We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wellesley Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   2-8 Maginnity St | (Central Business District), Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A wonderfully quaint hotel, enormous bathrooms that makes you feel like you're in complete luxury, friendly staff. Really makes a sweet, boutique experience. Furnished with though and comfort. Beautiful. Would stay again in a heart beat. Close to restaurants and shopping. Noisy old lift just adds to the character.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    52
    23
    11
    3
See reviews for
7
99
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a charming stay at the Wellesley in Wellington. On arrival (in the morning, flying in jet lagged from the US), we were given a room right away, with complimentary upgrade. The Wellesley in in the building of an old gentlemen's club and has the charm of a slower time. We walked easily from the hotel to the harbour, the Te Papa Tongarewa National Museum and the cable car to the Botanical Garden and Zealandia.
Our room was comfortable, immaculate, accompanied by a large bath.
The restaurant had well prepared food, (a boon on a cold, rainy winter night), but it was the warmth of the concierge Trish that set the hotel apart. We would easily stay here again if we had the good fortune to return to Wellington.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I loved the decor of this hotel & the huge staircase & old elevator. Our room was on the top floor & was very nice & quite spacious. Its nice & close to the main streets. Around the corner is drextels which reminded us of the diners in NY! Most of the staff are nice at this hotel.
The cons were: the noise from the construction next door. Awoke at 7ish on saturday morning! The young girl in the restaurant was rude & clueless when we wanted to book in for afternoon tea. Theres no carparking, however a building is around the corner. Room service was done at 3.30pm.
Overall its a really nice hotel & the food at the restaurant is very nice. Just a shame about all the noise & 1 staff member.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a hotel with character! We stayed in a deluxe room for 2 nights. From check-in to check-out all the staff and the manager were very helpful and eager to talk about their hotel. The room we had was charming and large with a sitting area. The immaculate, wonderful bathroom was almost as large as the sleeping area. It was spotless with a double shower and a large soaking tub. The deluxe rooms have two sinks so I finally had no problems with the mrs. who normally takes up all of the counter space with her make-up. The pillow menu is nice and when requested a feather-down pillow was brought up at once. Do not expect a harbour view from any room as you'll only get a sliver at best. But if you want a comfortable hotel with charm you should consider this hotel and it's perfect location.

Room Tip: room 401 is considered the best room by the staff (it is a deluxe room). We agree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

What a treat it was to stay somewhere with real character and charm! The bed was comfortable and the bathroom a real delight with claw foot bath and the little extra amenities that do make a difference. Special thanks to Sam on reception who helped me out with a number of things - she was always warm, helpful and professional. I'd love to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I was only booked for one night and had a late check-in due to flight arrival. On first impressions I thought this was a smart hotel however the air conditioning even when off hummed all night and I was greeted by drilling and a crane overhead beginning construction work before 7am. The window did not open which was clastrophobic. I could see the large several storied building next door completely boarded up. This was major works being done so why is this hotel charging full prices for such a disturbance? Furthermore of the 3 electrical switches in the bathroom only one worked and the plumbing of the toilet pipes so noisy I thought it was about to take off. The rooms are supposed to be emaculate but wallpaper is ripped off and the walls banged in places. Not up to standard!

Room Tip: If you pay for a single room you get a closet. that's exactly how they described it at check in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Wellesley for one night at both ends of a week-long trip. The room was clean and comfortable, with old-world charm. The bathroom was incredible, with a two-person shower, two sinks and a large tub. Extras like big, fluffy robes were much appreciated.

The staff are highly professional and looked after us very well. We greatly enjoyed our stay here.

Do be aware that there is only street parking and during the week it needs to be topped up every two hours. On weekends, the car would need to be moved every two hours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellesley Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Address: 2-8 Maginnity St | (Central Business District), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wellesley Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922 the Hotel is a category one Heritage building. It has 13 bedrooms each unique in character with generous bathrooms. It is nestled in central Wellington handy to the waterfront, railway station and ferries, government centre, parliament, the courts, business district, cable car, Kirkcaldies and Lambton Quay shopping and the stadium. All are within easy walking distance. Te Papa 20 minutes walk, Courtenay Place 30 minutes walk. The Hotel does not have it's own parking but there is parking available. Parking is free outside from 6:00pm to 8:00am Monday to Thursday and after 8:00pm Friday all weekend. Personal service and attention to detail is a priority and our "1815 Cafe and Bar" is open from 7am for breakfast, lunch, morning and afternoon teas and as a house bar. Coffee is a speciality. Spoil yourself with a stay at Wellington's finest Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wellesley Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellesley Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Wellington
Wellington Wellesley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellesley Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.