We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but steady.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added West Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
West Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Wakefield St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tired but steady.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

you cannot really fault he hotel but it does need a makeover. Large lobby, decent rooms and good service. Breakfast is a decent buffet, but the coffee is poor. Wifi included which is great. Good location, close to the water front for a stroll, Cuba Street for food and Lambton Quay for shopping.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    96
    59
    8
    12
See reviews for
15
68
21
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was staying here a a part of a tour, it had a large foyer with sofas a small bar good for rest and meeting up with friends etc the restaurant was the but in a semi sealed off area. my room was a good large size as was the bathroom, my room had no bath but a large shower area as I think it was a room for gusts with disabilities. I could 5 days of WIFI for my room but I could used it in the lobby as well which was great, so all in all I think it was a good place to stay. You can also book with the hotel to get a shuttle to the airport to pick you up

Room Tip: I would say that most rooms are good, but the guest laundry is on the 5th floor, so if you want that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Was a bit shocked by the small size and darkness of the room (very low ceilings make it feel claustrophobic)...very dated but clean. Not up to the standard I was hoping for but the service is brilliant and the food downstairs was good (breakfast and dinner).

No air con in rooms makes them stuffy and if you leave a window open you get all the typical night time inner-city noises of street sweepers etc.

All up good value and excellent location for many of Wellingtons convention/meeting sites, theatres and other attractions.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thanks for your comments it’s always good to hear when guests find the hotel location and service excellent. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option located in the heart of Wellington city.

Julie Wilcock - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location and cost for this hotel is good. But beware the bathrooms are poorly designed. The water from the shower flows out across the floor and around the toilet thus the next occupant is in risk of slipping on a wet floor when they step towards the toilet - as we did on several occasions, until we found the safest plan was to place a bath towel on the floor.

A further problem is if you want to use a hairdryer there is no power point near the only mirror in the bedroom, and the power point in the bathroom is only for shavers! Help!

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We appreciate the comments, they may help us to make improvements at the hotel I have passed this on to the maintenance team.

Julie Wilcock - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great location for a weekend away close to everything, we stayed here to go to the Trentham races, staff are excellent rooms clean and tidy not badly priced. Wireless internet was the best we have had good speed etc as I still had be in contact with my work.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blayney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just attended a convention in Wellington and stayed at the West Plaza. Let me get the good stuff up front - Taylor the F&D manager is a workaholic and could not do enough to ensure our group were happy with the service - all staff were actually quite helpful.
My room had the misfortune of facing the rear lane - first there was the street sweeper at 5am but most noise came from the garbage collection that took place at about 3am (bang, crash, bang some more). Maybe OK for 1 or 2 nights but we were there for a week (now cranky due to lack of sleep).
These rooms do not have aircon and an in-house ATM would be handy. Only very limited free wifi.

Room Tip: Not facing the rear lane
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks so much for your comments about the staff at West plaza hotel it’s good to receive such positive feedback. I am sorry to hear that the street cleaning and rubbish truck collection from the surrounding apartments woke you. It is often hard to control the hours that the council or the surrounding building choose for collection. The hotel rubbish does not get collected until after 8.30am each day. Once again thanks for your feedback it important to us.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A standard Wellington business hotel that compares well with others of it's ilk.
Despite the fact the hotel is getting a bit tired looking, the staff are friendly, breakfast good and location perfect.
It's time for NZ hotels to start supplying free wifi, despite this the cost of wifi was satisfactory and the connection good.

Room Tip: I like the rooms at the front of the hotel that overlook Wakefileld Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Address: 110 Wakefield St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#18 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.