We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious apartment but remember to take some earplugs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Wellington

Save Saved
You added Quest Wellington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Wellington
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Cnr Hunter Street & Lambton Quay, PO Box 3577, Wellington, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 52 Wellington B&B and Inns
Palmerston North
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spacious apartment but remember to take some earplugs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in a 2 bedroom unit on floor 5 flat B. Check-in went smoothly with friendly receptionist confirming our specific bedding request. Other relevant check-in information i.e. included breakfast, parking, off-site gym and internet availability were not mentioned.

There are two drop-off (5 minute) parking spaces outside the hotel. Overnight covered car parking is 5 minutes walk from the hotel at the nearby TSB arena for $29 per 24 hour period. When we first arrived by car there was a utility vehicle parked over the drop off zone area forcing us to circle the one way streets twice before being able to pull in. This is OK for me as a frequent road visitor to Wellington but could be more tricky or stressful for first time visitors. I'm sure this event was just bad timing on our part but definitely something worth taking into consideration if travelling by car.

The corridor leading to our room on level 5 had an unusual fishy smell. The apartment itself was spacious and pleasantly decorated. The furnishings and beds were comfortable and clean. The bathroom was large but lacked a door lock or extractor fan. The water pressure was very powerful but the knob on tap/shower water switch was missing making it difficult to turn the shower on - the glass over bath shower door did not contain the spray from the shower head adequately and the lack of an extractor fan very quickly turned bathroom into a steam room with a rather slippery floor.

There were some brown stains on the living room carpet floor and the painting on some of the walls was crumbling in places. Sky TV was limited to approximately 12 channels. The included continental breakfast packs as part of our deal were well stocked with various preserves, bread and individual drink cartons. The normal price for these breakfast packs is I believe $9.90.

With so many local café's/restaurants serving breakfast at reasonable prices nearby I really don't think I would want to pay for a breakfast pack separately.

The free 4 hour per device wireless internet access would have been a good service had the connection not been so incredibly slow. My devices are new and normally quite grunty but I gave up trying to browse after 20 frustrating minutes.

Check out was quick and unproblematic the next morning.

The general noise from the street below goes on all night. As the windows are not double glazed I don't think much can be done about this. If staying here again I would definitely remember to take some earplugs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear AJ951,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, we encourage both positive and negative feedback to assit us in measuring how well we are operating as a business.

In regards to the noise, upon your next stay I would recommend you requesting an apartment at the top of the building to avoid any distractions from the street.

I am also pleased to advise that we are about to commence our refurbishment of the corridors to ensure they are as pleasant and welcoming as the apartment itself.

We hope to see you back here in 2013 and thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards,
Scott Bellingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    16
    15
    9
See reviews for
15
24
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Good room provided in a reasonable location.
The only problem we had was car parking. An inclusive car park is provided about 150 metres from the hotel. there is a drop off lay by outside the hotel but access to it is from a dedicated bus lane so it can be a problem if the layby is not free.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Jimbosmiff,

Thank you for your feedback.

We apologise for any difficulty you experienced with parking, Wellington is a very eventful city and at times I understand traffic can be very busy.

We thank you for taking the time to review and look forward to seeing you back at Quest Wellington in 2013.

Kind Regards,
Scott Bellingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the first time we have stayed in a Serviced Apartment in Wellington. It was a last minute trip to the capital, and most hotels were full. I was very pleasantly surprised when we found the Quest online. The rate was excellent which included Breakfast and a late check out on Sunday.

When we arrived Friday night I was not disappointed. Our room was on the 4th floor, and very spacious. The apartments are located in an old heritage building, so everything is of a grand scale.
The bathroom was very modern, with a fantastic shower. It also included a washing machine and dryer. The kitchen was a little outdated, but had everything you needed. It included a dishwasher, microwave, and a double hob for cooking, but with heaps of fabulous restaurants around why bother!
Our rate included breakfast, which was a voucher for Coffee, toast, bacon and eggs for Smith the Grocer, just located around the corner in the old BNZ building. Great food.


The only downside was no air conditioning. We could not open our windows at night due the the street noise. The next day I asked reception if they had a fan. One was brought to our room within the hour..fantastic service. Perhaps fans should standard be in all apartments during the warmer weather.

The Airport Flyer bus is very conveniently situated across the road from the Quest, and at $9.00 per person sure beats a $40.00 cab fee.

From a service level nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Will be back.

Room Tip: If you don't like street noise..ask for a G room located at the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Kiwis_that_fly,

We would like to thank you for your kind feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to comment on our property.

For the lighter sleepers I would recommend an apartment at the back of the building to avoid any street noise if you would like to have the windows open.

I have passed your lovely comments on to our staff and we look forward to having you back at Quest Wellington in 2013.

Kind Regards,
Scott Bellingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The location of the apartment hotel is terrific. It's in an old heritage building, in the centre of shopping, close to good restaurants, not far from the station. There are lots of things to like: a large bathroom with washing facilities, a wardrobe bigger than most that has enough hangers, and staff who are wonderfully friendly and helpful, and who ensured that bathroom problems were fixed quickly. But there were two major drawbacks. The first was a bed that was too soft to provide any back support. The second was that the street below is so noisy that the windows have to be shut at night - and that makes the room very hot and stuffy - particularly as the weather was really warm when we stayed there. If you don't mind noise, and like soft beds, this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear RivkahMelbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us. For the lighter sleepers we recommend an apartment at the back of the building away from the vibrancy of Wellington City. We hope to see you back here in 2013.

Kind Regards,
Rachel Allardice
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I love this apartment hotel, its in an old heritage building, lovely grand furniture, and right on the street in the middle of it all,
the reception staff are friendly and very helpful, if all reception staff in the world over were like this then the world would be a much better place :)

The cleaning staff needed a kick up the behind,,,,not very efficient and very forget ful, they forgot the empty the trash before we moved in, and another day didn't bother making my bed but the the other bedroom in our apartment, put dirty dishes up on the shelf?! yea the cleaning staff are sloppy and need retraining.

Room Tip: We're we're upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment, on the corner , beautiful, we had action out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Questwgtn, General Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear MerrySeaNelson,

Thank you for taking the time to provide is with such valuable feedback.

I have extended your kind comments to our reception staff and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

In regards to the house keepers, we appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention and have taken the appropriate steps in reminding the housekeeping team what is required on each service. I trust on your next stay there will be no issues with your servicing.

Again, thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you back at Quest Wellington in 2013.

Kind Regards,
Scott Bellingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Another year closes and it is with pleasure and appreciation I post this feedback. The staff (Ali, Sarah, Racheal, Scott + others) are always really friendly, helpful and eager to provide whatever may be needed. Well located, really comfortable beds and affordable for business or pleasure - and I will be back.

Room Tip: If you have a preference, just ask when booking - there's not a lot they can't sort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Nevahomemuch,

Thank you for your kind words. The staff here at Quest Wellington appreciated your feedback and it is always nice to welcome back our regular guests such as yourself. Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you back at the property in 2013.

Kind Regards,
Scott Bellingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The room was lovely and spacious and really well maintained. The building is renovated from the old MLC building so it's not a new building but the appliances are new and the bathroom is fantastic. The kitchenette was more than adequate and the bed was comfortable. One of the elevators wasn't working but this was never an issue for me. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the location was excellent - it's a short walk to Te Papa or the cable-car and there's shops all around.
The room was quiet and I was barely aware of other guests. I felt safe staying as a solo traveller and had a genuinely pleasant visit. I'd definitely recommend it and I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi Xalx,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback. We really appreciate reviews as a way to measure how successful we are operating as a business. We look forward to having you back at Quest Wellington in the near future and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards,
Scott Bellingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Wellington

Address: Cnr Hunter Street & Lambton Quay, PO Box 3577, Wellington, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Wellington 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Quest Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Wellington Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.