We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St George

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel St George
Save
You added Hotel St George to your Saves list
124 Willis Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly St George Summer Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
“perfect place and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Very nice place and the location is perfect! good value in deed! We`ve been staying there 9 months and we were very happy with the place. It's got a big shared kitchen and a nice TV room. The stuff is very helpfull and nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
6
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Hi, my name is Maria Gallo from Argentina.
Ive been in St George for 7 months, and i really recomended. The staff is amaizing, the location is perfect, and there is always an excellent athmosfere.

If you are in Wellington, dont worry about accomodattion, St George is the answer!

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I stayed here for a week with my sister while i was in wellington. was a great place to meet others. i found the building to be very warm and hardly needed the heaters provided in each room. we had a room with an ensuite, which also included a bath. the communal kitchen was clean and the lounge area was huge! great idea of having arcade games and vending machines in the common area too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Perfect location on Willis St means you are right in the city centre...

Had a great time living here Jan-March 2011, very reasonably priced accommodation with large bedrooms and fully equipped shared kitchen.

Property manager is awesome, very friendly and all the staff there will help you out with any enquiries you have :)

Made some great friends living there, I miss you St George!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

I live here and this place is great not only the staff but the location and the great friends made. If something is missing in the kitchen then the building manager comes back and simply fixes it all up for you. Great place to stay for long or short term I have lived there since Feb :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I lived here while working in Wellington from Jan to May & loved every moment of it. Moved in with my friend and got inter connecting rooms with our own bathroom which was good.
Was only meant to stay here for a few days while looking for an aprtment but loved it so much stayed an extra few months. Great place to meet new people, shared kitchen which is handy if your there for a few days and want to save money long term aslong as you get there at the right time you avoid the crowd, kitchen cleaned twice a day which is good.
Couldn't say enough good things about the manager Bruce very helpfully even helped me fix a problem with my laptop amoungst and Yong on reception was great too, left my usb and she even posted to me great friendly staff , Miss ye all will defo call in the next time I'm in Wellington, thanks for a great stay ;-) Jen

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St George

Address: 124 Willis Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly St George Summer Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St George – Wellington City accommodation for short term and long term city living. Affordable student and backpacker accommodation in the heart of Wellingtons CBD. All universities and schools, public transport, shops and a supermarket are at your doorstep. This historic art deco building is one of Wellingtons iconic hotels and was host to The Beatles in 1964. St George Accommodation offers a number of room types to suit couples or the single traveller wanting cheap accommodation in the heart of Wellington. Rooms are complete with bed, beside table, desk & chair, draws and a wardrobe. Every level has a small kitchenette to make tea, coffee and breakfast. A larger kitchen is available in the common area for cooking a meal or to relax and watch sky TV. Our laundry is possibly the cheapest wash and dry in Wellington at only $2 per wash. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.