We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but sooo noisy at night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added West Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
West Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Wakefield St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice but sooo noisy at night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Location is great. Rooms a fraction small but very clean. Shower a dissappointment with a waste plug that does not take water at half strenght and a nylon shower curtain that billows into the shower area. Bar was nice - restaurant a tad expensive. No air conditioning and the two windows are either closed or wide open. we had street side so got all the night clubbers etc throughout the night. Friends had back room so got all the rubbish trucks and waste collectors. Will not be staying again

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    96
    59
    8
    12
See reviews for
15
68
21
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Spent 3 nights at this hotel - it offered everything that I look for re accommodation, ie great central position, welcoming and efficient staff, clean large light room, (I had a corner room), windows that open, therefore fresh air, good room lighting at night, in house restaurant. Pavement seating outside is a bonus. There is metered street parking at the front door - also undercover hotel parking. Room decor, furnishings not the latest but thats not important to me. I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Wellington.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson NZ
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

We stayed here for two nights last weekend. The hotel is very clean and tidy, everything works and the bed was comfortable. We had a good sleep both nights and enjoyed the peace and quiet of a back room.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Excellent service. Friendly and helpful staff. Shame it doesn't have any leisure facitities.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

We booked this hotel because it had a 4 star rating. The triple room was not up to 4 star standard. It is very dated, has a cloth shower curtain ( they went out with the ark) and a shower waste water trap that is too small for the job so the shower floods. There is an excellent sign in the corridor which clearly states to guests about the need for quiet. Pity some of the guests didn't read this before having a full blown conversation regarding 'Myrtles' bags at 7am on a Sunday morning. From then on, kept awake by the noisy footsteps of occupant in upstairs room. The Samoan cleaning staff very good. Excellent location, you can walk to anywhere. So brick bats and bouquets for this hotel. I would recommend it but only for location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

The best part was the good location which meant that we could walk everywhere.
But the rooms were outdated with no aircon. The shower pressure was very very poor and almost a trickle on full. Also they had issues charging us for the correct room and what services we actually used.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

Stayed for one night as we had a function on in the city. The outfit I chose to wear didnt have pockets, so I left my cellphone and handbag in the room. Next morning cellphone was missing, and cash from my wallet too. That in itself is distressing, but worse was when I mentioned it to the Manager, she said it couldnt possibly be a staff member. So, who could it have been ?

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Address: 110 Wakefield St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#16 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#21 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.