.

I am also pleased to advise that we are about to commence our refurbishment of the corridors to ensure they are as pleasant and welcoming as the apartment itself.

We hope to see you back here in 2013 and thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards,
Scott Bellingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Good room provided in a reasonable location.
The only problem we had was car parking. An inclusive car park is provided about 150 metres from the hotel. there is a drop off lay by outside the hotel but access to it is from a dedicated bus lane so it can be a problem if the layby is not free.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Jimbosmiff,

Thank you for your feedback.

We apologise for any difficulty you experienced with parking, Wellington is a very eventful city and at times I understand traffic can be very busy.

We thank you for taking the time to review and look forward to seeing you back at Quest Wellington in 2013.

Kind Regards,
Scott Bellingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Wellington

Address: Cnr Hunter Street & Lambton Quay, PO Box 3577, Wellington, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Wellington 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Quest Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Wellington Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.