We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the Terms & Conditions” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wellesley Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   2-8 Maginnity St | (Central Business District), Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beware the Terms & Conditions”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel had good reviews and looked attractive for our intended stay in Wellington from 17th January until 22nd January 2013. I believed that booking directly with the hotel would be a good idea. WRONG!. I simply checked the box saying that I have read the T&Cs and gave my credit card details to secure the booking. Imagine my surprise when I discovered that the hotel had taken the full amount of NZD 1295 from my card even though it would be a full 5 months before we stayed there. When questioned there was an immediate apology and an offer to refund 80% of the charge. That was eventually increased to a near full refund - they deducted the bank charges associated with the refund. But it took more than 2 weeks to achive with more than 10 e-mail exchanged between us. Along the way, they credited NZD500 to my account and took it back the same day. After another week they credited NZD800. Then the balance after I had requested VISA to initiate their dispute process. Having drawn attention to a quite unsatisfactory situation, the response was to tell me to stay somewhere else! Not surprisingly I will and I wlll tell as many other unsuspecting potential clients to beware of the fact that this hotel will take full payment against your card as a condition of booking. Outrageous.!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    46
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
5
84
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Food was awesome and service was prompt. As young people going there we didn't feel like they really wanted us there but was still good. Great start to the WOAP festival! Definitely recommend people to go there, the decor of the lobby and restaurant is just beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Great location right in the heart of Wellington. Stayed in an executive deluxe room which was fab, own seating area and tv and the most enormous bathroom with a double sink and shower plus sunken bath. Moulton brown toiletries lush!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

We had a short one night stay here on our way to the South Island. Very good. It's showingsignsof wear - water damage on the ceiling of the staircase etc, but nice room with great claw foot tub. Quaint and welcoming.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

The classy atmosphere of an English gentlemen's club from the last century combined with great custom service, the modern gadgets we're all used to, a fair it of history and a great location. This pretty much sums up this fab place.
We enjoyed every moment in this unique and welcoming hotel.

For the quality it offers, it's reasonably priced - or at least makes me feel that's money we'll spent.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just back from spending three days in Wellington NZ where we stayed at the Wellersley Hotel. This place is a down town gem. We were in a deluxe room, which had a nice lounge area and a terrific bathroom, including a 6' x 4' shower stall with two showers and separately a 6' bath. The room was also clean and quiet.

Full breakfast was included and arrived perfectly cooked and hot! The staff were very helpful, in particular Christo the Front Office Manager.

We travel a lot, having been to China, Argentina and the USA in the last year. I can honestly say the Wellesley is the best value, friendliest Hotel we have stayed in for a long time. Think of the Drake Hotel Chicago in miniature.

Room Tip: We stayed in 401, highly recommended. We got the room maid to show us 400, also lovely but with a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you enjoy Downton Abbey and other aspects of this period then you will be delighted with the Wellesley. Step into the magic of this era with the decor and original features of this hotel with excellence in service and restaurant offerings. Situated ideally for boutique shopping, entertainment as well as business needs if you want warmth and style over cool and clinical, then look no further.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellesley Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Address: 2-8 Maginnity St | (Central Business District), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Wellington
#14 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wellesley Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922 the Hotel is a category one Heritage building. It has 13 bedrooms each unique in character with generous bathrooms. It is nestled in central Wellington handy to the waterfront, railway station and ferries, government centre, parliament, the courts, business district, cable car, Kirkcaldies and Lambton Quay shopping and the stadium. All are within easy walking distance. Te Papa 20 minutes walk, Courtenay Place 30 minutes walk. The Hotel does not have it's own parking but there is parking available. Parking is free outside from 6:00pm to 8:00am Monday to Thursday and after 8:00pm Friday all weekend. Personal service and attention to detail is a priority and our "1815 Cafe and Bar" is open from 7am for breakfast, lunch, morning and afternoon teas and as a house bar. Coffee is a speciality. Spoil yourself with a stay at Wellington's finest Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wellesley Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellesley Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Wellington
Wellington Wellesley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellesley Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.