We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Wellington to your Saves list
Ibis Wellington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%!
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Rio de Janeiro
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

This Ibis has a great location, in the city center, with a lot of restaurants in the same street and walking distance to the tourist sites. The room is very clean and the staff is very helpful. There is a happy hour at the hotel with beer at nice price. The guest laundry is good and cheap. Definetly I will stay there in my next time in Wellington. Suggestion: if you have the Ibis fidelity card tell them at the reception, because they will not ask you about this.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, General Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, September 27, 2009
Alexanderweb,

What a pleasure it is to receive such fantastic comments from you regarding your recent stay at Ibis Wellington. I am happy that you found the room to be very clean and that you took advantage of the facilities that we have on offer. I am also glad that you enjoyed the hotel’s close proximity to all tourist sites in Wellington as well as the cafes and restaurants. Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    666
    286
    62
    25
See reviews for
257
524
160
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
christchurch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Great place to stay! we were in a refurbished room and paid only $80 for a king, it was a fantastic deal and although I think it is only a 3 star rating (?) the room felt and looked like a 5 star! Very comfy bed, lots of room and great front desk service. The location is great in the classier part of town, and just mins from Lambton Quay and the waterfront
I would highly recommend this place to anyone traveling to Wellington excellent value for money with no sacrifice on service.
There are limited hotel facilities - but your in a new city who wants to hang out in a hotel all day? go and explore!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, General Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, August 21, 2009
Thank you for your fantastic comments about Ibis Wellington! We are in the centre of town and close to everything and I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotels location. I am also happy that you enjoyed the refurbished room and the value for money that Ibis Wellington provides.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

We booked this hotel through a trademe auction, where the auction was for a nights accommodation on a certain date. So, we didnt pay very much at all, which made for a great local getaway, pretending that we were on holiday on a week night!

The room was warm, comfortable and spacious. Being on an upper floor, it was incredibly quiet, which was lovely. The bathroom was clean, with good shower pressure and lovely soft towels. However, we couldnt figure out how to get the shampoo open (as it was a pouch, which slipped away on wet fingers!)

Only complaint was that our "Queen Sized Bed" was actually two singles pushed together, which made for a small amount of discomfort. That said, the beds themselves were really comfy!! We would have loved to stay for a late check out, or to have tried the breakfast, but we simply ran out of time before we were due back at work!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, General Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, August 9, 2009
Thank you for your comments, I am glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us especially the value for money! I am sorry that you found the bed uncomfortable. I can assure you that you were not in a Queen bed but you would have been upgraded to a King Size bed. Our King beds are what is known as a King Split. They are two king single beds that zip together at the centre. This allows a larger bed to be put in a hotel room that can be easily moved if necessary. They are designed to be zipped together with no large bump in the middle however there is a seam which is what you might have felt. I apologise if this was an inconvenience to you during your stay.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

I booked this hotel through booking.com as the rate was only $50 per night. Absolutly excellent price! Would have preferred to have been up higher that the first floor but this was all that was available. The breakfast was nice but staff seemed to have trouble keeping the chaffing dishes full ( 4 were empty at one stage). only other thing was the A/C in the room (113) took about 6 hours for it to change. set it to 10 degrees and woke up around midnight feeling like we were in a sauna! Thanks to nathan for our late check out! was very handy. would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, General Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
Thank you for your comments regarding Ibis Wellington. I am glad that you enjoyed our special rate of $50 and found it to be great value for money. When you book with us next time, do not hesitate to request a higher floor and my staff will try to accommodate you. I will certainly pass on your comments to the Food and Beverage Manager regarding breakfast and will get my Chief Engineer to have a look at the Air Conditioning in 113, I am sorry that this has disturbed your sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Wellington in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

I am wanting to report on the fantastic customer service and follow-up after a less than ideal situation was endured during our stay. Ibis were not to blame for the said situation (other guests were at fault) and did their best to try and rectify the problem at the time, and have identified areas to work on for possble future re-occurance. The professionalism and helpfulness from check-out staff was paramount and follow-up from the General Manager Nathan, exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, General Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 25, 2009
Thank you for you lovely comments regarding the hotel and the follow up you recieved. On behalf of the hotel I again apologise that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us due to other guests. I am sure that the next time you stay with us you will have no similar problems.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blenheim
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

call in for a night at the last min got a room for $70 room was big and very clean

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, General Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 25, 2009
Thank you for your comments. We pride ourselves on maintaining the cleanliness of the rooms. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Wellington in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Excellent hotel, clean tidy, very quiet rooms. Rooms were a good size, not too big, not too small. Great water pressure in the shower. Reception was very helpful and friendly, I had one of the old rooms, I know they are currently renovating the hotel. But was very happy with the room I got.

Breakfast was standard really, nothing over the top, small selection buffett. Room service had little to be desired. I purchased one item of the menu for dinner one night, all I got really was a plate full of grease. Didn't eat the fish in the end it was that soggy in oil.

Apart from that, a excellent hotel, basic but pleasurable.

Internet access was fast to but no wireless in rooms. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, General Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 25, 2009
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the room and I am sure that when the new rooms are completed you will enjoy the Ibis even more!!

I apologise that your room service was not up to standard. At Ibis we provide a service called "Grab it and Go", where meals are purchased and picked up from the restaurant rather than delivered to your room. Even though this is the case, the quality of the food should always be up to standard. We are currently changing our menu and the new Grab it and Go will be fresh and a vast improvement on our previous menu.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Wellington

Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is located in the heart of the city offering, 200 guest rooms. Our stylish rooms with modern décor allow increased connectivity with the ability to connect media players and digital cameras via 26 inch flat screen LCD TVs. The rejuvenated rooms complement the stylish Vivant! Restaurant & Bar and lobby area. Limited parking is available at the hotel for an additional cost of $25 per night and must be booked prior to arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.