We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at a price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pan de Muerto Mystic Mexican Cuisine & Tequila Bar

Pan de Muerto Mystic Mexican Cuisine & Tequila Bar
82 Tory Street, Wellington, New Zealand (Formerly Pan de Muerto)
+64 4-913 4252
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 652 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: There has been a Mexican wave developing in New Zealand and Pan de Muerto, with its dynamic design and modern cuisine, is at the forefront of this wave. Pan de Muerto, Mystic Mexican Cuisine and Tequila Bar, represents the progression of the original Pan de Muerto concept that first opened in 2010. The restaurant is named after the sacred bread eaten by Mexicans during the annual celebration of the lives of their deceased loved ones. Pan de Muerto's approach to dining represents a celebration of life, friends, family and loved ones. Dining is a sharing experience where you select from a range of Pequenos bocados (small bites) or Tapas as they are more commonly known throughout the world. The diverse and interesting selection of Pequenos bocados on the menu are all perfectly complimented by Wellington's largest selection of imported tequila and Mexican cerveza. Our dishes are meticulously prepared and executed using a mix of mainly imported and local produce. You will find traditional Mexican dishes, as well as modern variations of traditional dishes and flavours. The menu changes regularly to make the most of seasonal ingredients. Pan de Muerto is not just known for its flavoursome food. The incredible decor speaks volumes about the passion that has gone into the development of this restaurant. As you enter the restaurant you step into another world, with a mix of contemporary and rustic design, and subtle details that will surprise. An infusion of friendly human size skeletons are scattered throughout the restaurant. Affectionately named 'Pedro', the smiling sugar skull takes pride of place on the restaurant's logo and is now widely associated with Mexican food throughout New Zealand. The food and decor is complemented by professional friendly service with a South American feel to give you a truly authentic dining experience. Pan de Muerto has created a very unique and friendly dining experience which caters for people of all ages. On special occasions, you might see face painting or watch the restaurant transform into a dance floor with live Mariachi bands. There's always something new happening. Make every meal likes it's your last, break bread with us at Pan De Muerto. Hasta pronto
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food at a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We dined here for a quick meal last night before a movie. We advised the staff that we needed it to be a quick meal, we were basically in and out in 40 minutes, and we even had entrees.

Meals are an average size. My partner order fajitas, it was great and well presented, only dissappointment was that with all the food presented, they only gave him 2 tortillas to wrap it into. I had the Birria which is a Mexican Lamb Shank, it was good, however was glad I had a entree of ceviche because I would have been left hungry.

Lovely fit out, a suggestion would be to turn the lights up a little as it was hard to read the menu in the dark.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Attitude of Staff Very Worrying”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We came here for a friend’s birthday. We ordered some jugs of margaritas for $36 each thinking this would be a good deal and were a little disappointed to see that they filled only two glasses. We were even more disappointed when we saw that a single glass of margarita was $14!!! In other words, we were paying $8 more for the jug. We asked to speak to someone who told us that actually the jug filled three glasses if you didn’t fill them to the top and that, as a matter of practice, they never filled their single glasses up to the top. Relatively ‘okay’ with this response we continued with our drinks. However, as the night continued some people in our group ordered single glasses of margaritas and they were all filled to the top!!! When we queried this again, the owner and the previous bar manager (who had told us that they didn’t fill them to the top!?!?) became extremely defensive stating that they didn’t advertise the jugs so it wasn’t a problem, and inferred that most people were too stupid to notice they were paying more!!!! Stunned, we asked if they would please take off the extra we had paid for the jug which they refused. Just to be clear, I eat out regularly and have never before posted such a negative review! So, in my view, if you want to be totally ripped off then go here for dinner. The staff were rude and clearly had no respect for their customers – not even when it was one of their customer’s birthday!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The New Pan de Muerto ..............”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The new Pan de Muerto opened on 27th Dec 2012 relocating just off Courtenay Place Wellington........if you haven't already visited it then it is an absolute "must". The newly refurbished interior adds to a most amazingly happy, vibrant atmosphere. No expense has been spared on the furniture and the flatware and it is a pleasure to dine. The menu has been re-vamped giving a great selection of meal choices. I had the lamb shank.........it was the best lamb I have ever tasted, it simply fell off the bone. The service was excellent, the newly trained staff team worked incredibly well together and were very polite and attentive.
The restaurant is perfect for all the family, special occasions and romantic evenings.
Access is off the footpath with (from memory) just a couple of small steps which would not be a problem to those with poor mobility and the restrooms are on the same level as the dining room and are spacious enough to accommodate walking sticks / tripods and small zimmer frames. The staff are all there to help, nothing is too much trouble.
One big "must try" are the cocktails.........just watching them made is a work of art.....yummy!
I thought that the "old" Pan de Muerto was amazing but the new restaurant is even better!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Found this place after Lone Star told us we'd need a 30 min wait... second time in two weeks even though we tried to pre-book. Walked into Pan de Muetro on a Friday night without a booking, no trouble. Food was all delicious. Slushy machine was broken so didn't get to try the frozen drinks. Service a little bit slow but nothing serious. Got Fajitas and was pleased they were mild - they weren't advertised as hot, but some mexican places are obsessed with spicing up everything! Would definately go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and super food...........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My first Mexican experience and I wasn't disappointed! Lovely atmosphere, very friendly staff and excellent food which was great value for money. We arrived on a Wednesday evening after having booked a table for four, there was a childrens party taking place couples enjoying a quiet meal and a large family gathering......nothing was too much trouble for the staff. For three hungry adult sons and myself with starters, main and drinks $160 was a very good deal!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pan de Muerto Mystic Mexican Cuisine & Tequila Bar also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Pan de Muerto Mystic Mexican Cuisine & Tequila Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pan de Muerto Mystic Mexican Cuisine & Tequila Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.