We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in the Property” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Wellington to your Saves list
Quest Wellington
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   33 Hunter St | (Cnr Hunter Street & Lambton Quay), Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 51 Wellington B&B and Inns
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Disappointed in the Property”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

I booked this property because of its qualmark rating. It lists itself as a hotel and it was qualmarked as a motel which is an entirely different rating system. The carpets in the hallway were spotted. The noise level in the property was very bad. You could hear every door that closed. It took 2 hours to defrost the freezer. The beds were very uncomfortable and we awoke with back aches. The only positive comments I can make are a great location and not terribly expensive.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    19
    15
    9
See reviews for
17
26
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2007

The best thing about this hotel is it's proximity to good shopping and great restaurants and nightlife. Lambton Quay is an excellent source for New Zealand fashion with many small boutiques in the mid to high dollar range. About a 10 minute walk from the hotel is Courtney Street with many interesting shops and restaurants. Near Courtney Street is Cuba Street--this is where it's at in Wellington! This is where the hip, young (early to late 20-somethings) hang out. Since the hotel was so close to Cuba Street, it was very easy to walk back after a late night out (it's about a 15 to 18 minute walk, or a cheap cab ride). For EXCELLENT Indian food, check out Tulsi. Also, Citron is a MUST, but you have to make reservations because it's very small and they don't turn over tables quickly. It's also quite pricey ($95NZ, price fixed), but compared to similar restaurants in the States, it is a very good value. Citron specializes in a tasting menu and has an outstanding chef. For nightlife, check out Mighty Mighty (on Cuba Street) for a hip crowd (very Williamsburg, Brooklyn) that is pleasantly friendly, unassuming, and not pretentious. You'll have to ask a local where it's at because there is virtually no sign. Also, Matador is a very cool place to have a drink and desert. I highly recommend the white chocolate mousse. I also recommend visiting the Maori Treasures Complex in Lower Hutt--it was a very rewarding experience meeting with a Maori family, seeing their workshops and talking with them one-on-one about their heritage and culture. Overall, the hotel is a good value, but others are right when complaining about the noise. There is no air conditioning, and although you don't really need it, it gets very noisy during the day with the windows open. At night it is pretty quiet, but if you like to sleep in it gets very noisy in the mornings. Also, the queen sized beds are pretty small for two people. If you can handle the noise, it's a fine hotel. The staff were excellent and very friendly. They were very helpful in establishing restaurant reservations and such.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2006

We were not thrilled during our stay. The staff were very nice and helpful, but they couldn't solve the big problems with the hotel.

It is probably the only hotel in downtown WN without air conditioning. So it was either hot or noisy. Also the beds and pillows were horrible. We had prepaid through ---.com and after the first night I tried to get my money back so we could go stay somewhere else, anywhere else. But they wouldn't give us a refund. We accepted an upgrade to the penthouse, one bedroom suite which was cool and quiet (or rather, could be cooled down enought before we went to bed that we could sleep with the windows closed) The bed was still incredibly uncomfortable. After 3 nights, we drove home exhausted and in pain.

  • Liked — Kitchens in the rooms
  • Disliked — The beds
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for room 9E
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2005

We were a party of 4 adults. Myself, wife and two daughters in their 20's. We booked a two bedroom apartment at the Quest for a one night stay before boarding the ferry to South Island the following morning.

Apartment was huge and priced less than two double rooms would have cost us at a tourist hotel. Kitchen was well equipped and stocked with coffee and provisions for breakfast. Our apartment had tall ceilings and was funky chic. Had great view of street action.

Quest has a great location. Neighborhood is urban hip and seemed very safe.We walked a block down Featherson St to a lively Belgin Beer pub named Leuven and enjoyed a couple of pints and a set of jazz standards by an excellent house band, De Ja Blues. Check them out if your there on Thursday.

If your looking for a luxery hotel, this is not it. But if you want to be downtown in your own apartment there really is nothing not to like.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2005

I stayed for a couple of nights in May. The first night I stayed in a studio. It was okay but has definately seen better days. The bathroom was very decent though, large and with a washer/dryer. My only main concern was noise. The hotel is situated bang slap in the middle of the city, so some noise is to be expected. However, the windows are not double glazed and infact one of the windows did not even close properly. The other problem was that there was an interconnecting door which meant I could hear quite clearly the people next door and all that they had got up to that day! The bed was next to this door , so no escape!

The next night, I transferred to a one bedroom suite. furnishings were much the same and look better from afar. Bathroom again , big and clean. The problem with this room was that it was obvioulsy near a lift shaft and everytime someone used the lift, the walls rattled!!!!

At the end of the day, it just depends what you are used to and what bothers you , your budget etc.

I would class Quest as a reasonable budget hotel for those that are not noise sensitive. Always check for special deals............i paid $109 per night, which was enough. I wouldnt personally return to this hotel and if you do, dont pay more.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2004

Stayed here on 2 different occasions recently while travelling around NZ. We had a studio unit for nz$99 per night for the first time and $130 for the next night. It was warm, clean and all we could want for a studio unit. Perfectly located and great value for money, although we did get lucky with the price and it was low season. Would definitely stay here again but for a longer stay than 1 night might use a 1 bed apartment instead.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Wellington

Address: 33 Hunter St | (Cnr Hunter Street & Lambton Quay), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quest Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Wellington Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.