We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gentelmen's Club or Hotel?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wellesley Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   2-8 Maginnity St | (Central Business District), Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Gentelmen's Club or Hotel?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed two nights. The hotel is centrally located & everything you might wish to do is in easy walking distance. We arrived late (thanks (NOT!) to a cancelled Interislander ferry) & it was somewhat eerie to be told by the receptionist as we checked in that she would be going off duty in 10 minutes, just let ourselves in & out. Our large room was on top (4th) floor, accessed via quirky ancient lift. Once we took the stairs, that WAS spooky, it felt like we were the only people in the hotel. The room's claw foot bath was great, as was the double shower. Breakfast was delicious, cooked to order, though somewhat disappointing that the fruit was very basic tinned, possibly due to not enough customers to warrant fresh?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    52
    23
    11
    3
See reviews for
7
99
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

A bit worn, it didn't feel like a hotel but rather a oversized B&B. Only a day shift receptionist, at night it's deserted and kind of feels a bit weird. The room was nice, spacious and nicely decorated, but overall the hotel feels like it needs a refresh and some life breathed into it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

This is a really interesting hotel. Loads of history to mull over, and just a stones throw from parliament. Bit of work going on but nothing that interrupted me in any way.
Lovely big room. Great bed, everything works.
Very helpful receptionist when I arrived, and also the following morning when I checked out.
One thing to note though, I didn't see or hear another human being whilst I was there, including at breakfast (except for the 2 receptionists). Slightly spooky...but not a bad thing necessarily.
I'd come back again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here two nights on the upper level. The room was comfortable, clean and charming. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful (though this seems to be true for almost all of New Zealand). The hotel is in a historic building which is centrally located and quiet. Would definitely stay here again if back in Wellington.

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to an Executive Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Glorious evocative hotel made better by the staff. I loved this place from the old 30s lift to the wood panelled everything to the way the rooms combined old world charm with properly working mod cons.

Best of all though were the staff. It is clear that the hotel is going through some business transformation and many facilities are not operational but the night-porter come breakfast-chef come chamber-maid was the most delightful person I've met in a long while!

On a more practical note, the hotel is bang in the middle of everything you might wish, the restaurants on the dockside - 5 minutes, Parliament - 5 minutes, Te Papa museum, 10 minutes (these are walking times).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights early December and couldn't fault a thing. Booked 2 rooms for 4 family members - both rooms were generous in size; comfortable beds, generous bathrooms, tea/coffee facilities and the staff on that weekend couldn't have been more helpful - showing us where to park the car (car park building); genuinely taking interest in our day and inviting 2 of us to accompany a small group having a tour of this historic building.

The location is perfect, just around the corner from Kirkcaldie & Stains for shopping and on the flat if you feel the urge to get up early and go for a walk or more active exercise around the harbour front.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Although only for two nights, our stay at the Wellesley was a very pleasant one. Out of all 4 stars hotels we stayed in New Zealand, this is the only one that truly deserved its rank.

Wellesley is indeed a boutique hotel - very cozy, with its classy look and good taste architecture. Starting with the elevator (which is a touristic attraction by itself) and the central lobby and ending with the room, everything is very beautiful and quaint.

It is located rather close to the city centre (2 minutes walk to Lambton Quay, one of the main shopping arteries, and some 15 minutes walk from Cuba Street, the heart of the pub and restaurants in Wellington), on a very quiet, hidden street. Staff is very kind and helpful. The hotel provides free unlimited wi-fi, which in New Zealand really means something!

Rooms are large, with great bathrooms and very comfortable beds. Natural light is good. Currently, there are some works in the vis-a-vis building, indeed - this can be rather disturbing in the mornings.

Parking in front of the hotel is allowed only temporarily, to get your baggage, but the hotel has an arrangement with a public parking just around the corner - for 25 NZD per day, if I recall correctly. Some similar arrangements also exist with restaurants and fitness centers in the city.

We definitely recommend the Wellesley for a stay in Wellington!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellesley Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Address: 2-8 Maginnity St | (Central Business District), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wellesley Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922 the Hotel is a category one Heritage building. It has 13 bedrooms each unique in character with generous bathrooms. It is nestled in central Wellington handy to the waterfront, railway station and ferries, government centre, parliament, the courts, business district, cable car, Kirkcaldies and Lambton Quay shopping and the stadium. All are within easy walking distance. Te Papa 20 minutes walk, Courtenay Place 30 minutes walk. The Hotel does not have it's own parking but there is parking available. Parking is free outside from 6:00pm to 8:00am Monday to Thursday and after 8:00pm Friday all weekend. Personal service and attention to detail is a priority and our "1815 Cafe and Bar" is open from 7am for breakfast, lunch, morning and afternoon teas and as a house bar. Coffee is a speciality. Spoil yourself with a stay at Wellington's finest Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Wellesley Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellesley Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Wellington
Wellington Wellesley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellesley Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.